We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Forest
Certificate of Excellence
detroit
1 review
“Good hotel for the price”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Nice, neat and clean hotel with all the basic amenities.Rooms were very clean on arrival.
This hotel is definitely worth the price compared to the others near by.The hotel is Good for family as well as individuals.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishvanabh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
First, thank you for taking the time to share your very positive review. We're happy to read that you found the hotel to be exceptionally clean...our team takes great pride in that fact. It was also good to learn that you felt the hotel provided great value and that our product and amenities were well suited to the needs of both families and individuals. We really appreciate your business...please come back and see us again if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    132
    57
    20
    6
See reviews for
242
65
28
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel March 17-20, 2013. This is the largest HGI I have ever stayed in...it's huge. The hotel is very convenient to the highway and access is good. Parking was difficult and if you arrive after 8PM, you will be walking a considerable distance to the front entrance. The staff has a cool false friendlieness (translated, the boss told me to say hello to every guest) but they are efficient at check-in and check-out.

The place is so big, it has an institutional feel. The room furniture is somwehere between a hospital and a motel. They could have done a little better but it works.

We were upgraded to a suite for 10.00 per night extra. If you are made this offer during the reservation process, take it. It was much nicer than a standard room.

Noise from the highway has been attenuated by some well designed windows and insulation. Noise was not a problem in any area of the hotel even though there is an interstate highway nearby.

The room was spotless. I don't like those mini-pillows and wish they would return to the standard pillows everybody else uses.

The food in the restaurant was above average and the service was excellent. I recommend the restaurant for breakfast. It's fast and reasonable.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. No advantage to front or back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. After reading several of your previous reviews it's clear you're well-traveled and quite fair in your reviews. I look forward to sharing your comments with our team, together we will seek any opportunity to improve. I was pleased to read you found the overall restaurant experience to be excellent, we appreciate the recommendation. Finally, regarding staff service, you are correct in assuming that a prerequisite for joining our team is a willingness to connect with our guests without exception. However, I'm proud to report that we look for, and have been fortunate enough to find, people who genuinely care about serving our guests. The strength of our hospitality can be credited far more significantly to strong recruting than formal training. I hope you'll have the opportunity to return and that you'll find this to be the case. We know you have a lot of choices so thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest/Mettawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Amazing staff, from the front desk to the restaurant. Indoor pool was great for the kids and the Gym had state-of-the-art treadmills for us. Restaurant offered an amazing breakfast buffet... a great way to start our day, onto our final destination.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WIMckees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for reviewing your awesome experience and for sharing it with your fellow travelers. We're glad you had a chance to enjoy the facilities and amenities...great picture of the kids having a blast in the pool. I really appreciated hearing that you found the entire staff was "amazing". Delivering warm, friendly service and providing genuine care to our guests is our priority and our passion. Thank you for choosing us and please come back again if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed overnight because of a snowstorm. My company uses the hotel and is located nearby. My checkin was superfast, the room was very clean & quiet, the food & drink and restaurant service were first rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review Neighbor! We were happy to be able to provide "shelter from the storm" several times this year...hopefully you were able to take advantage of the "local" storm discount we offered. Very good to hear the room was comfortable and that you really enjoyed your experience at the restaurant...especially the service. We're here if you need us, but let's hope it isn't until next winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was our first stay @ a Hilton Garden Inn and it did not disappoint! Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We fell in love with the feather pillows and have already ordered a couple for home;) Hotel restaurant was nice (although the breakfast was a bit on the salty side the morning we ate). We will be looking for a Hilton Garden Inn on our trips from now on!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Great to hear you had such a fantastic stay. We really appreciate you choosing us for such an important event. We're honored to host you and your family while you celebrate your graduate. I'm always grateful to hear about our team being extremely helpful and friendly...it's our passion and our priority. I will follow up with our restaurant to ensure we're a bit more careful with salt content at breakfast. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great location and facility. We would stay here again. It is located close to shopping, family, the beach and Chicago. Facility is very clean and all staff was very friendly. Rooms are large and spacious with ample furniture.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
"Clean and Friendly"...our mission and your experience...a perfect match. Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We're grateful you found everything to be just as you would've expected and more. We know you have a lot of choices so thank you for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteno, IL
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was there with a business group so I did not choose the hotel. My only complaint is they are RIGHT on the highway. Next time I will ask for a room on the other side as it was noisy all night. The hotel itself was very nice. Staff was nice. It snowed quite a bit the second night there. I got stuck in a parking spot and asked about a shovel. One of their employee told me to hold on. The next thing I knew he was outside shoveling my car out. I heard he jumped to to take some orders for some folks at the resturant the same night. That is customer service. I did not eat there but did hear others not favoring the food, but as far as a hotel you can not go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on opposite side of highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manteno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank your for your unfiltered, honest feedback and overall very kind words. We remember the night of the storm well and it certainly was a hectic evening. Your story about one of our folks offering to shovel snow for you is wonderful to hear. Frankly, we are fortunate to have some very engaged, kind team members who genuinely want to make sure our guests are comfortable and happy. I know your compliment will be appreciated and I'll be sure to celebrate with the entire team. While our proximity to the highway is certainly convenient, we do receive the occasional report of road noise. We are always pleased to receive a special request for room location and our front desk team rarely fails to satisfy these request. Thanks for your business...please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Forest
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lincolnshire
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago Lincolnshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
6.7 mi away
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bannockburn-Deerfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
Address: 26225 N Riverwoods Blvd, Lake Forest, IL 60045-3429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Lake Forest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa is ideally located among Lake Forest, IL hotels, just off I-94, and only minutes north of Chicago. The brand-new lobby is highlighted by stylish décor and comfortable lounge seating near a cozy fireplace that creates the perfect atmosphere to hang out with friends or co-workers. Start your day off with breakfast at the Great American Grill, or unwind in the evenings at the Pavilion Lounge and enjoy a beer or signature cocktail. The spacious guest rooms feature modern amenities including free WiFi, HD TVs with premium cable, and the signature Garden Sleep System bed that is adjustable to fit your comfort. This Lake Forest, IL hotel also offers easy access to O’Hare International Airport and the businesses in Lincolnshire, Vernon Hills, and Libertyville to make it perfect for corporate travel. Leisure travelers will also appreciate the quick commute to Six Flags and the Great Lakes Naval Base. Select the Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, and enjoy premium service and a great location for your next Chicago-land trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa Hotel Lake Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing