We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer-selection, decent food”
Review of Firkin

Firkin
Ranked #5 of 94 Restaurants in Libertyville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Lillesand, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great beer-selection, decent food”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This place holds a good atmosphere. Lots of beer on tap. Tables are close, so dont plan on a quiet, romantic evening. Food is not as good as the beer-selection. Classic american cuisine, and not bad at all.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndyCappNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    99
    35
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always a great time”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Went there with another couple. Best selection of draft craft beers and always something new. Ate the horseradish salmon and unbelievable rich flavors.

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just For Fun”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

After a long day of traveling around the city,coming home to make a dinner was not going to happen. So deciding to go to Firkin's was a great idea. The warm atmosphere, casual dining, friendly staff, fresh food, organic, and unique menu items make Firkin's a great choice for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bookbuy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Beer selection is terrific. Food is good but not notable. Can be crowded and tables too close. a bit noisy and this visit we were not able to tap into the wonderful culinary connection with the tavern next door. Firkin is worth a visit, but not my favorite.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank seattleos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very eclectic”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

First time here. Very crowded on a Monday which is a good sign. They offered several German Octoberfest dishes. I had the chicken snitzel which was good. I was really looking forward to the German potato salad. However, it tasted funny - found out they added Cajun spices to it. Not my grandmother's German potato salad. Just ruined it. Probably need to add in the description of the dish that this was added. And, I am allergic to it. Most uncomfortable evening for me. The others in our party enjoyed the salmon and mahi mahi. Good service and nice surroundings.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Semomu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firkin also viewed

Libertyville, Lake County
Libertyville, Lake County
 
Libertyville, Lake County
Libertyville, Lake County
 

Been to Firkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing