We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lincoln
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I was traveling in the area for business and stayed one night at this hotel. It was a nice Hampton Inn, very quiet, extremely nice employees. There was a wide variety of food for breakfast. I don't have one complaint about this property and would stay here again if I was in the area!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauionmymind08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Lincoln
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 442 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

Hampton is my preferred chain, and this is one of the best. Very convenient, just off the highway and within a half-mile of several dining and shopping options. Beautiful room, with nice touches such as an extra blanket. Nice bathroom - mine had a large shower but no tub, which was fine with me, but be sure and ask if it matters to you. Good breakfast.

Room Tip: Next time would ask for a room on the second or third floor to avoid headlights in my window.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farewell18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed at this property as a quick overnight while traveling across the country. The hotel does not charge for dogs, which was the primary reason we stayed here. The hotel is located right off the interstate and is near several fast food places and more local eating options with downtown Lincoln about 2 miles away. Check-in was fast and efficient, and the receptionist had good knowledge of the local area in regards to restaurants. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The kids liked the pool- it had good water temperature and was big enough to have some fun. Breakfast in the morning was typical for free continental fare, but it worked in terms of getting ready for more travel on the road, The coffee was hot and was surprisingly good- that's a big plus in my book. The receipt was correct and check-out was a breeze. I definitely would return to this hotel if it worked out in terms of needing a place to stay while traveling.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RazorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Lincoln being the half-way point, I met up with a friend and stayed for two nights. The hotel lobby was warm and welcoming. I loved the 24 hour warm cookies and very flavorful coffee that was provided. The staff were above and beyond friendly and helpful. My room was very clean, well lit and had a nice work area. For breakfast, there was a nice variety of eggs, waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, toast, bagels, English muffins, pastries and rolls. The breakfast area was very clean and appealing, and the staff were very friendly. This hotel is in a very convenient location, right off the highway and next to gas stations and dining. Walmart and CVS are just a short drive up the road. There is ample parking here.

I took a smoking room so I could get a refrigerator and microwave, as the available non-smoking rooms did not have these. There is not a lot of air circulation in the room so the room overwhelmingly stunk from smoke - really bad. I went to a local store and purchased air freshener spray, which I used a few times a day.

The thermostat control must be on a motion sensor. It was very cold in the room so I would turn it up to 80 degrees, sit at the desk and work, and start shivering again in an hour, turn it up to 80 degrees again, work, shiver, etc..........................

The bathroom could use repair, as there was a crack in the bathroom floor tiles from the entrance all the way to the toilet, and continued into the actual toilet.

I didn't like that housekeeping knocked on the door at 9:15 AM to get the dirty towels to do laundry. Had I not showered already, I might not have received clean towels for the next day. I do feel like the hotel was a bit skimpy on towels, as there were only 2 very thin towels in the room, so I had to ask for more.

The bed was very lumpy and the pillows were very hard and firm. The comforter was nice and warm, as it was freezing in the room all night. I did not sleep very well.

This Hampton Inn, being the "Ritz" of Lincoln, so yes, I would highly recommend it and would definitely stay here again in a non-smoking room.

Room Tip: Choose a non-smoking room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGramA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

just off interstate 55 and 155. Good clean hotel. Has three floors with elevator. Cracker barrel is adjacent to property and three or 4 other eating places are nearby. Staff was friendly and we had no concerns during our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ualcid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I was stationed for work in Lincoln, IL for 2 months and during the weekdays I used this hotel as my home. It is a great value for the buck and omg the staff are great...they treat you like family and absolutely amazing hospitality. Tami at the front desk is the nicest person around and she will take such good care of you and I'm sure all of the others will too but I just talked with her more since she was on the night shift most nights. Nice pool and hot tub and great exercise facility. It is super convenient to I55 and made my excursions very accomodationg. I award this hotel as one of the best I've ever stayed in!!

Room Tip: I prefer the 3rd floor but all of the rooms are equally as nice. Also...just a word of advice...if...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmmduffser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed here 2 nights following a VERY EXPENSIVE 2 night stay in downtown Chicago. The running joke is whether you could park your car in a room. Well, I could have parked my car in this room (and I don't drive a Smart car)! I travel a lot to the Chicagoland area for business, and this trip took me south to Lincoln. The location is very, very convenient, right off the interstate, and it's a very quick drive into town for a wide variety of restaurants. (There's an awesome coffee shop one block from the train station!) Everything from check-in to the room to the lobby to the business center was great.

I typically get a king suite which has a sofabed as well as a king bed. This gives me a little space if I need to stretch out. This room was really, really spacious. I could see a family with small children staying in this room easily, as there was a kitchenette area with decent-sized fridge and microwave just inside the door. If the sofabed was open, there would still be plenty of space to move around.

The bed was comfortable and I slept really well. The view was of an empty field, but in central Illinois that's about all there is. Really quiet. The bathroom was kept really well. Since I was alone this wasn't an advantage, but the sink / vanity area being separate from the shower and toilet would be really handy when traveling with kids. The only real downside to the room was that there is no place to put a suitcase except on the rack inside the closet. The big flat-panel TV sits atop a dresser that is evenly spaced between the bed and sofabed, which face each other, and the TV swivels to face either the bed or the sitting area.

The business center is TINY but had everything I needed. I got the feeling that most people staying at this hotel are vacationers and families, not business people. So, it would make sense that the hotel would cater to their needs.

I didn't use the pool but it looked inviting. The breakfast area was spacious enough, and there are some games and things in a cabinet that can be used at other times of the day. Plates, cups, utensils, etc. were always available, so if you carry food in for dinner, you can get a fork if you need it. This was the case for me my second night, as I got Chinese carry-out from a great local place in town and forgot to ask for a fork. If you get food from this restaurant (right on Hwy 10) make sure you take in your own travel coffee cup. They'll give you tea with your meal to take with you. But you can also pick up a tea bag and make tea in your room.

I would definitely stay here again. It was worth the extra $20 per night to have a huge room and feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cy1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincoln
1.5 mi away
Best Western Lincoln Inn
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Lincoln
52 reviews
24.6 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Northfield Inn, Suites & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Lincoln
Super 8 Lincoln
#4 of 6 in Lincoln
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lincoln

Address: 1019 North Heitmann Drive, Lincoln, IL 62656-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lincoln
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: $91 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Lincoln 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hampton Inn Lincoln is located just off I-55 a few blocks west of downtown Lincoln. Visit the Logan County Historical Society to see books and memorabilia owned by President Lincoln or take a drive down Route 66 to peek into the heartland’s more recent past of kitschy restaurants and roadside attractions.Unwind in a spacious guestroom and enjoy modern comforts to help you feel at home. Stay connected with free internet access. For a touch of luxury, upgrade to a suite and enjoy extra space and special amenities, including refrigerator and microwave. Enjoy great value during your stay at Hampton Inn Lincoln, with unexpected delights such as our indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and modern fitness center. Hold a meeting in our board room or catch up with work in the business center.American history comes alive in Lincoln, Illinois, a town christened and named by Honest Abe himself on August 27th, 1853. Lincoln cherishes its rich history and its ties to the former President, but the town also relishes its place in pop culture as well. Route 66 cuts a path through Lincoln and true to the nature of the famed highway; you'll find curious discoveries and one-of-a-kind destinations along the historic roadway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing