We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What you would expect at a Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Libertyville
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Libertyville
Certificate of Excellence
Harvest, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What you would expect at a Holiday Inn”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here when we came to see our son graduate from the Navy boot camp. The room was clean, the neighborhood is quiet, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast was good. The only complaint I could find is that the swimming pool smelled strongly of chlorine, which I'm no pool expert, but I think that's a bad sign. But everything else was great.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kudzumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    30
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
64
10
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I used this hotel several times when moving to the Libertyville area as it is in a great location and a good value. This is not the Ritz Carlton, but the rooms are clean and the service is very good. The hotel is close to historic downtown Libertyville with all of its great restaurants and shops. When we have family in from out of town, they like to stay at this hotel. It's i good value and a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyMom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the HIE Libertyville for my son's graduation from Navy Boot Camp last weekend in Great Lakes. This hotel is a short drive from the base. We stay at Holiday Inn fairly often and we've seen all ranges. This hotel falls in the middle. It was a bit outdated, but clean. The bathroom sink in not IN the bathroom, which I have never understood. The bathroom door wouldn't close all the way. The accomodations were clean and fairly roomy. The room had DirecTv, which offered a wide variety of channels. The breakfast was the standard HIE breakfast with many choices and coffee available 24-7. The front doors were not automatic, which makes it difficult to move all your luggage in and out. There is a Starbucks about 100 feet from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyDTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Libertyville, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear MissyDTX,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am pleased you like the cleanliness of our hotel rooms. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide a unique experience to all our guests. I sincerely apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced due to the condition of the property, bathroom facility and layout of the front doors. Your input will be shared with our management team to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Thank you again for your comments. I hope that you will afford us another opportunity to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I just wanted to express my thanks and utmost appreciation to General Manager Kyle Mrozik. Recently I was sent to training in the Libertyville community and was there for an extended stay. Due to available funds, my agency had placed me at a nearby poorly run and maintained competitor’s hotel. Had it not been for Mr. Mrozik I would have been stuck at this hotel for my entire stay. Mr. Mrozik went out of his way to facilitate the best rate possible to accommodate my situation. By doing so he ensured I had a comfortable and stress free week of travel. During my stay at this hotel I noted the facility was spotless and every staff member was extremely helpful and courteous. Breakfast was just right for what I needed and well above what I had expected. There were absolutely no problems or issues and it was a much needed breath of fresh air. Should I find myself in the area and in need of lodging again I will definitely be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel was really nice, rooms comfortable, neat that they have an onsite washer dryer to do laundry for extended stay. Easily accessible, good breakfast in the morning with a super sweet breakfast bar lady. Wonderful hotel and good location to/from Wauconda where family lives. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CierraMHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The positive reviews on the Holiday Inn Express in Libertyville, helped me make my dicision on spending the night at this hotel.

The staff was just as friendly and helpful, as the review indicated and the room was nice.

The hotel was a little hard, as it is hard to see from the roadway, but it was worth the search. There are plenty of stores and places to eat next to the hotel and it is only 20 minutes fron the Wisconsin state boarder, where the price of gas is a lot less than in Illinois.

Room Tip: Just tell the front desk what you want and because the air conditioner will go on whenever the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coachpate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This hotel is located behind Walgreens at the corner of Milwaukee Ave and Peterson/Buckley Rd. (The name changes when it crosses Milwaukee Ave.) 10 minutes from Great America. 8-10 blocks from downtown Libertyville (on Milwaukee) where there are several good restaurants, lots of stores on the street. Active nightlife, especially for young professionals. Very nice, good size pool. Staff very polite. Hot breakfast free.
The air conditioner came on and off all night making it a little harder to sleep uninterrupted.

Room Tip: Try the top floor to avoid hearing people walk around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarthaIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Libertyville
2.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville
4.1 mi away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
5.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Libertyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Libertyville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Libertyville
Address: 77 Buckley Rd, Libertyville, IL 60048-1408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Libertyville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Libertyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Libertyville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Northern Lake County, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites -Libertyville is located approximately 30 miles from O Hare Intl Airport. Start your day off right with our new Express Start Breakfast featuring the world s best cinnamon roll, Smart Roast coffee, bacon or sausage, cold boiled eggs, omelet, and variety of hot and cold cereals, muffins, yogurt and much more. A complimentary newspaper is delivered to your door each morning. Our guests are invited to go for a swim in the heated indoor pool, or workout in the fitness center or Libertyville Sports Complex. The hotel offers ice/vending machines, 24-hour front desk, same day laundry and dry cleaning services, express checkout, free parking, free local phone calls & high-speed Internet and meeting facilities to accommodate up to 40 people. Roll away beds and baby cribs are available and 90% of guest rooms are non-smoking.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Libertyville location is two miles from Six Flags Great America, three miles from Lake County Fairgrounds, four miles from Gurnee Mills Outlet Mall, and less than five miles from The Great Lakes Naval Training Center. All guest rooms feature expanded cable television with HBO and coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, safe, desk, two-line phone with voicemail, and free high-speed Internet. The hotel accept dogs under 25 pounds only and will be charged a $50 non-refundable cleaning fee and are required to sign a pet contract. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Libertyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Libertyville Hotel Libertyville
Holiday Inn Libertyville
Libertyville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing