We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for a family celebration” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Bowl Lincolnshire

Big Bowl Lincolnshire
Reserve with OpenTable
Big Bowl Lincolnshire is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Lincolnshire
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Millwaukee Ave and Aptakisic
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
219 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice place for a family celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The attraction for us is the range of menu options. Our family of 5 needed a place to celebrate our daughter's 18th birthday. She is a selective eater and her older brothers are more adventurous. Big Bowl has a range of selections, from hot Thai dishes to "boring" noodles and beef. The $20/person option is not bad - 3 starters and 3 main courses, with refills provided upon request. The calamari was excellent - lightly breaded and very fresh. The chinese dumplings were also good - but the short ribs were a little fatty. For main courses we chose spicy chicken with cashews, noodles & beef and the shrimp and scallop dish. The scallops were not as firm as we would like but the shrimp was good, Service was very attentive and the complimentary dessert for the birthday girl was much appreciated.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovestoroam78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    75
    23
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Ginger Beer and Stir Fry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great experience. Paul, the bartender, did a great job engaging the customers and providing recommendations. He pointed me to a spicy basil dish that was amazing and a Ginger Root Beer that tops my list of favorites. Give it a try.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A great option for a quick lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

It had been years since I last visited Big Bowl, but what I liked best about it still exists - one of the largest self-serve market bars for making your own stir fry. They have perfected the system to allow you to choose your protein, sauce, and starch in advance, and then once you have filled your vegetable bowl, they prepare the meal and deliver it to your table so you aren't standing in the aisles waiting for it. The portion size for lunch is large.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pbadeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great place!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

worst thing was the small child at the table next to us...and that the seating staff was rude in seating...hope they give a training class to them and what friendly service should entail.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brentnscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I always leave a little disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I don't know why but I've never warmed to this place. I always leave feeling I won't be back for a while unless someone else pushes it. Their food is okay and probably healthy but doesn't leave me any "wow" factor.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank bobs850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bowl Lincolnshire also viewed

Lincolnshire, Lake County
 
Lincolnshire, Lake County
Lincolnshire, Lake County
 

Been to Big Bowl Lincolnshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing