We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not coming back for sure !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2008

I needed to stay at this hotel for 3 days because of company business interests in the area. Normally, I stay with choice hotels brand but i came over to holiday inn because one of my colleagues as staying here. I reserved a room for a 3day period through Orbitz. I arrived at the hotel around 3:20pm and when i approached the front desk to check inn they said they didn't have my room ready. I thought to myself, okay it just might take about 10-15 minutes, so I sat down in the lobby and waited. 30 minutes pass and I return to the front desk and the lady working there said my room is still not ready because of a housekeeping problem. At this point i was angry because they at least could have told me 30 minutes ago. She went on saying that it would take about another 15-20 minutes. I was already frustrated because of work, so I threw my things back in the car and went to eat out. Coming back around 4:30 they finally had my room ready, and the lady was being quite quite rude about it. I had to ask her for most of the information about the hotel and surrounding areas instead of the other way around. Finally entering my room i collapsed on the bed and noticed there were no pillows ! I guess in the rush of cleaning my room they didn't do it correctly, calling the front desk i had to go all the way downstairs to get my 2 pillows and back. When I woke in the morning about 8:00am I went down to breakfast to find it completely wiped out. I thought this was a buffet? There were a few pieces of bread and bagels, and their "legendary cinnamon rolls" were not so "legendary" they were actually quite cold as if they weren't heated. Finishing my bagel and a simple cup of coffee I left to work. The thing was though i wasn't coming back a hotel of this stature should have much better expectations than this.

I've learned my lesson to stay with my choice hotel properties, at least they're reliable.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jasonkaatz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 77 of 77 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2008

This Holiday has new rooms and i decided to stay here because I usually stay at Comfort Suites but I wanted to try something new. I reserved a room over the phone, a single bed, speaking with a lady at the front desk, she kept on insisting I get a room 1, I could not afford, and 2 that i didnt need. This lady seemed liked she wanted to empty my pockets rather than making me happy. Anyways checking in i believe i met with the same lady i spoke to over the phone, the hotel seemed to be deserted on a weekend so i was given service, the lady apparently knew how to talk but could not actually give me a room.. I'm thinking this is possibly because of her inadequate training. Now I had to go to work soon and a simple checking in process was taking in 10-15 minutes, she kept on asking another man " how do i do this" and "now what? " This became extremely annoying but eventually i recieved my keycard. The next day, the housekeeper came to service my room and i couldn't understand a word ! I noticed the man next to me had the exact same problem.. The room was alright and the breakfast was the same. Overall This hotel needs to learn how to train its employee before giving service, and they need to make sure their housekeepers clean the rooms entirely because i found food in the fridge which definetly was left by a previous guest. All in all i give it a 2/5

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliestl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXLANSING, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2009

We opened on August 1, 2008. Although it is not an excuse, we were new and now have a fully trained staff committed to 100% Guest Satisfaction. I would welcome you back and give us a try to really experience the difference. We all go through growing pains and we have gone through ours. I can guarantee an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

Thank you for your comments, they only make us work harder to provide the exceptional service that you could expect from a Holiday Inn Express.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZHRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel - Lansing
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hammond
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Munster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing

Address: 2323 172nd St, Lansing, IL 60438-6003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range: $137 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Chicago-South Lansing Hotel Offers Best of Both Worlds Located on the Corporate Corridor, our new Chicago South Lansing Hotel is near some of the nation s top producing companies including BP Aamoco, Ford and Arcelor Mittal Steel and is also in close proximity to Chicago s main highways, including I-80, I-94 and I-294. Situated in suburban Chicago, our South Lansing hotel provides an ideal location for travelers of all kinds near several city attractions like the urban center of Chicago and Chicago's downtown city center, as well as rural attractions such as Illinois State Park. Our Lansing hotel is located in the region s most concentrated area of forest and recreational activities. Whether you want a night on the town or an afternoon in the park, our Lansing hotel is the perfect place for you. Families can enjoy the Holiday Inn Express Chicago-South Lansing Hotel's easy access to numerous Chicago attractions such as Soldier Field and the Magnificent Mile, by car or by Chicago s public transport system. And, business travelers can appreciate the convenience of having the Chicago Southland Convention and Business Bureau within walking distance of our Chicago South Lansing Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Chicago South Lansing
Holiday Inn Express Lansing
Lansing Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing