We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!”
Review of fourteensixteen

fourteensixteen
Reserve with OpenTable
fourteensixteen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 70 Restaurants in La Grange
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

Meal was wonderful. We did the chefs choice with 4 courses with the wine pairing. Everything was delicious. The wines were excellent. The staff was very professional and alert. Empty dishes did not stay long on the table. The restaurant was very busy but since we enjoyed the meal so much we asked to pay our compliments to the chef. He very graciously came out of the kitchen to speak with us.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 30 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2018 via mobile

We started with cheese curds with green goddess sauce - enjoyed by all. Variety of menu items that appear to change often. I had a superb grilled trout (sea) that was expertly boned and served in a light cream sauce with cherry tomatoes and aromatics. Worth the trip. Cream of chicken soup was delicious but over salty. Green salad was ordinary. The draft beer selections were mostly too hoppy for my taste - even the wheat beer was described as extra hoppy. Too bitter for mild fish. Others had burgers with fries and were pleased.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Lois_Ottobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2018 via mobile

This is the same $15 burger and fries you get another other night. It is outstanding! And 9n3nof their draft beers? How can you go wrong? Delicious. Cooked to perfection

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2018

The new 2018 Spring Menu is very creative with several salads and entrees featuring
ramps and foraged mushrooms. We enjoyed the live band which was not intrusive
to conversation. Large staff is very attentive but not annoying. We were full and took a dessert to go. We were disappointed that shaved truffles were not available, even though they are on the menu.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank samuel755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2018

We met another couple out for dinner and we were seated right away on a Friday night and we had two waitresses helping to serve us, maybe they were doing training, but both were very attentive and patient, since we caught up over drinks before we ordered anything. We then got the cheese curds, but a green herb sauce which was tremendous, and the scallops and lobster polenta. This was perfect for a Friday during lent. We also ordered the beet salad and gnocchi and trout, excellent presentation and delicious. We all split a salted candy bar for dessert and it was amazing. We stayed quite long and were the last ones to leave, the wait staff didn't try pushing us out the door, so they could leave. It was a great evening with good wine and food to expect in a high end restaurant in downtown Chicago without the long drive. We will definitely visit again. They have a roof top deck for dining but the North Wind was a little chilly this time of year. The only knock is it is a little on the pricey side.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DDPage33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed fourteensixteen also viewed

 

Been to fourteensixteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing