We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin walls between rooms but quiet surroundings outside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Thin walls between rooms but quiet surroundings outside”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 8 days. Breakfast got old after having the same options every day. Only 1 pancake maker for everyone to share which is really slow. Very strict about breakfast hours & cut it off promptly. Has a shuttle van but 3 days in a row we used it & driver couldn't find our location & made us late. On our 5th night a crying baby in room next to ours kept us awake. We asked to move but all rooms were booked, although some people hasn't arrived they wouldn't let us move until after 11 pm but I guess everyone arrived bc we didn't get to move. Was disappointed they didn't recycle. Beds were comfortable. Staff were friendly. Pool was indoor only, but open 24 hours which was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaushaTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear TaushaTaylor,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We are glad to read you found the beds comfortable. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the noise challenges you experienced.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    37
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
54
26
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding, to keep it brief, it was clean, the people at check in were polite, the included breakfast was fine. The most unexpected part for me was the bathroom, it was really big, lots of counter space, which was great for getting ready for a wedding!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbus1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanan H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hi Deb,

We take pride in having friendly staff and your review has thrilled us. We appreciate your kind comments and your noticing that we strive to be as attentive to our guests' needs as we can.

Overall, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and certainly look forward to seeing you again.

Hanan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We recently sold our home in Lake Zurich IL but our new home was not ready so we made reservations and spent four wonderful nights in a hotel that I had driven past hundreds of times. What a gem. Hanan, Amy and the rest of the staff were superb. The room, the cleanliness, the breakfast--all first rate. I am so glad we chose the Holiday Inn and Lake Zurich and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Terry B

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Excellent customer service! Amy at the front desk is a complete sweetheart! Great location, right across from a great picnic area on the lake. Quick and easy no mess pancakes and fresh fruit was a great way to get the day started. Room was clean and staff was awesome!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airportchick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn Z, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
To Our Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the kind words. It was a pleasure having your group stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your lunch in the park on Monday. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
418 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here the night prior to driving my brother in laws furnishings cross country, what a great decision that was. The room was quiet and comfortable.
We had no problems at all and the breakfast in the morning was very good (eggs, sausage, waffles, cold cereal, fruit, rolls, etc).
The motel is right on the main highway and there was plenty of parking for our moving truck and tow vehicle. We felt secure because the parking lot was very well lit and we could see the vehicles from the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaAz-JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn Z, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
To our valued guest,
On behalf of all of our staff, I want to thank you for the nice comments you had written in your review on your experience here at the Holiday Inn Express in Lake Zurich. I am very happy that you found your room quiet and comfortable so that you were able to rest before your long drive. We hope that you will stay again with us in the future.

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Holiday Inn at Lake Zurich is a very nice hotel that is in the middle of many attractions in Lake Zurich such as Paulus Park right across the street and many storefronts just blocks away. Whenever I have family come and stay, we normally don't have much room, so they are able to stay at the Holiday Inn which isn't far from our house and is at a very reasonable price. They have great food and amazing guest service that cant be beat. Overall, no negative comments! If you have a lot of family over or have a business trip to attend in or near Lake Zurich, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: There is only one elevator in this hotel and two emergency staircases on either end of the hallways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had our wedding in Lake Zurich in April 2013. This is one of two hotels in the area that could accommodate all of our guests. We chose the HI because of the wonderful customer service we received from day 1 working with Gail and Hanan in the Sales Dept. They were friendly, attentive, always responsive, and went above and beyond our expectations throughout. The hotel staff was awesome and treated our guests so well all weekend. Guests were able to swim in the 24 hr indoor pool after our reception and had a blast. Hotel was clean, comfortable and very reasonable. Have a family member who hosted a friends' weekend here as well and he had the same experience. Very satisfied overall and highly recommended for the area.

Room Tip: For late night room service can only order outside pizza :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmoleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn Z, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
To our valued guest,

On behalf of all of our staff, I want to thank you for the nice comments you had written in your review on your experience here not just once but twice for the family. We appreciate the comments on our staff being friendly; we pride ourselves in offering good customer service. We wish you all the best in your new adventure. Please come and visit us again. Maybe for your one year anniversary.

Amy Dow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Zurich
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago Deer Park
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
#1 of 4 in Crystal Lake
269 reviews
3.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Barrington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Crystal Lake
8.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hoffman Estates
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/North
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heig...
#3 of 10 in Arlington Heights
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington
Address: 197 S Rand Rd, Lake Zurich, IL 60047-2275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Lake Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lake Zurich - Barrington, IL. Situated in the northwest suburbs of Chicago, IL, Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lake Zurich - Barrington is located off Hwy 12 and State Route 22, with easy access to the communities of Barrington, Palatine, Crystal Lake, Vernon Hills and Mundelein. Our leisure travelers will love the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Zurich - Barrington's close proximity to Concorde Banquets and the Lakeside Family Sports Complex. In the heart of Lake County visitors will find our hotel ideally situated to enjoy the many recreational activities of the area. In addition, just a short drive from the hotel will give you access to all that downtown Chicago has to offer. Our Lake Zurich - Barrington hotel is close to several corporate offices, including ECHO Inc, CF Industries, Siemens, Motorola and Baxter. We are proud to offer free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access throughout our hotel, a 24-hour business center for all your business-related needs, meeting space and an indoor pool and whirlpool area. Our hotel in Lake Zurich offers a number of unexpected amenities in a comfortable setting. Come Stay Smart with us at our centrally located Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Zurich - Barrington hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington IL - Lake County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing