We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, a little expensive”
Review of Morton Arboretum

Morton Arboretum
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Lisle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Only 25 miles west of Chicago, there's something for everyone in all four seasons at The Morton Arboretum. Whether you seek a quiet hike in the woods or an active family day out, The Morton Arboretum offers a wide variety of fun activities, events, tours, and classes for all ages and interests. Here you'll find an oasis of 16 miles of hiking trails and nine miles of paved roads, perfect for hiking, running, biking or just exploring. From a guided tour on an open-air tram to the award-winning Children's Garden and Maze Garden, to seasonal exhibits and lunch in The Ginkgo Restaurant overlooking Meadow Lake, the Arboretum is a unique place to explore, discover, escape, and connect with trees and nature.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place, a little expensive”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I have been here several times with my 3 year old. They have a children's garden that he enjoys playing in. However, he doesn't enjoy it anymore than a free playground. They have several walking trails and a nice drive around the park.

The cafe is actually very good. They have healthy options that actually taste great. I would go just to eat.

If you are a couple I could see this place being a nice walk or date. However, if I were short on money or just looking for a place for the kids to roam...I would go down the road to Cantigny.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank HeadingWestSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    121
    25
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Children's Garden Area”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Wednesdays are half price admission days. The children's garden area was great. Lots of hands on fun for little ones (mine is 3years old). Lots to explore and very beautiful setting.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank wittymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
763 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Bring Bug Repellent.”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The place is beautiful, and naturally, filled with trees. Definitely a peaceful place, and a great place to walk around. Lots of informative plaques to teach you about so many facets of trees, from the botanical to the economical.

It is enormous, so you should be prepared to walk a solid distance. And I'm torn between giving it 3 or 4 stars, simply because there were so, so many bugs when we went. We planned to spend around 4 hours walking around the arboretum, but ended up leaving after about 2 because of how many mosquitoes there were. The experience is almost entirely self-directed, which is fine, but can get old if the weather isn't absolutely phenomenal.

There are sculptures throughout the landscape with cheesy interpretive descriptions, although the art in the park is temporary and ever-changing.

Honestly, the best thing about the experience for me was sharing it with someone special, who found the same things beautiful, or funny, or meaningful. I don't think that it would have been the same-- not nearly as enjoyable, although perhaps more reflective and rewarding in that way-- if I was navigating the expansive trails on my own.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank ajhorse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We've had a membership here for years. Wonderful gift shop for both adults and children. The children's area is wonderful so many interactive things for the kids to do. You can either walk around or ride around in your car. Great place to explore nature.

Helpful?
Thank meow88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great outdoor space, especially with children”
Reviewed October 16, 2010

I have a membership here and never get tired of taking my kids here. They have activities for the kids all of the time and have a lovely outdoor garden/play area for the kids. They never get tired of the maze and water features. We have even been there in the dead of winter when the arboretum rents shoe-shoes.

Helpful?
Thank k1m1c1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morton Arboretum also viewed

Wheaton, DuPage County
Lombard, DuPage County
 
Downers Grove, DuPage County
 

Been to Morton Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing