We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, must try it”
Review of Myron & Phil - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Myron & Phil
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: devon between crawford (or pulaski) and lincoln
Park Ridge IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent, must try it”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Just there last night, went a little early seated immediately. Excellent , free valet parking, excellent appetizer, food preparation and tempo of service excellent, coffee excellent, waiter excellent, atmosphere excellent. Did I mention it was excellent

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pianopilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
153 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Definitely Old-School”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Time stands still at Myron & Phil, a Lincolnwood fixture for 40 years. The crowds that used to pack this place during the Reagan and Clinton eras seem to have migrated to trendier, more cutting-edge restaurants. But the comfortable white-tablecloth dining room continues to deliver classic supper club fare to a smaller but still-appreciative audience.

Yes, they still have complimentary valet parking. Yes, they still serve those complimentary pickled vegetables, together with a ball of luscious chopped liver and a basket stocked with bialys and raisin-pumpernickel bread. Sour cream-based salad dressings are so thick and indulgent that you can stand a fork up in them. The corn chowder on our most recent visit was velvety smooth and rich, with a slight peppery kick.

Of our four entrees, three were hits. Chicken Marsala, Chicken Piccata, and Chicken Vesuvio were generously portioned and cooked to perfection. The Vesuvio potatoes were neither crisp nor hot, though. Fatty BBQ Beef Ribs were a miss, their taste and texture more suggestive of boiling than broiling.

The servers are well-schooled in the supper club tradition; they're attentive, efficient, and adept at making even new customers feel like regulars.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodFight101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Another great throwback restaurant”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Despite living in the area for more than 35 years, my wife and I inexplicably never visited Myron & Phil before this past weekend.

What were we thinking?

Part steak/seafood house, part Wisconsin supper club (yes, I'm aware the two categories overlap), this restaurant offers the best of both. Warm greetings upon arrival, complementary valet parking, a comfortable yet energetic dining room, and experienced, friendly waitstaff.

The menu, beginning with the relish tray, soup or salad offers comfort food at its best. We were never rushed, and although there is a pleasant buzz in the room, it is definitely NOT too noisy to prevent convesation, even on a busy Saturday night.

This is a gem, and we can't believe we overlooked it for so long. That mistake will not be made again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpzeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Sorry, it slipped. Glory days are gone. Too bad.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank SeaBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Vesuvio in Chicagoland area”
Reviewed June 7, 2009

You craving Vesuvio? I stumbled upon it at Myron & Phils Restaurant in Lincolnwood. I usually go there for a steak or the prime rib but tonight I was looking to eat a bit healthier. I was also craving Vesuvio.
The waitress recommended that I select a fish and have it prepared Vesuvio style. THE BEST! I chose the Boston Scrod. It was firm yet flakey; golden broiled accompanied by green peas and wedged potatoes. Squeezed the lemon on top and thoroughly enjoyed.
The only reason I needed a knife was to cut up my potatoes. Added a glass of the house Chardonnay, a perfect complement to the meal.
The meal came with a crisp salad, basket of assorted breads, chopped liver and two veggie trays.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myron & Phil also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing