We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place before a game”
Review of Cubby Bear - CLOSED

Cubby Bear
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Omaha Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun place before a game”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had beer and hotdogs before the game. The staff are friendly and the food was good. The place was packed but we were able to find a table for 4. If you don't like crowds and noise, watch the game at home, otherwise, this is a fun place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank omatraveldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun with good food”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

It was a treat to enjoy a good hamburger and fried chicken while watching a football game surrounded bt enthusiastic Bears fans. Service was very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChitownCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Sports spot”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

First time and in awe of the size if the place! The original Cubby Bear in Wrigglyville is an institution. This new version is just amazing om a Chicago sports night. Bummer that the beer specials don't apply during games.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Long Wait, Bad Customer Service”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I went to Cubby Bear North with my husband and another couple after seeing a movie across the street on a Saturday night.

We were hungry & thirsty so we kept our order simple to speed things along - each couple ordered 1 vodka/sprite, 1 water, 2 Bud Lights & an order of BBQ wings. Our server brought our drinks - mine was wrong (not sure how considering my friend's was right and we ordered the same thing) and forgot our waters. We reminded her.

She came back with my drink, no waters. We reminded her again.

She came back 5 minutes later "to check on us" - with no waters again! Finally she went and grabbed them and we got our waters!

About 30 minutes go by and we realize that we still don't have our BBQ wings and are now starving! Our waitress finally came by (after being MIA for 40 minutes) and we asked what the status of our wings were. Her reaction told us that she had clearly forgotten to place the order.

About 10 minutes later our wings were delivered. I asked the guy who brought them to see the ticket in his hand- sure enough, the order was placed 8 minutes before. Then we asked for silverware and to speak with the manager.

A few minutes later our waitress came by and asked us if we weren't eating our wings because they were still frozen!! We told her no, that we are waiting for silverware and the manager.

Finally the manager came by and I told him all that had happened. His initial response was, "Well it's not my kitchen's fault!" I told him that I know it's not their fault, it's her fault as she didn't place the order, then lied about it. He said she was busy running around and forgot to place it. After all these excuses, he finally realized that I had nothing else to say and that it was his turn to tell us what he is going to do about it... He said he'd take care of the food and have our server take care of ONE round of drinks. She brought our bill a few minutes later and they were "generous enough" to cover the 2 bottles of beer per couple, and left us to pay for the more-expensive mixed drink.

SUMMARY: The service is terrible, management's response to terrible service is even worse and the food was just average (obviously it's frozen). I don't recommend this place at all!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Worst food in Chicago”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is NOT good for anything but drinking. Once you are buzzed enough, you might tolerate the worst food in Chicago. The pulled pork, pizza and Italian beef were the worst of their kind in Chicago. Service is terrible, with servers that did not serve but just carried plates to your table. Either they were sampling the adult beverage, or they were simply incompetent. Regardless of the reason, the food and service are horrific here. The only other thing I can think of is that this represents the low expectations of Cubs fans.............

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fastman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cubby Bear also viewed

Lincolnshire, Lake County
Lincolnshire, Lake County
 
Lincolnshire, Lake County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing