We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My family and I travel a lot so we stay in a lot of different hotels. This by far has got to be one of the scariest locations I have stayed at. The hotel itself was perfectly fine and clean, however we got asked multiple times if we had money they could have,And it's not avery well lit city at all. I have young kids and I was real close to driving a tad bit further and staying in a different city. I was even scared to sit and eat at the subway right down the street! All in all I would not stay here again! Nothing against the hotel tho!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ocean157048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXLANSING, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Greetings ocean157048,

I thank you for your feedback regarding your experience with our hotel as well as the Village of Lansing. I was excited to hear about your pleasant comments regarding the hotel. Our staff strive on providing clean and comfortable accomodations for our guests with a great smile. As for the impression on the Village of Lansing, I hope you give us the opportunity to change your impression as Lansing is a great community of businesses and residents who care about its loyal visitors. I thank you for submitting your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 77 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel to visit family members who live in the area. It has to be one of the nicest moderate-priced hotels we've ever stayed in. Clean, well-appointed, updated, and friendly. Comfortable bed with nice linens. Spacious rooms. Big variety of hot foods in the breakfast buffet that is included in the price. If it had a lighted magnifying mirror in the granite and tiled bath, it would be as nice as some of the upscale 4-star hotels we've stayed in. That's the only thing I can think of that's missing!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor, away from the elevators to get the quietest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here on our way into the city. Our room was nice and clean. The staff were helpful and the continental breakfast is awesome! They have a small workout room which is nice. They have free wireless internet too! I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Michael Lawrence, the sales manager at this location is beyond phenomenal. My family and friends of 12 stayed at this hotel for 3 days during my cousins wedding. After 13 hours on the road driving from Maryland we wanted to get to our rooms and sleep. That is exactly what we did. !! within 3 minutes all 5 rooms were checked in and ready to go.! Not only did Michael making planning our stay simplistic but he was also always courteous, friendly and always available to assists. The rooms were clean, breakfast had varieties for all tastes and did I mention clean. Not one complaint from any of the 5 rooms I reserved with Michael. If I were anywhere close by this location I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: AAA and government discounts are sweet !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comfy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

I selected this hotel since it was relatively close to the client site I was working at.

Here are my list of complaints:

Thin Walls - I have stayed in many, many HIEs and hotels overall. I could hear everything around including what sounded like a 500-pound man in the room above me.

Decreasing Towel Supply - Everyday during my week long stay, towel count steadily declined everyday. One day I had no hand-towels, one day no bath-mat towel, one day no towels at all, although my room had already been cleaned.

Impolite cashier - When reporting no towels were in the room, the young guy implied that it was normal procedure and they would eventually get towels to me. I still do not know when they provided the towels because I had to leave and did not return until later that evening. The towels were in the room upon my return, but I was unable to shower prior to running my errand.

Disappearing chewing gum - I know it's just a pack of gum, but the cleaning staff were helping themselves to my pack of gum and leaving the empty foil wrapper on the nightstand.

Loose headboard - Headboard was not properly fixed to the wall. With most hotels, the headboard is just mounted to the wall. This headboard was only attached at the top of the board which allowed it to "swing" back and forth away from the wall. Therefore, any movement on the bed would make the headboard bang against the wall.

Clothes Rack Falling - The clothes rack in the closet was being held in by only one screw, which would not allow for any clothes to be hung in the closet. The screw that was not mounted was there, but the drywall was ripped out to where it was no longer attached. I hung my clothes on the door hook on the back on the bathroom door (among other creative places within the room).

I was very displeased with this hotel and I would recommend moving on to the next choice.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yer_M0M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Our first impression was not so positive. We stood at the unattended front desk for almost 15 minutes waiting to check in. Fortunately, another guest,who was also waiting picked up the house phone and was able to summon the front desk person. Once she arrived she was efficient, helpful and really nice. She explained that she was the only on e on duty.. She gave us a verbal list of restaurant suggestions after asking us what we wanted.
Our room was wonderful- very quite, great bed and pillows, shower etc. Very nice decor- better than some Holiday Inn Express. I slept really well.
Breakfast was provided-the help here were really nice too. One detail-no fruit was provided, fresh or otherwise which was unusual.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globaloutlook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

This place was GREAT!!!! We came in got a price quote from the young woman at the front desk. It was very reasonable. Got our room, but discovered it wasn't cleaned, so she upgraded us to a suite at no charge all with a pleasant, genuine demeanor. Wish I knew her name so we could put it in the review!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soulsafeprod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel - Lansing
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Munster
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Munster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing

Address: 2323 172nd St, Lansing, IL 60438-6003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range: $138 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Chicago-South Lansing Hotel Offers Best of Both Worlds Located on the Corporate Corridor, our new Chicago South Lansing Hotel is near some of the nation s top producing companies including BP Aamoco, Ford and Arcelor Mittal Steel and is also in close proximity to Chicago s main highways, including I-80, I-94 and I-294. Situated in suburban Chicago, our South Lansing hotel provides an ideal location for travelers of all kinds near several city attractions like the urban center of Chicago and Chicago's downtown city center, as well as rural attractions such as Illinois State Park. Our Lansing hotel is located in the region s most concentrated area of forest and recreational activities. Whether you want a night on the town or an afternoon in the park, our Lansing hotel is the perfect place for you. Families can enjoy the Holiday Inn Express Chicago-South Lansing Hotel's easy access to numerous Chicago attractions such as Soldier Field and the Magnificent Mile, by car or by Chicago s public transport system. And, business travelers can appreciate the convenience of having the Chicago Southland Convention and Business Bureau within walking distance of our Chicago South Lansing Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Chicago South Lansing
Holiday Inn Express Lansing
Lansing Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing