We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, affordable; Food not so great.”
Review of The Station House

The Station House
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Kewanee
Cuisines: Armenian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This friendly restaurant is just a block away from the Kewanee train station, so it's convenient for travelers. We ended our rail trip here to get a rental car, and walked to this restaurant. We had breakfast there late morning, and we had good service. Unfortunately, the food is typical Sysco foodstuffs: prepackaged and processed. It seems like the only spices in use are salt and pepper. I wish some of these family restaurants would source local foods more, use a range of spices, and stock even a tiny bit of organic. I'd gladly pay an extra buck or two for that.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank daddiowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at The Station House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to voice your opinions on our restaurant. I can tell that you have knowledge of the food industry by your usage of the word Sysco. I do disagree with your assessment of Sysco. I'm glad to know that you prefer organic and the next time your in town if you would like a chefs table in the kitchen I would be glad to charge you accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 63 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ate supper here because nearby Bishop Hill has no decent place to eat on a Saturday night. The place was pretty full but we were seated right away. We both ate the shrimp and ribs special. While both the soup and the main course were OK, the cream puff dessert was very tasty. Service was good and relatively friendly. While we were there, two trains passed by - an Amtrak passenger and a freight - but it was too chilly to sit outside to get a better view. In addition, the entire restaurant has a railway theme.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Public Relations Manager at The Station House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Sorry you had to drive from Bishop Hill to find a place to eat. Glad you liked our Cream Puffs. They are my Mother Florence receipt and we do make them by hand as needed during the mornings of each week. Our soups are Homemade. Most people love our Ribs; they fall off the bone. The BBQ sauce is Bills Mother Receipt. The Shrimp is Fire Grilled with Butter garlic sauce. Next time in Bishop Hill you might want to consider choosing the Filling Station or PT Dinning Room for a quick bite to eat during Lunch hours. I'm not sure about evening dinning. The bakery there also has some great goodies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We took a large group of family to the Station House. We were seated quickly and served quickly. The atmosphere is very family oriented and the food was above average. We found the place in a local phone book. They were right about good food served fast.

Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at The Station House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for your great review. Please bring your family again. It was a pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Nice railroad themed restaurant with good, not great food. A friendly wait staff coupled with reasonably fast service makes this place a fine lunch stop. If you are looking for fine dining this is not he place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Howie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at The Station House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank You for you review. We do try hard to please customers tastes. It was a pleasure to serve you. Please try us for Dinner if you liked us for lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The railroad theme is fitting as the restaurant is situated alongside railroad tracks. You can watch trains go by outside as well as watch trains travel through scenic locations on the television monitors in the restaurant. The menu offers a variety of salads, sandwiches, burgers and entrees. I had a grilled chicken breast that was moist and delicious, served with soup (you can also choose salad) potatoes, vegetable and roll, for a very reasonable price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary1675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at The Station House, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for sharing your visit with us! We are glad you enjoyed your food and our atmosphere. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Station House also viewed

 

Been to The Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing