We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my gramps fav dive”
Review of BLUE'S CAFE

BLUE'S CAFE
Ranked #2 of 64 Restaurants in Kankakee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: AT LEAST 11 DIFFERENT HOME MADE PIES AVAILABLE DAILY - APPLE, PEACH, CHERRY, BUTTERSCOTCH, HAWAIIAN, LEMON MERINGUE, CHOCOLATE, PECAN, COCONUT, BANANA, ETC.
JACKSONVILLE
2 reviews
“my gramps fav dive”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

denise was a great host! food was great and of course i had pie!! was hoping too run into my old buddy guy maybe next time back to fishing at birds park hope to see more of my old friends around

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank OLEDOG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    29
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pie!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Ate here for the first time last Thursday. The food was good, but I absolutely loved the banana pie! They make it almost as good as my grandma did before she passed. I will for sure stop by again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hlynns89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kankakee, Illinois
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Small Restaurant”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good food and good prices. IT's a quaint old fashioned dinner from back in the day. Staff is friendly and welcoming.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aegeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourbonnais, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home Made Goodness”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This diner is an icon in the area. You can get a complete lunch or dinner (including dessert) for under $7. The food is good, tasty and the pie and shakes are to die for!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank wennmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
274 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Classic diner ambiance. Delicious lunch. Save room for pie!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We were in town touring the Frank Lloyd Wright Bradley House and stopped in Blue's Cafe for lunch based on the reviews. We both ordered patty melts. Chili was hearty and delicious. Salad bar had lots of options: pasta, goulash, Mac salad, coleslaw, bread pudding. But the pie! Oh, the pie! I had a slice of butterscotch. Real whipped cream topping. Buttery, flaky, melt-in-your-mouth crust. Husband enjoyed the apple crisp with a scoop of ice cream. Also very good. Reasonably priced and family-run.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaChatNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BLUE'S CAFE also viewed

 

Been to BLUE'S CAFE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing