We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing New Year”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of cottage with lower patio and rockface
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage with lower patio and rockface
View from garden patio Lounge / diner with cast iron stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Front of cottage with lower patio and rockface
View from garden patio
Lounge / diner with cast iron stove
The wood-burning stove
Tranquil Loughrigg Tarn – A 5 minute walk from Tarn House.
Kitchen
1st floor double bedroom
1st floor twin / double bedroom
1st floor bathroom, cast iron bath, power shower
2nd floor double bedroom
2nd floor double bedroom
2nd floor bathroom, cast iron bath, power shower
Snug / games room
The Tarn House garden – a haven for birds and wildlife.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Skelwith Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SarahWrig...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing New Year”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

this property is fantastic, spacious yet cosy, we saw the new Year in with our family and friends. It is a great location with great walks from the property and the famous Chesters cake shop a walk away!! Thoroughly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradkat21
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Stay”
Reviewed December 16, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Tarnhouse this weekend and couldn’t go without writing a review. ‘Spectacular’ is how I can sum it up in one word. The moment you step through the front door you felt at home. Flowers and biscuits on arrival as well as little extras like milk and tea bags and logs for the large fire in the living room to get you going. Well equipped for all ages from books, toys, highchairs to dvd’s and board games. Everything thought of. Bedrooms were all large plenty of space in each even after accommodating a chest of drawers and a wardrobe. Bathrooms on both floors are large and lovely to have a soak in the deep baths. The cottage throughout was beautifully furnished and not a utensil not thought of in the kitchen. We were a family of 9 ranging from 62 years old to down to 2 years old and not one of us got bored in this gorgeous place. Everything was in a stone throw away also a small walk to the local pub for some delightful local pub grub and Ambleside itself only a 5 minute car journey. We were celebrating my parents 40th Wedding Anniversary and couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay. We will certainly be back in the summer months to enjoy the garden and views. We had snow!! Thank you so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feeling of the whole cottage
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipper G
2 reviews
“The perfect place to celebrate a special occasion”
Reviewed November 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Tarn House with two of our daughters and their families. What a fantastic house, from the minute we opened the door it was welcoming and felt homely, quite a feat in such a large house.
There was everything you could wish for from the very thoughtful extras of milk, biscuits, tea and coffee the beautiful vase of roses and logs for the stove. The kitchen is particularly well equipped and the bedrooms are a delight, the bathrooms are large and the baths deep just perfect for a soak after a day's walking.
The views from the garden are stunning and there are lots of walks to do from the door. Add to that the wealth of information, maps, books etc., left by the owners as well as games and dvds' and you have what for us, was the perfect house to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary with the family Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maximum36...
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Home From Home (Only Better!)”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A beautifully furnished, big, family house where everything has been thought about to make you feel at home. From the flowers and biscuits on arrival, to the kitchen that has everything you could possibly want and more, to the toy box under the stairs to the wonderful collection of books for children and adults. There's even a little snug for someone to escape to and watch DVD's or play games away from the main sitting room - and there's a good selection of both. With it's lovely comfortable rooms you could stay there all day - but why would you? The garden has stunning views and there are lots of great nearby walks for small people to enjoy. We also had a fun time at Brockhole and Wray Castle. We'll be back next year. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Thoughtful touches and amazing location
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n0la23
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wonderful cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a great say at this cottage, the kitchen is very well equipped and the bedrooms are all lovely. We especially liked the large living/dining area where everyone could gather, relax and have our meals. The cottage is located about a mile or two outside of Ambleside and we really liked how beautiful walks were just on our doorstep, no need to drive. Would definitely come again!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2014
Thanks for the review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Tarn House :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F
Jeju Island, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great Cottage - family of 8”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our party of 8 stayed here in July and very much enjoyed ourselves.

The property is spacious and well equipped and well located to get to some great sites in the Lake District.

The views from the "garden on the Hill" were stunning.

Booking was very easy and efficient - the owners being very responsive to our emails.

Key collection was as planned.

Sleep quality was not great - no-one really claimed to have 'slept well' all week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paula m
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“great for 2 families!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Loved Tarn House. The large living cum dining room and excellent facilities provided in the kitchen, made our holiday perfect for 2 families of 8 people. And having 2 bathrooms both with baths and separate electric showers was great too. Large TVs and good functioning Wifi was useful. The outside front patio tables and chairs had plenty of morning to lunch time sun, and the upper garden had a long evening of sunshine where we had a barbecue one evening. We were blessed with the best weeks weather especially for the Lake District, which was not expected by us! Finally, Tarn House is perfectly located to all main locations of the Lake District. Thanks, would love to go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing