We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located theatre”
Review of La Grange Theatre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Grange Theatre
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in La Grange
Attraction details
Chicago
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Well located theatre”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This theatre is located in a bustling area for restaurants. So if they are showing something you want to see and you want to dine out too this is a great area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Willco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    34
    9
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarendon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Old fashioned movie theatre with charm and easier on your pocket!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The LaGrange theatre has so much history and it's in a charming location with lots of restaurants and shops. The renovation was done recently and while the movies are not those most currently released, they are newer ones and the ticket price can't be beat vs regular movie prices!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kskbtvkcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Value for a Good Time”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

If you don't have to see a movie the day it comes out, this is the place to come. Good selections and grat values. Ticket prices for adults is only $5.50 and consession prices are also in line.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TomnDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value for movie and popcorn!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in Chicago but our hotel pool was broken so we were looking for cheap entertainment. It was a little past the matinee time, but that didn't matter. Our tickets were only 5.50 and it was a 7:00 movie. I was impressed by the value of the movie. We had already eaten a late lunch, so we didn't buy popcorn, but it was a great value too and very reasonable!

Our local theater is outrageously expensive for tickets and food, so I was surprised to find something so close to the city at such a great value.

The theater itself had a lot of charm and character to it. It was older, so some of the seats might have been taped off, but there were enough good seats- so we didn't mind.

The only negative thing I can think of is that some people were coming in still 10-15 minutes into the movie at which point there were few seats and we had to get up to let people sit in our row- and people behind us were not happy about that either.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KJAH86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“See something on a weeknight or afternoon.”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I remember when this place was like 2 bucks, now it is 4.50 or so, but still a good place to see that movie that came our 2-4 weeks ago. Kids can kind of run around or be silly if it is a popular movie and you are there on a non school night. But if you can get there early or on a weeknight, it usually isn't that bad. Nice smaller rooms, and I go here at least once a month to save $$ on those big hollywood releases.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrianArtforAnimals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grange Theatre also viewed

 

Been to La Grange Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing