We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most helpful and efficient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Forest
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Most helpful and efficient”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Lovely hotel - with very efficient and helpfiul staff - Always very friendly and polite and helpful. Even in the extremely cold Chicago weather everyone was really helpful and the hotel was very warm and inviting.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing such kind words. It really has been a very cold winter. Hearing that we made a difference for you, that our team was so helpful and friendly, and that you found the hotel to be comfortable and inviting truly "WARMS" our hearts. We are so happy to be able to make a difference and we appreciate you sharing your experience. Please come back and see us the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    127
    53
    17
    5
See reviews for
227
61
28
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The entire staff was very friendly. They were quick to make eye contact and greet me upon returning in the evening. The furnishings are comfortable and the place is clean. The food was good and they offered a special dish each night. This was important because I stay at Hilton Garden Inns frequently so the menu becomes too familiar at times.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're thrilled to learn you had such a wonderful overall experience. It's also fantastic to hear you enjoyed outstanding service throughout your stay. We believe you should expect this type of genuine hospitality...afterall, YOU are the reason we're here. We appreciate you choosing Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest/Mettawa and we hope you'll plan to stay with us again the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamondhead, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We checked into the Hilton Garden Inn in Mettawa, IL on a bitterly cold, snowy afternoon. Our room was ready early and it was spacious and clean. Because the weather continued to be inhospitable we spent a great deal of time indoors. The restaurant was equally good for breakfast, lunch and dinner and we loved our bartender who was a master mixologist! EVERYONE we dealt with went the extra mile to be helpful and friendly and we truly appreciated their consideration. Our son is currently stationed in Great Lakes and when we plan our next visit we will definitely make reservations at the Hilton Garden Inn. Thanks to the staff!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Marylou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for the incredibly kind words and wonderful review. It really has been bitterly cold and snowy as of late. We're fortunate to have a fantastic team in place that genuinely wants to care for our guests. It's great to hear that hospitality was evident and that you experienced both figurative AND literal "warmth" during your most recent visit. It's also nice to learn you enjoyed our newly rebranded Garden Grille & Bar several times during your stay. Finally, please know that we are honored to host the visiting family and friends of the brave men and woman at Great Lakes that will soon serve our country. Thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn Lake/Forest Mettawa. Please plan to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna/VA, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We highly recommend this Hilton in Lake Forest for its quality service and friendly staffs! The entire staffs have natural sense of service and willingness to help guests. Breakfast gives you a choice of freshly made pancakes and omelet. Free WiFi access is great during the stay! Gym and swimming pool are a huge plus for the family! We also liked the softness and its adjustment system of the bed mattress! This is a very comfortable hotel for families with young children! We definitely will go back to this Lake Forest Hilton! Thank you for the great accommodation! P.S. Nearby, there are gourmet grocery store Mariano and Walgreen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Wow, thank you for the fantastic review and for your outstanding recommendation of our hotel. Such kind words are very much appreciated and it's particularly rewarding to learn you experienced such genuine service and hospitality throughout your visit. We're also pleased to hear you enjoyed many of the property's amenities including our new Garden Grille & Bar. We are already looking forward to hosting you and your family again in the future. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, IN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn's have been consistently well done. Nice beds, clean rooms, pleasant staff, and reasonably priced. The Lake Forest Inn had an unbelievably quiet heating/cooling system which made for a very nice sleep. We stay at Hilton Garden Inn's whenever we have the option to do so.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank DDRau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We're very happy to learn that you found the property to be exceptionally clean, our team to be pleasant and helpful, and the price to be so reasonable. It sounds like you enjoyed a great night's sleep and that is certainly the foundation for any outstanding hotel experience. Please plan to stay with us again the next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here when visiting our newest grandson and were very pleased with the location and the amenities of the hotel. Our only complaint was that the duvet was too heavy and they provided us with a blanket instead.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for the very kind review and congrats on the newest addition to your family! Great to hear our location was convenient for visiting the nearby Lake Forest/Libertyville area...we appreciate you choosing our hotel. We hope you'll plan to stay with us again the next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 31, 2013

See previous comments. This is a comfortable hotel. Most rooms are too small. Should not offer dinner service....unless menu is upgraded...and should have an experienced cook on board. Service...extremely slow.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
First, thank you for the overall very positive review and for sharing your feedback. Our goal of constant improvement can only be achieved with direct, detailed feedback from our guests. In regards to your restaurant experience...as of January 1st we are excited to announce the rebranding of our new restaurant...the Garden Grille and Bar. Included in this process are some awesome new menus, a variety of nightly food and drink specials, and extensive training with our restaurant team to ensure we continue to provide the same outstanding product and customer care in the restaurant that we do so consistently in the hotel as a whole. Thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest/Mettawa...we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future so you can enjoy the new concept first hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Forest
3.2 mi away
The Deer Path Inn
The Deer Path Inn
#2 of 2 in Lake Forest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lincolnshire
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bannockburn-Deerfield
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago Lincolnshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
Address: 26225 N Riverwoods Blvd, Lake Forest, IL 60045-3429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Lake Forest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa is ideally located among Lake Forest, IL hotels, just off I-94, and only minutes north of Chicago. The brand-new lobby is highlighted by stylish décor and comfortable lounge seating near a cozy fireplace that creates the perfect atmosphere to hang out with friends or co-workers. Start your day off with breakfast at the Great American Grill, or unwind in the evenings at the Pavilion Lounge and enjoy a beer or signature cocktail. The spacious guest rooms feature modern amenities including free WiFi, HD TVs with premium cable, and the signature Garden Sleep System bed that is adjustable to fit your comfort. This Lake Forest, IL hotel also offers easy access to O’Hare International Airport and the businesses in Lincolnshire, Vernon Hills, and Libertyville to make it perfect for corporate travel. Leisure travelers will also appreciate the quick commute to Six Flags and the Great Lakes Naval Base. Select the Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, and enjoy premium service and a great location for your next Chicago-land trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa Hotel Lake Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing