We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Motel(Lake Bluff)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Deer Path Inn(Lake Forest)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveler rating
441
145
65
21
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
145
65
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroad noiseparking lot sidegreat hotelhilton gardenlight sleeperrestaurant staffconvenient locationbusiness hotelnaval basethe entire staffrooms are cleanwould stay here againnaval graduationhighway sidestaff was friendlybusiness tripgreat lakes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
673 - 678 of 683 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2009

This hotel was amazing! The price was very reasonable considering surrounding hotels but this was not a "cheap" hotel like you would think from the price. The rooms were huge compared to other hotels I've stayed in. We had two connecting rooms both with king size beds. The beds and pillows were so comfortable I slept better while there then I do at home which is never true! The desk chair in the room was amazing! I would love to get one for my office at home! The bathrooms were spotless and huge compared to normal hotel bathrooms. The pool was very nice, good temperature, nice size, very clean. The fitness room smelled a little funny but what else could you expect from that! The hotel staff was really incredible! They were so helpful and went out of their way to assist us, right down to giving us a bottle of ketchup from the kitchen when we forgot to bring any. The food was a little pricy but it was very good food. The bar and bartender in the hotel was also very nice! She obviously loved her job and spent the whole time talking and joking around with the bar customers! The hotel was also very close to surrounding attractions such as the navy base, the marina, shopping, restaurants, you name it! I will definitely be staying here from now on anytime I am in the Great Lakes area!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess_Marie2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

This hotel was amazing! The pictures looked so nice on the website but we were worried because it was actually one of the cheaper hotels near the Naval Base but we decided to go with it. This is by far the cleanest, best hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff was so nice and went out of their way to help us. The swimming pool and hot tub was nice and clean. The bar wasn't fully stocked but still had everything we could have wanted! The rooms and bathrooms were huge and completely clean. The bed was adjustable on the firmness, flat screen TV's, nice desk with a fancy chair (I now want one for my office!), microwave, and refrigerator. I definitely plan on staying here again! The restaurant was a little pricy but the food was good and you made up for it on the price of the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtitus03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

I have stayed at MANY top of the line Hotels in my life but there is none that compare to this one. The customer service, from the front desk to the Manager, was impecable. Every employee there treated you like they were hosting their own families. The rooms were spacious, emaculate and comfortable. The business center was awesome and the restaurant/bar was a soothing place to begin and end your day. There are lots of restaurants, shopping malls, things to do around this location and is probably the best place to stay for those attending any events at the Great Lakes Naval Base. I most certainly will go back if my travels take me in that direction!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcburnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudemarchi, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews