We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Special - Nice Atmosphere”
Review of Grille 43

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grille 43
Reserve with OpenTable
Grille 43 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 34 Restaurants in Lake Bluff
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rockland Rd.
Chicago, IL Suburbs
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Special - Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I eat at here occasionally. We like the ambiance and small size of the dining room. They have a nice selection of wines and the service has always been very good no matter what day of the week we have visited.

The parking lot is very small so on busy nights you must valet park, which is complimentary.

Some nights during the week the food is good but not great. But on a busy weekend night the food and speicals tend to be excellent. We ate there Friday night and I enjoyed the Halibut special which was served over black rice with brussel sprouts and tomatoes with a glaze. It was hot and awesome.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank becandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food is average.. wait is even worse”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This place is small... loud... and the steak was not well prepared. I had high expectations as I thought this steak house would beat the surrounding competition. However, I had a very mediocre experience here and it was pricey for what you get. I ordered the filet (generally my fav. type of steak).

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank KoreanNerdyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Place”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We eat lunch there (girls lunch) once a month and dinner every few weeks. The mango martinis are great and the calamari with the banana peppers an interesting treat of an appetizer. (sometimes I order this for lunch).
Love the wedge salad done with Romaine instead of Iceberg. It is a bit noisy, but so are many places these days so it doesn't really bother me. I've never been disappointed with any entree including a flatbread pizza for lunch. Soups are also good and love the home made desserts. I think the prices are good for the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bboomer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pretty good food”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Food is pretty good, in particular I like their salads. It is higher end than a chain restaurant and a bit more expensive but I find it worth spending a couple more buck for a better class of food and service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1Angus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Colorado
2 reviews
“Exceedingly average”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I had dinner here last ight and I was not impressed. The menu is uninspired, but one of the specials sounded pretty good, so I ordered it. It was a filet mignon on top of mashed potatoes with a foie gras ravioli in a red wine mushroom sauce. Every aspect of the dish disappointed. The filet (ordered medium rare) had no "crust" almost like it was cooked on a too cool grill, and was best described as spongy. The mashed potatoes provided texture, but very little flavor. The ravioli had way too high a dough to filling ratio, and the sauce had no depth, almost as if it had no stock in it. Served with this was the ubiquitous bad medly of steamed vegetables. I wanted to like this place, but will not return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoFoodie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grille 43 also viewed

Lake Bluff, Lake County
 
Lake Bluff, Lake County
Lake Bluff, Lake County
 
Lake Bluff, Lake County
Lake Bluff, Lake County
 

Been to Grille 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing