We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Deli”
Review of Picnic Basket

Picnic Basket
Ranked #9 of 94 Restaurants in Libertyville
Restaurant details
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Deli”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Every time I come to town I make sure I stop here. A great menu with fresh breads, meats and vegetables. Everything I have had here has been great.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    21
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
175 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tasty Sandwiches”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed the sandwiches here. All the ingredients were very fresh and tasted great. The sandwiches are big and the small town feel make it worth the trip.

Helpful?
Thank AvengerD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Sandwich Shop in Lake County!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I've been going to the Picnic Basket now for over 22 years and it has been one of my favorite restaurants in the area based on excellent food and great customer service. Located in the quaint and historic Libertyville, one can order a sandwich and enjoy the wonderful atmosphere of looking out the large picture windows at Cook Park and Main Street of the cute downtown area. This restaurant is a favorite of locals with their great daily menu specials. They also have very healthy and tasty salads and fantastic, homemade soups of the day. This restaurant has slowly increased in size over the years, but it is still run by the original couple and now their children. Just a wonderful place to take the family for lunch. Also, they have great catering!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyMom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Leave the ants behind”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Picnic Basket is right down the street from my office and I am inclined to drop by on a regular basis. The restaurant expanded recently, losing some of it's cramped charm in favor of a more spacious and brighter decor. This is a great place for soup, sandwiches and the most tasty 7 Layer Bar known to man. Whether you eat in or take your food to the park across the street, you would be hard pressed to get a fresher or healthier meal for lunch in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mws58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
200 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We ate here over St. Pat's weekend so I had to get a ruben. It was wonderful. They even died the kraut green to make it festive. We each ordered a different combo of sandwich and soup. Everyone raved about what they had. The prices are very reasonable and they have wonderful desserts too. So many choices of sandwiches, soups, wraps, panini, salads, desserts. it's a long way from my house, but cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picnic Basket also viewed

Libertyville, Lake County
Libertyville, Lake County
 
Libertyville, Lake County
 
Libertyville, Lake County
Libertyville, Lake County
 

Been to Picnic Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing