We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Golf Layout”

Cog Hill Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Lemont
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This course hosts the PGA's Western Open every year.
Winfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Top Golf Layout”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This golf course has alot of his of history to it. Over the years it has undergone significant improvements and presents a challenage to the average golfer. Anyone of plays golf will want to say they have played Cog Hill.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gaylewinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A wonderful day at Cog Hill!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have played golf at many top golf course in North America, Ireland and England and most of the time you pay big bucks only to have the course in poor condition. We played the #4 - Dubs Course and it exceeded my expectations. The condition of the course was fantastic. The fairways are lush, the greens are pure although not overly fast, (my guess 9.5) but they did have a lot of rain over the night before we played. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. I would recommend shelving your ego and play a tee up than normal because you want as high a lofted club as possible into the greens because they are well guarded with very deep bunkers. We plan to go back again on our next trip to Chicago.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Panther67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cog Hill No. 2”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Didn't get to play No. 4. No. 2 is a great track and half the price. Very well laid out traditional golf course. Great Chicago style Hot Dogs available at the turn, highly recommend!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Poor amenities , great greens”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Started with having tee time for Dubs moved to #2, for an outing, disappointing club house for a PGA tour facility, charged extra for range balls, old fashioned water fountains, no on course beverage cart, carts look like they have been there since 1980, no GPS.
This out of towner expected more with the history of the course. Having said that I would play dubs in a heartbeat if I ever get back to Chicago.

Helpful?
Thank Jlbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
“Golf at its finest”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Every course at Cog Hill is in amazing shape, but the legendary Dubsdread is a must-play. A true shot-makers course. The course is tough, but its also rewarding. The elevation changes really add character and strategy to the course, and the scenery is awesome.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank awest90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cog Hill Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing