We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Marks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Libertyville
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High Marks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at this Candlewood Suites for two months while my family and I relocated to the area. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Libertyville in a quiet area, with limited shopping/dining in the immediate vicinity. Downtown Libertyville, with its numerous dining/shopping options is a short 7-minute drive away. Mundelein, with additional dining and shopping, is only about 5 minutes away.

I found the room (a studio suite) to be quite comfortable. The kitchenette was well-stocked and very convenient. It had a microwave, cook top, toaster, dishwashing machine, and a full-sized fridge + freezer. The room was nicely appointed with a flat screen TV, desk area, and recliner. The bed was comfortable, and the staff was more than happy to provide extra pillows and blankets upon request. The bathroom had a fine, powerful shower.

The free WiFi was great, as was the free laundry. I occasionally used the gym (though not routinely enough!), and found equipment to be top-notch. Since I was staying an extended period of time, my room was cleaned weekly. The front desk staff made it clear that if I needed fresh towels or linens in-between cleanings, they would happily oblige. Speaking of the staff, when my wife and two kids were joining me for the final week prior to our move, I asked if I could upgrade my studio to a 1 BR suite and my request was graciously accommodated at a discounted rate.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to travelers looking for a clean, comfortable room full of functional -not frilly- amenities, regardless of trip duration.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    34
    11
    1
    5
See reviews for
29
18
12
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here before on business and really enjoyed the upgraded look of the hotel. Staff, as always, is very accommodating. The location is perfect and in a quiet area which allows me to concentrate on my work. Will always come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnmitchell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Libertyville location while in the Chicago area for the Ryder Cup golf tournament. Three adults slept comfortably in a 1 BR sutie for the two nights that we stayed there. Helpful, friendly staff greeted us upon checkin and helped us to find a good dinner spot close by. I would recommend the Libertyville Candlewood and would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cricket711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit Lake, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Clean and comfortable, simply the only two qualities I care about and look for in a hotel room. The Candlewood Suites exceeded my expectations in this regard, and in addition the gentleman at check-in was courteous and professional, providing a restaurant recommendation and offering a discount. I would recommend the suites to any type of traveler.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJ0hns0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieil
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding out of town and were traveling with our pet, and found it extremely accommodating that they allowed small pets for a fee of $15. The room we had had a nice little kitchen, and spacious area for working and relaxing. We noticed the hotel was exceptionally clean and well ran. We would stay again, if ever in the area!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodieil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

First room dead bugs in the bathroom and the kitchen area on the floor (not bed bugs). We switched rooms and there was a dead bug on the floor in the kitchen area, again not a bed bug.
I look for candle wood suites in every town that I visit. This is not one that I would put on my list.
If I were to stay in this area again I would stay at the Hampton Inn and suites a half mile up the road.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powerplant66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Powerplant66,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Irish V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here over a weekend when visiting friends. The room was nice and spacious; large work space for computer usage, nice bathroom and comfortable bed. The only negative was that we had a room on the first floor near the maid room; the maids were very loud at 7am in the morning which woke us early.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msullivan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Libertyville
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Grayslake
Comfort Suites Grayslake
#1 of 1 in Grayslake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area
5.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills
6.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville

Property: Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville
Address: 1100 N US Highway 45, Libertyville, IL 60048-4469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Libertyville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Libertyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville hotel is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers. Big and built for comfort, it's the ultimate suite. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave, stove top and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with two separate phone lines and complimentary high-speed Internet. Relax in the over stuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase meals, snacks and sundries items at value prices. We are located in the heart of Libertyville's business district, a short drive from I-94 and right next to Motorola, USG, University of St. Mary's, Volkswagen Credit and the College of Lake County. We're only minutes from many other large corporations. Surrounding leisure attractions include the new Libertyville Sports Complex, Six Flags Great America, Gurnee Mills Mall, Cuneo Museum and Volo Auto Museum. Simply, fun times for the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville Hotel Libertyville
Candlewood Suites Libertyville
Candlewood Libertyville
Libertyville Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing