We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lansing
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst hotel experience ever”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

When we checked in, we told the front desk we needed extra wash clothes and hand towels. We were told we would have to wait till 9am the next day to get any. When coming back to the hotel that night, my wife and I were propositioned in the hotel parking lot. The continental breakfast was horrible (poor selection and not well kept.) When we got home, a roach crawled out of our suitcase. To top it all off, when I checked my credit card statement online, it showed that we were charged an extra $14. When i called the hotel, the front desk told me it was for a ruined wash cloth and hand towel. I explained that the hand towel was already damaged when we got there, which is why we ask for a replacement, and the wash clothes were used to cleanup some lotion that spilled. Nothing that couldn't be fixed by simply washing it. I was transfered to the hotel manager, who has still not returned my phone calls. THIS PLACE SHOULD BE AVOIDED LIKE THE PLAGUE!!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel, any hotel but this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juanrhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler8881, Owner at Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
All rooms are supplied with ample amounts of towels. Extra towels are given out on a demand basis. Guests are charged for room damages such as the ruining of towels, which the guest claims was already damaged. If this was the case the guest should have brought it down immeditaely down to the front desk, which they did not, thus causing suspicion. Guest failed to mention he was given fresh towels at 7am by the front desk attendant. Essentially this guest was supplied with two sets of towels for a one night stay. As for your plauge comment I strongly urge you to not make ridiculous claims on emotion but rather in more realistic terms for other future guests to read and take note. With all this being said all these claims will be reviwed by our housekeeping supervisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    15
    6
    8
See reviews for
11
16
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was my first time staying at a sleep inn..... Next door was a comfort suites which is the same hotel chain or brand and to be honest I usually stay at comfort suites but this sleep inn was just as nice as comfort suites and nicer than others. I give this hotel 100% without thinking twice!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thats_My_Milk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Holland, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Beware Housekeepers Steal Your Possessions from your rooms!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thms2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler8881, Owner at Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
The housekeeper has been working at this hotel for many years and we have never had a single complaint from any guest. There is no reason to suspect a loyal employee of ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lansing hotels

New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This is an average hotel on the outskirts of Chicago. It worked fine as a stop over in the middle of our road trip. Rooms were clean, but a little outdated. Currently using the wifi in room, and it is neither fast nor consistant. There are about 6 hotels in the same vicinity here - so you do have some options.

Gym has three pieces of equipment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakota88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2010

This hotel was OK for the price...$55 a night in the Chicago. The hotel rooms were run down, the phone didn't work (but was fixed the next day after reporting it to the front desk). There are only showers in the rooms, no tubs. It wasn't immaculate, but it wasn't dirty either. It is in an industrial type area easy to get to from the interstate. If you go a few blocks up there is some shopping and restaurants. While the experience wasn't bad, next time I'd spend a few extra dollars just for someplace a little nicer.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pazgirls4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2010

We stayed here two nights after staying in Waukegan two nights for our son's Navy graduation. He had full weekend liberty plus the extra MLK holiday. So we stayed here because it was between where our two daughters live (1 in Flossmoore and 1 in Merrillville Indiana) to spend time with them before taking him back. We were also traveling with our other two teenage boys so this place worked out great for our needs. It was very clean, staff was very nice, close to many restaurants and shopping, rooms were spacious, wifi worked with ease (but make sure you get a password from the front desk or you can't log in), breakfast was good considering it was "continental" and parking was very convenient (we stayed on the first floor). I'd definitely recommend this hotel for South Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShantWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

This hotel has shower stalls instead of bathtubs. The shower door in my room (304) did not seal, and water ran all over the floor. I had to use the extra towel to mop it up. Directing the shower head away from the door helped a little, but didn't solve the problem.

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank HOI_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel - Lansing
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Harvey
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northwest Indiana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing

Property: Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing
Address: 2255 173rd St, Lansing, IL 60438-6007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sleep Inn, a hotel for the sensible traveler. We are conveniently located near popular destinations including Riverboat Casino Gambling, golf courses, convention centers, auto racetracks and First Midwest Bank Amphitheatre.Located near Interstate 80 and Interstate 94, this Lansing hotel provides easy access to Downtown Chicago, McCormick Place (America's premier convention facility) and Midway Airport. Navigating to Chicago is easy, thanks to transportation like Metra Electric (IC) Rail, public buses and taxi services. If flying by private plane, land at the Lansing Municipal Airport.Many restaurants ranging from casual atmosphere to fine dining are close to the hotel. Many cultural attractions include The Center for Visual and Performing Arts, Country Club Hills Amphitheater and the Center for the Performing Arts Governors State University.Several organizations within the area include BP Amoco, Ford Motor Company (Assembly/Stamping plants) and NB Coatings.And don't think you have to leave your furry friends behind. With our pet friendly rooms, we welcome you and your furry family to stay and play. Please contact hotel for rules and regulations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Lansing
Lansing Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing