We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Libertyville
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Libertyville
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“comfortable and clean”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Family and friends stayed here during a family wedding. The room was clean and well maintained. The breakfast included eggs, bacon, biscuits, and gravy along with cerals, bagels, juices, coffee, etc. All good and plentiful. The pool is big, the work out room equipment worked and was clean. The rooms were relatively sound proof, clean, and spacious. The bed was big and comfortable. I can highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maestraverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    31
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
66
10
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We were very pleased with the accommodations and service at this hotel! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marzkefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Reviewed this Holiday Inn Express (HIE) in May 2008 and have stayed 2-3 times since. The hotel is going down hill. Upon check in – two rooms reserved for me and colleague, one in my name one in his name. But he was not on the list, nor where some others from our group who “had” room reservations. When I check-in and presented my Holiday Inn Priority Club Gold card – there was no “perk” for being a club member, as there is in most HIE’s. No mention, thanks, etc. My room (2nd floor) and the hallway had strange odors. In part because “smoking” is allowed in certain portions of the hotel (1st floor) – you could smell it above the first floor and I believe a room freshener had been heavily sprayed to cover the odor. The tub faucet was loose – it rotated – I found this out when I took a shower and water shot upward from the tub faucet. Also there was no time limit set for use of the two lobby computers – I wanted to print airline boarding passes, but one person occupied one of the computers for over an hour - I kept returning to see if it was free. I then asked the front-desk person if there was a limit and she said no! Period - not I will ask person to leave for 10 minutes etc. The computers are directly in front of the front desk. SO it was not awful, but no need to put up with any such annoyances. I will not stay here again when in Libertyville.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2010

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here for a family reunion. The rooms are nice and the beds are very comfortable. They serve a pretty good breakfast in the mornings (cereal, oatmeal, eggs, bacon/sausages etc). The only complaint I have is that we kept having to go to the lobby to get new keys because they would stop working for some reason.
Overall, a very nice place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asmeyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2010

I found human hairs all over my towel, floor, and linens, must not have good vacuums, or must not give housekeeping enough time to clear right. NEVER WILL I STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valuable1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

I stayed here with my husband and two young children for a family wedding. We had a suite, which had a king bed in the bedroom and a sleeper sofa in the sitting room.

The best part hands down was the bed. The linens were soft, the mattress a wonderful pillowtop, and the pillows perfect. The towels were also soft and thick--I agree with the other reviews that call this boutique-caliber bedding!

The hotel itself was decorated in that generic corporate style. So no style points, but the entire property was meticulously clean.

The breakfast buffet was the usual--scrambled eggs, bacon, cereal, yogurt, a few bananas, bagels and bread. Nothing extravagant, but enough to get you going. There were enough healthy choices for conscientious eaters.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinkadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

I was assigned a "non-smoking" room of the first floor (RM 107) , BUT heavy "smoke" odor was in the room, especially when the heat/AC blew air. I asked to change rooms and was immediately accomodated to a room on the second floor with absolutely no odor. The desk clerk told me all the smoking rooms in the hotel were on the first floor and that Rm 107 was being influenced by the other rooms, but there was no hesitation in moving me and the clerk apologized for the odor. The odor was pervasive throughout the first floor hallway. SO.... if you are not a smoker and detest the odor, get rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Desk staff very helpful - reccomended an excellent restuarant adjacent to the hotel "Cafe Pyrenees" and gave valuable advice about Libertyville and surrounding area. Typical Holiday Inn Express - lobby breakfast was good - standard hotel lobby fare, and the hotel was very clean. I would stay here again, but not on the first floor.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smoke odor on first floor
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank scscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Libertyville
2.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville
4.2 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
5.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Libertyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Libertyville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Libertyville
Address: 77 Buckley Rd, Libertyville, IL 60048-1408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Libertyville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Libertyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Libertyville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Northern Lake County, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites -Libertyville is located approximately 30 miles from O Hare Intl Airport. Start your day off right with our new Express Start Breakfast featuring the world s best cinnamon roll, Smart Roast coffee, bacon or sausage, cold boiled eggs, omelet, and variety of hot and cold cereals, muffins, yogurt and much more. A complimentary newspaper is delivered to your door each morning. Our guests are invited to go for a swim in the heated indoor pool, or workout in the fitness center or Libertyville Sports Complex. The hotel offers ice/vending machines, 24-hour front desk, same day laundry and dry cleaning services, express checkout, free parking, free local phone calls & high-speed Internet and meeting facilities to accommodate up to 40 people. Roll away beds and baby cribs are available and 90% of guest rooms are non-smoking.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Libertyville location is two miles from Six Flags Great America, three miles from Lake County Fairgrounds, four miles from Gurnee Mills Outlet Mall, and less than five miles from The Great Lakes Naval Training Center. All guest rooms feature expanded cable television with HBO and coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, safe, desk, two-line phone with voicemail, and free high-speed Internet. The hotel accept dogs under 25 pounds only and will be charged a $50 non-refundable cleaning fee and are required to sign a pet contract. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Libertyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Libertyville Hotel Libertyville
Holiday Inn Libertyville
Libertyville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing