We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“up scale northern Italian food”
Review of Francesca's Intimo

Francesca's Intimo
Reserve with OpenTable
Francesca's Intimo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 65 Restaurants in Lake Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Western
Central Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“up scale northern Italian food”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Mia Francesca's Intimo is one of our favorites for northern Italian tastes. Been going there for years and have gone to their other establishments around Illinois. The food is great and the service has always been top notch. Intimo is not a large place but very up scale.
Lunches are just as nice as their dinners. Love their polenta.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    48
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fox Lake, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a nice romantic dinner for two.”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

This quaint restaruant is in downtown Lake Forest, and is a wonderful place for a couple or a family.
Started with the calamari, big bowl of nicely fried calamari with not overly battered pieces. Tasted great, but what I liked was it came with a nice big cup of sause for dipping. Not the usual chinzy thing that fits two tablespoons, so we didn't have to fight over it.
I had the caprese salad, which i will say was delicious. Big juicy tomatoes, fresh made mozzarella, and a big leaf of basil drizzled with a delicate and full flavored olive oil. I was a little dissapointed to see no balsamic on it, but the taste was great with out it to my surprise.
My entre was a rogatoni with vegetables in a tomato cream sause. By this time we were both pretty stuffed from our salads and calamari, but we plowed forward. A huge bowl filled with pasta, veggies, motzarella, and this full flavored sause was amazing! yum yum yum.
We finished with the vanilla gelato (yes, we kept eating...painfully so). It was perfect. Sometimes plain vanilla has huge flavor and yet so simple.
We had a very nice server and the bus staff were very attentive. I would go back time and again. Thank you Francescas

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuckyRed13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“pleasant experience”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

the setting is very good, with a great buzzy and fresh feel, unusually lively for the area, which tends to be older and sedate. the food was good and somewhat fish focused, not so good if you are craving red meat. the wine list is good and varied. the menu is a bit narrowly focused, without many options. it can be a bit loud, so not so good with older folks. so, overall great setting with a somewhat narrow food menu, does not feel much like the (small) chain restaurant that it is. very good and attentive service. a bit of urban spice in a suburban setting.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miloumario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
2 reviews
“Warm, intimate atmosphere with ever changing menu”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We have been to Francesca's a few times. Each time we were seated quickly and served promptly. The menu is ever changing to reflect the season. Food is always plentiful (pasta is served in large bowls) and the wait staff is friendly and accomodating ( we now go with a baby!). Prices from the house wine to the specials are very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reteach_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fidalgo island
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy and gourmet, lovely food. Great fine Italian.”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Lunched here with family. Nice sunny patio with umbrellas. Swell food and excellent prices for great quality. Gorgeous tiramisu. Surprised to find there are more than one of these in Chicagoland area. Seemed like a gem. Great caesar salad...fabulous pasta handmade. Excellent . Very busy so service was a tad slow, but the servers were very attentive to detail. Would visit again anytime.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank second2none
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesca's Intimo also viewed

Lake Forest, Lake County
 
Lake Forest, Lake County
Lake Forest, Lake County
 

Been to Francesca's Intimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing