We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the same as it was in the beginning”
Review of The Station House

The Station House
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Kewanee
Cuisines: Armenian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We used to eat here when we were in the area, or especially on our birthdays because they used to offer a free 8 oz. Ribeye meal on your B-day, with drinks, and dessert extra. All you had
to do was show your Driver's License to prove it was your birthday. This was a wonderful meal
with all you could eat sweet bread. We also ate here on St. Patty's day for the corn beef and cabbage, this meal was lukewarm at best, and no one asked us if everything was o.k.
The last Birthday visit the Birthday meal was a short list of items with fries, no vegetables, no more sweet bread and a small cup of soup, or dinner salad. What a disappointment after being
spoiled with the free Ribeye ! On a brighter note, the service was fairly quick, and friendly, and the prices are pretty much in line for this area, however, we have not been back since our
unexpected, disappointing experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank radtech97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at The Station House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. We have always offered a Free Steak Dinner on your Birthday. It is has been and is still in print on our menu. As stated you must show your ID and another person must order off of the Dinner menu for you to receive your Free Steak Dinner. We have given 1000's of Birthday Steaks Dinners and found the most favorite steak was the Sirloin We found that most. People liked a steak without the marlbing and the charlbroiled taste of Sirloin is hard to beat! We did change to our House Sirloin as the Birthday Steak One Year Ago. You have a choice with the dinner of a salad or soup and endless rolls this too has never changed. I see you wrote your review in August, St Patricks Day was in March and I'm responding in November. I just hope you stop back the next time your in town or on your Birthday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 63 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

This friendly restaurant is just a block away from the Kewanee train station, so it's convenient for travelers. We ended our rail trip here to get a rental car, and walked to this restaurant. We had breakfast there late morning, and we had good service. Unfortunately, the food is typical Sysco foodstuffs: prepackaged and processed. It seems like the only spices in use are salt and pepper. I wish some of these family restaurants would source local foods more, use a range of spices, and stock even a tiny bit of organic. I'd gladly pay an extra buck or two for that.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank daddiowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at The Station House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to voice your opinions on our restaurant. I can tell that you have knowledge of the food industry by your usage of the word Sysco. I do disagree with your assessment of Sysco. I'm glad to know that you prefer organic and the next time your in town if you would like a chefs table in the kitchen I would be glad to charge you accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ate supper here because nearby Bishop Hill has no decent place to eat on a Saturday night. The place was pretty full but we were seated right away. We both ate the shrimp and ribs special. While both the soup and the main course were OK, the cream puff dessert was very tasty. Service was good and relatively friendly. While we were there, two trains passed by - an Amtrak passenger and a freight - but it was too chilly to sit outside to get a better view. In addition, the entire restaurant has a railway theme.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Public Relations Manager at The Station House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Sorry you had to drive from Bishop Hill to find a place to eat. Glad you liked our Cream Puffs. They are my Mother Florence receipt and we do make them by hand as needed during the mornings of each week. Our soups are Homemade. Most people love our Ribs; they fall off the bone. The BBQ sauce is Bills Mother Receipt. The Shrimp is Fire Grilled with Butter garlic sauce. Next time in Bishop Hill you might want to consider choosing the Filling Station or PT Dinning Room for a quick bite to eat during Lunch hours. I'm not sure about evening dinning. The bakery there also has some great goodies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We took a large group of family to the Station House. We were seated quickly and served quickly. The atmosphere is very family oriented and the food was above average. We found the place in a local phone book. They were right about good food served fast.

Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at The Station House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for your great review. Please bring your family again. It was a pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Nice railroad themed restaurant with good, not great food. A friendly wait staff coupled with reasonably fast service makes this place a fine lunch stop. If you are looking for fine dining this is not he place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Howie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at The Station House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank You for you review. We do try hard to please customers tastes. It was a pleasure to serve you. Please try us for Dinner if you liked us for lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Station House also viewed

 

Been to The Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing