We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great, Fairly Priced Dining Experience”

Market House on the Square
Reserve with OpenTable
Market House on the Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 65 Restaurants in Lake Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Our new menu offers crafted food featuring the rich tradition of American Cooking we all grew up loving. These lunch and dinner items are rooted in our collective memories, made better than we remember through our commitment to the most current techniques and the best possible products we can source. We do everything from scratch. Our breads are baked on premise every day. We’ll make our own flatbreads, salad dressings, sauces, pastas, cheeses, sausages and the list goes on. We will source as much as we can locally (good tomatoes are tough in February) to bring you the best quality ingredients we can find. Finally, we believe Great Dining starts with Great Food, and ends with Great Hospitality. Hospitality is a dialogue.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A Great, Fairly Priced Dining Experience”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This pleasant, elegant restaurant in Lake Forest, IL is a gourmet eatery, but with very reasonable prices. The atmosphere is lovely and the all of the items on the eclectic menu are well prepared and inviting. The service is attentive, prompt and professional. It's a lovely place to eat frequented by many locals. Just off the picturesque, charming town square it is in a delightful location and particularly so in warmer months when the delightful outdoor terrace is open. Like
Del Rio in Highwood and Le Petit Paris in downtown Chicago, the Market House on the Square is one of our favorite restaurants in Chicagoland.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thoughful-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    48
    19
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The Fish House Addition is a Real Treat!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

"Fish House" is the new restaurant added to "Market House" (it's actually a separate place upstairs and with it's own entrance). This is a top-drawer place! Everything about it gets 5-stars: the atmosphere, the vibe, the decor, and of course the food and the service!

There are lots of great seafood options and preperation styles on the menu - there's something for everyone (raw, cold, hot, traditional to creative). Our dishes were all delicious!

The staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and very accommodating. I just can't say enough about this terrific new place. Thumbs up - a real treat!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CCRiderLLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“It holds up to area standards”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

A restaurant in Lake Forest better have good food with great service. This place meets the criteria. The cracker bread was served with an olive spread and creamy butter - a nice touch. The menu is varied, from 20 oz bone-in ribeye (a little overcooked) to a large dinner salad. The duck casserole was excellent - prepared in a delicate wine sauce served with a light pastry shell. Just enough food and the price wasn't exorbitant - a $12 entree; combined with the beet salad, with walnuts and goat cheese - it was a great meal. The pot roast was a hit at our table - a large portion of comfort food. The wine list was appropriately varied - with international as well as domestic choices. We had an Oregon Pinot Noir for $60 - not the most expensive, but not the cheapest either. The service was great - they asked when we wanted the wine, the salads, etc - so we could plan the timing ourselves. We had a side room for 10 so the privacy and service may have been a function of that - but we had a great time as a group without feeling rushed or pestered. One suggestion - have larger red wine glasses - they use the "one size fits all" - not terrible - but a large red wine glass is a nice treat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovestoroam78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Family Reunion group enjoyed it.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We rented a private room upstairs for our group of 20. Everyone ordered off the menu. For such a big group the service was quite good with all the food arriving at the same time. My salad of local vegetables was excellent followed by the grilled shrimp and polenta appetizer which I ordered as my entree. It was very tasty but not quite large enough for a meal. Asking around and observing others, I think everyone was pretty happy with their food. I sampled the salmon and it was great. Nice atmosphere. They worked hard to make us happy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, IL
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Bruschetta was different but very tasty: wood-roasted heirloom tomatoes, evoo, basil, House Ricotta with perfect crostinis (thin small toasts). The soup of the night was a French Onion, with plenty of cheese and garlic, one of the best I've had. My wife ordered the tomato soup with basil and liked it as well. We both ordered the Van Doren Club Sandwiches, with French fries. The sandwich is a three-decker with House-made bacon, roasted turkey, lettuce, four-year-aged cheddar, tomatoes, mayonnaise on multigrain bread. Each of us took half a sandwich home. The French fries are the best I've eaten anywhere. They're "homemade" in the kitchen, they're not greasy but unlike fast-food French fries, they were cooked long enough. For dessert I had the Apple Cranberry Crumble with vanilla ice cream and rum caramel sauce. It reminded me of apple strudel and I reluctantly shared some with my wife, it was that good. I usually don't comment on the ambience of a restaurant because I'm there for the food, but this place is especially attractive with its dark woods, coach lights and vaulted ceiling.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank federico48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market House on the Square also viewed

Lake Forest, Lake County
Lake Forest, Lake County
 
Lake Forest, Lake County
Lake Forest, Lake County
 
Lake Forest, Lake County
Lake Forest, Lake County
 

Been to Market House on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing