We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exquisite Sicilian boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Donna Carmela
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carruba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I was not at all expecting such good taste and professionalism. All this was, however, obvious from the word 'go'. Spacious rooms with elegant decor and much gusto immediately attracted and relaxed me. The genuinely friendly welcome of the staff made me feel I had been there already. Food was very good and the service was very friendly. We were also allowed to liven the pitch with our laughter which, I must say, was at times quite loud. In a typical Sicilian style we were introduced to a dozen liqours, wines and the like, by a young gentleman, who was justifiably proud of the Sicilan excellent products. The acres of surrounding land contain a veritable unique collection of thousands of trees. One could spend a day just touring these. We met Donna Carmela herself, a gentle lady who obviously considered the whole venture an exercies of love rather than a trampoline to make money. Great place. Worth a couple of days stay to tour around this exciting area or even just to relax in this exquisite Sicilan corner. Philip Farrugia Randon

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pfarrugiarandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnacarmela, Direttore generale at Boutique Hotel Donna Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2017
Google Translation

Desidero ringraziarLa per aver dedicato parte del Suo tempo per recensire il Resort Donna Carmela, consentendoci così di monitorare la qualità dei nostri servizi per avvicinarli sempre più alle aspettative dei nostri ospiti; la soddisfazione dei nostri clienti è un obiettivo primario che tutto lo Staff del Donna Carmela Resort puntano a raggiungere.
Ci auguriamo quanto prima di averla nuovamente come ospite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 276 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

Lovely, stylish hotel in the middle of a remote plantation. You will need to collapse by the pool or hire a car as there is nothing close by.
Breakfast and dinner interesting and making full use of locally grown produce. Staff very friendly.
Could improve bar facilities,pool and lunch service which was minimal. Also noticed a few children struggling with the adult menu.
A great place for a weekend break or to end a tour of Sicily

Room Tip: balconies are a treat and many rooms have these. Higher rooms at front have Etna views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

just our sort of place - elegant, personal and in a great location to give a sense of place> Mount Etna from the terrace - the sea in the other direction. Breakfasts good but dinner a little diasppointing... but overall a great find. Would go back and recommend ...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janekg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnacarmela, Direttore generale at Boutique Hotel Donna Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2017
Google Translation

Desidero ringraziarLa per aver dedicato parte del Suo tempo per recensire il Resort Donna Carmela, consentendoci così di monitorare la qualità dei nostri servizi per avvicinarli sempre più alle aspettative dei nostri ospiti; la soddisfazione dei nostri clienti è un obiettivo primario che tutto lo Staff del Donna Carmela Resort puntano a raggiungere.
Ci auguriamo quanto prima di averla nuovamente come ospite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Gorgeous hotel and the most amazing lush gardens. Great service and fabulous restaurant. It is a hidden gem tucked away in a neighbourhood. The location was good for day trips to Taormina, and Mt Etna.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amstch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnacarmela, Direttore generale at Boutique Hotel Donna Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2017
Google Translation

Desidero ringraziarLa per aver dedicato parte del Suo tempo per recensire il Resort Donna Carmela, consentendoci così di monitorare la qualità dei nostri servizi per avvicinarli sempre più alle aspettative dei nostri ospiti; la soddisfazione dei nostri clienti è un obiettivo primario che tutto lo Staff del Donna Carmela Resort puntano a raggiungere.
Ci auguriamo quanto prima di averla nuovamente come ospite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This hotel was the best that I've ever been to! The decor is very cool and the service was amazing. The location is ok, not too close to anything but is still worth it. Great pool and views! But most of the all the service was incredible. I have an allergy to gluten and they went shopping before I arrived and served me a silver tray full of foods that I could eat and take with me through the day. I was so impressed as no one has ever gone that far for me! I would return and stay here anytime. The pool bar service was also on point. 5 star!

Room Tip: All are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnacarmela, Direttore generale at Boutique Hotel Donna Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2017
Google Translation

Desidero ringraziarLa per aver dedicato parte del Suo tempo per recensire il Resort Donna Carmela, consentendoci così di monitorare la qualità dei nostri servizi per avvicinarli sempre più alle aspettative dei nostri ospiti; la soddisfazione dei nostri clienti è un obiettivo primario che tutto lo Staff del Donna Carmela Resort puntano a raggiungere.
Ci auguriamo quanto prima di averla nuovamente come ospite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We were extremely happy with our holiday in Donna Carmela. The staff is young, very friendly and helped us with all our problems and questions. The food in the restaurant is Sicilian and very good; no need to leave the hotel and visit a restaurant in Taormina, Catania or anywhere else. Large (junior) suites and a very nice swimming pool for a very nice and romantic holiday in Sicily.
We will go back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelgiumBernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnacarmela, Direttore generale at Boutique Hotel Donna Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2017
Google Translation

Desidero ringraziarLa per aver dedicato parte del Suo tempo per recensire il Resort Donna Carmela, consentendoci così di monitorare la qualità dei nostri servizi per avvicinarli sempre più alle aspettative dei nostri ospiti; la soddisfazione dei nostri clienti è un obiettivo primario che tutto lo Staff del Donna Carmela Resort puntano a raggiungere.
Ci auguriamo quanto prima di averla nuovamente come ospite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Gorgeous place, wonderful views, very good food indeed. Lovely and peaceful. Very international guests including Italians. Only down side was the menu didn't change the four days we were there and there isn't a lot of choice. Could get very boring. And the nearest restaurant isn't that close so really could with some attention. Excursion to Etna organised by the hotel was superb.Valeria the receptionist was super. We had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Ask for an Etna view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LotusEaterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnacarmela, Direttore generale at Boutique Hotel Donna Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2017
Google Translation

Desidero ringraziarLa per aver dedicato parte del Suo tempo per recensire il Resort Donna Carmela, consentendoci così di monitorare la qualità dei nostri servizi per avvicinarli sempre più alle aspettative dei nostri ospiti; la soddisfazione dei nostri clienti è un obiettivo primario che tutto lo Staff del Donna Carmela Resort puntano a raggiungere.
Ci auguriamo quanto prima di averla nuovamente come ospite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carruba
4.7 mi away
Etna Hotel
Etna Hotel
#1 of 2 in Giarre
354 reviews
9.4 mi away
Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA
10.8 mi away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Airone Wellness Hotel
Airone Wellness Hotel
#1 of 4 in Zafferana Etnea
934 reviews
3.9 mi away
Monaci delle Terre Nere
Monaci delle Terre Nere
#3 of 9 in Zafferana Etnea
405 reviews
119.9 mi away
Hotel Donna Carmela
Hotel Donna Carmela
#1 of 34 in Sciacca
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Donna Carmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Donna Carmela

Address: Contrada Grotte, 5, 9510 Carruba, Giarre, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Giarre > Carruba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carruba
Price Range: $49 - $1,711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Donna Carmela 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home in the parkPlaced in the heart of a nursery specialised in Mediterranean plants, Donnacarmela is ready to welcome you in a 19th century Sicilian house that has been refurbished in full respect of the original but given all the modern comforts. Elegantly refined, the building dominates the ten thousand square metre nursery garden. Here you may enjoy a guided tour to discover the hundreds of scents and varieties of Mediterranean plants. It is also possible to admire a private collection of subtropical plants. The courtyards in lavic paving, the ancient cistern and river pebbles, the well-stocked wine cellar and the swimming surrounded by secular olive trees, the comfortable spaces designed to relax and the quiet reading room, the wide halls and ample dining room: all this has been designed to make your stay exceptional. Ten hectares in the most prestigious wine area on mount Etna are where we produce the Doc wine for Donnacarmela. The vineyards were bought by Donnacarmela in 2006 and they are between Solicchiata and Passopisciaro on the northern side of the volcano in the territory of Castiglione di Sicilia. The vineyards all grow Nerello Mascalese, the vine that produces the most appreciated wines in this area. This is where the ‘Montedolce Etna Doc’ is born from the passion and commitment of the Faro family in an area that has wine for its vocation. The name of the wine comes from the place where we produce it. The wine-making is done in a well-equipped cellar in Mascali, the area of origin of the Nerello Mascalese, only a few kilometres away from Donnacarmela.Montedolce is characterised by its ruby-red colour, red berry scents with mineral notes, and by the complexity, persistence and elegant tannin it offers the palate.We do not only offer wine and taste, however. A little lower down the mountain side, between the Ionic coast and the first hills, it is possible to find the Mediterranean plants that have found the best environment to grow here. Thus, they develop into unrepeatable shapes and colours: the Abutilon, the Agave, the Ficus, the Cistus, the Opuntiae, the ornamental Citrus plants are all to be found in the gardens of Donnacarmela. They are the essence of Mediterranean gardens. Tese plants and flowers offer themselves to visitors in all their charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Blastness , Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Boutique Hotel Donna Carmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing