We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weird call from the front desk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lincoln

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weird call from the front desk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I prefer to stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels when I'm traveling because they're clean, comfortable and friendly. But with this hotel there were a couple things which kept me from giving it a five-star review.

I was a single guest in a double room with two queen beds. The wall socket behind the central bedside table had no additional open receptacles, so I had to choose between having a bedside lamp or an alarm clock when I wanted to plug in my laptop. Many HI Express hotels I've stayed in have some sort of additional receptacle at bedside to accommodate personal electronics like cell phone chargers, etc. I have come to expect this as almost a standard amenity.

Also, I received a call from the front desk around 7 p.m. stating that someone on the first floor was complaining that the guest in the room above them was "walking around." "M" wanted all four of the guests on the second floor to be "aware" of this noise complaint, and said she wasn't sure which room was above that of the complaining guest (so decided to call everyone on the second floor.) As it happened, I was walking around the carpeted room in my stocking feet, so I doubted I was the one making the noise. But I do think a better way to have handled this is to offer to move the complaining guest to the top floor so this person wouldn't have someone above them, instead of calling everybody on the second floor as if to suggest that paying guests shouldn't be moving around their carpeted rooms early in the evening..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwillow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lincoln, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I would first like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I apologize for the call from the front desk during your stay. The desk clerk was trying to resolve a situation from another guest, but failed to handle this properly. Please accept my most sincere apology and know that is not a common representation of how our guests are treated.Thank you for being a loyal Holiday Inn Express guest and should you wish to discuss this further please contact me at your convenience.
Regards,
Skip Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    61
    16
    11
    7
See reviews for
62
38
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We love this hotel! Quick check in after traveling all day. Love that they offered snacks and water to priority club members at check in. This rooms are always clean and and the beds are so comfortable. The staff is always very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peace1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lincoln, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent visit to the Holiday Inn Express-Lincoln.Our goal is to provide extraordinary service to every one of our guests. It is very rewarding to know that we were able to accomplish that for you, especially as one of our most valued Priority Club members. We look forward to welcoming you back, and hope we can continue to be your preferred choice for lodging. Thank you for the opportunity to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stopped here for an overnighter while traveling through the area. Found the room to have a bad odor. The shower curtain rod was hanging low and loosly affixed to the wall. Wallpaper was peeling in many places throughout the room and especially in the bathroom. Bed was comfortable and the breakfast was standard fare as found at any HI Express. Place needs a little upkeep, but the staff was pleasant and accomodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptHemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lincoln, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please know how valuable your comments are in our goal of being the best Hotel in the Lincoln area. We pride ourselves on clean comfortable rooms and having the most dedicated staff in the midwest. Shoud your travels bring you back to the Lincoln Illinois area we would love the opportunity to re-earn your business. Please accept my apologies for your dissapointing visit and again, Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesbit, Mississippi
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were very please with our stay. The hotel is stylish and clean. The staff is friendly, and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast bar was wonderful, there was plenty of food and it was hot food too! The breakfast area was always clean and restocked.

Room Tip: The hotel is pet friendly, so if you need to travel with your pet, you will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonsey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lincoln, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! Your kind words are genuinely appreciated. I hope you were able to enjoy one of our signature warm cinnamon rolls with your breakfast,they alone are worth the trip. The staff and I thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express-Lincoln, and hope we have earned your business should your plans bring you back to the Lincoln, Illinois area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Most everybody was gone by 7am. Breakfast was fine, hotel was very clean and staff was very nice. Parking was plentiful. Nothing bad to say about the place. Didn't stay long, just long enough to lay my head down.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LineNoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lincoln, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. We look forward to being of service to you and your family next time you are traveling through Lincoln, Illinois. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express-Lincoln!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a lovely stay here - the pool was big enough to swim, and square so no funny corners to try to swim around, and the whirlpool was strong and hot. Open late with an hour just for adults - a nice bonus!!

I got a laugh that the pillows were labelled "soft" and "firm", but it was very nice to have enough pillows to choose from, and a nice soft blanket to balance out the person who sleeps cold with the person who sleeps hot.

Lovely reception, and the breakfast was nice with a good variety that should fit just about anyone's taste.

**Thanks to a lovely young lady running check-in overnight.**

Room Tip: They seem to be very flexible in making sure that you are comfortable - so just inquire about your c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webgrazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolngm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lincoln, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! We are delighted you enjoyed the Indoor Pool and Spa with your family! You are welcome to bring your little "bears" anytime. Thank you again for choosing Holiday Inn Express-Lincoln for your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading,PA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

A pleasant and knowledgeable front desk member greeted us upon our arrival and arrangements for our stay were completed in no time WITHOUT a reservation.
Very clean and spacious room made for a great way to start my lodging experience.Wide screen TV and a nice varied selection of channels,helped to while away the hours until departure.
The WiFi internet signal was also a major plus as our 3rd floor room gave me a 5 bar reading,incredibly high for many motels.
Bed very comfortable,5 pillows on the bed and an AC / heater unit that fully functioned.
Shower water pressure strong with water temp very hot,but controllable.
Swimming pool and weight room also very nice and usuable.
Breakfast area was clean,big selection of items and served right on time as advertised.
Overall,great stay at a great price.Major road,.easily accessible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingmrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lincoln, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We know you have a choice for your lodging needs and appreciate the opportunity to be of service at the Holiday Inn Express-Lincoln. Thank you for your kind word and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lincoln
Hampton Inn Lincoln
#1 of 6 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Inn
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Lincoln
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Lincoln
Super 8 Lincoln
#4 of 6 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lincoln

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lincoln
Address: 130 Olson Road, Lincoln, IL 62656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lincoln
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lincoln 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Lincoln Hotel, Illinois is conveniently located off of Interstate 55 at exit 126. The hotel offers 69 luxurious rooms which include free high speed wireless Internet, free HBO and ESPN, use of the indoor heated pool, whirlpool and work out room. Also included is our complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar. The Holiday Inn Express Lincoln is located only 29 miles north of Springfield, Illinois and 35 miles south of Bloomington/ Normal, Illinois. The hotel is located only 2 miles from Lincoln College, 3 miles from Lincoln Christian College, and 1 mile from the County Fairgrounds. Businesses close to the hotel include Eaton Corporation/ Cutler Hammer, St. Gobain, Weyerhauser, Ball-Foster Glass, SYSCO and Abraham Lincoln Memorial Hospital. Lincoln is home to the annual Art & Balloon Festival, which is held in August and features over 50 hot air balloons, carnival, and craft booths. The Holiday Inn Express Lincoln is located only 35 miles North of the Illinois State Fairgrounds in Springfield. Whether on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Lincoln is your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln Hotel Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Lincoln Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing