We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tent/Tepee Sites”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lena KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lena KOA
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lena
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tent/Tepee Sites”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you plan to tent camp here be sure to call their direct line to reserve a site. Not all of the tent sites have sand platforms like they advertise. Also, the sites are very close together unless you are put in a site next to the office which is basically a field with several fire pits. It's really what I would call a group tent area which is next to the road, office and jumping pillow. We were assigned to this area originally and I was very unhappy. After a few attempts to change sites I was finally given the option to switch to another site and then was eventually given the option to upgrade for free to a teepee site which was wonderful. We stayed in our tent next to the teepee and there was nice shade and plenty of room for us to hang our clothesline and play games at our site. The teepees are nice, but in ours there was only a double futon and two plastic chairs and table. I also think they are pretty open and I don't think the rain would stay out. We used the teepee for our changing room which was nice for the five of us. The teepee sites are in the back of the campground and there is only one bathroom in the front of the campground which isn't too far away. The bathrooms were fairly clean, but there were only three stalls and three showers. The pool was crowded and some people were inconsiderate and brought floats into the pool. We were disappointed that the recreation room had a broken ping pong table and you had to pay a 25 cents to get a ball and 75 cents to play pool. They had bingo for the kids, but the man calling the numbers went so fast the kids couldn't do it themselves and he kept telling them to be quiet. The kids enjoyed the "Hey Ride" and the ice cream social which was $1.50. The kids playground was fun although not very safe since there is really no mulch left just dirt. The sand volleyball court was nice. This park has a lot of highway noise even where we were in the back of the campground, but we expected this since it is right off the highway. The campground is a well maintained, beautiful piece of property with lots of trees! The map says there is a hiking trail, but that should probably read walking trail. There really is nowhere to hike. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. There is a nice state park nearby as well as some other places of interest. We would like to come back to this area, but would probably not stay here again unless we were able to use the teepee site again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
168 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Although the owner/managers are incredibly attentive, and the property is extremely well maintained, the comment by one reviewer about the sites being too narrow is unfortunately very true. In many of the larger unit sites the sewer pipe is right next to the picnic table area. Mostly that's just unsightly and feels gross to have it so close, there isn't an odor when used properly. If there is someone on both sides of you, the beautifully kept grounds are not visible, so the view is restricted when the campground is full. We usually go just before or after summer season, so it's not full up. Located conveniently to several towns (Freeport, Lena, Galena, IL and Monroe WI) there's plenty to do and places to be trouristy at. We love playing golf at Stage Coach Golf Course.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAnn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
364 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Lena is an exceptionally well managed and maintained KOA about 35 miles east of historic Galena on Hiway 20. It is a quiet, flower-landscaped campground with both wooded and grassy areas surrounded by farm fields The staff is friendly and helpful. The park has the usual KOA facilities (heated pool w/slide, WiFi, shower/restrooms, laundry, camp supply store, camping cabins, pool, playground, game room) all of which were clean and in good shape. Lena also sells LP gas which is another big plus since most RV campgrounds don't any more.

Most campsites were typical for a KOA, fairly level, fairly close together, some with shade. Our elec & water hookups worked well. About 20 channels came in on Antenna TV. Quite a number of sites were taken by what appeared to be seasonal campers with wood decks and alot of golf carts and ATV's. Their Kamping Kabins surround a large outdoor Kamping Kitchen/Gazebo (40 person seating with three sinks with hot and cold water, two stove tops, one small grill and one large group grill - great for groups/reunions). In addition new this year, they also had two of what they call authentic "Sioux" style Teepees to rent for a rustic Native American camping experience.

Activities include bingo, sand volleyball, horseshoes, pancake breakfasts, barbecues, ice cream socials, "hey" rides, live music, weekly movies, etc. Besides the usual KOA fun-bikes and pedal carts to rent, they also have a giant inflated jumping pillow. They describe it as crossing a trampoline with a bounce castle. Wristband purchase required to use. Check their website for full details.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OTR_Again_IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkville, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I will never stay here again!! I rented the new breckenridge cabin and the family was sitting around the fire talking (not being loud) and were told by the occupants of O12 that we were being to loud and it's quite time. The next night the same thing happened. I have never had this happen at any other KOA site. So if you want to take your kids and make s'more around the fire make sure your in bed by 22:00 or you will be told to. On the plus side kabins are very nice and they have a things to do for kids of all ages.

Room Tip: If you want to stay up passed 22:00 in Kabins on the northeast side of grounds DON'T DO IT. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is are 2nd time at this campground. The time before was in the fall and we just were there for Father's Day Weekend. All I can say is I love this place. When you pull up it's clean, there are flower beds all over. The workers including the owners are so friendly. Joe is the husband of the couple is constantly driving around making sure everything is ok and that you are happy. One night we were expecting high winds and he went around to make sure everyone was aware of the weather. The pool is very clean, they provide chairs to sit at tables with umbrellas and lounge chairs. They have a area to gather for social events. They also have a social area for a evening group campfire. The store is amazing, from camping items, clothes, misc items and several different types of wines from winery's in the area. The bathrooms are very clean, checked on through-out the day. They are cute and welcoming. The thing I really liked was that there was grass around the sites. It made it a more relaxing look. They asked that if you are a rv'er that you don't put you carpet down on the grass. It is approx 40 minutes away from Galena. As I mentioned a perfect getaway.

Room Tip: It is right on the highway, you can' t miss it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSwiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

My sons and I rented a one room kabin for three nights after school let out. This is a great place to stay, relax and swim, swim, swim. It is in a nice location just off the two lane highway (Hwy. 20) but still very quiet. Our kabin was clean, comfortable and sat facing the wonderful kamping kitchen. The kamping kitchen is a wonderful addition which has cooktops, sinks and tables to use. It was very nice! The owners and staff were exceptionally nice and accommodating of every need and question we had. Campfires, weenie and marshmallow roasts and singing around the fire were some of the fun things we enjoyed. An excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shullsburg, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

The campsites were very cramped. The neighbors sewer was right in our lot. Our camp fire pit was right beside the road. Everytime we turned around, we had to spend more money. They advertise a jumping pillow, but don't tell you that it isn't included in the 43 dollars for the night. You have to pay extra for your kids to use it. I took my niece with me and had to pay extra. They include up to 4 kids, but that is only your children. They have activities, which all cost additional money. They scheduled activites, but dont wait for the prior activity to be complete. They had a game my kids wanted to do which was suppose to be after the hayride, but didnt wait for the hayride to be done to do the activity.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanieandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lena KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lena KOA

Property: Lena KOA
Address: 10982 US Highway 20 W, Lena, IL 61048-9517
Location: United States > Illinois > Lena
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lena
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit and see why campers of all ages return for a variety of camping experiences. Just 35 miles east of historic Galena, this flower-landscaped campground includes wooded and grassy areas surrounded by rolling farm fields and tourist attractions. Nearby, find hiking, fishing, golf courses, bike trails, antique shops and more. Enjoy KOAs heated pool with a double tube slide or the Jumping Pillow. Join in sand volleyball, horseshoes and basketball, or rent fun-bikes and pedal karts. Activities include bingo, pancake breakfasts, barbecues, ice cream socials, hayrides, live music and movies. Check website for details. Stay in a tepee with modern conveniences. Cabins surround a large outdoor Camping Kitchen - ideal for groups/reunions. Deluxe Cabins with full amenities are great for winter weekend getaways. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing