We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage in beautiful location”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of cottage with lower patio and rockface
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage with lower patio and rockface
View from garden patio Lounge / diner with cast iron stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Front of cottage with lower patio and rockface
View from garden patio
Lounge / diner with cast iron stove
The wood-burning stove
Tranquil Loughrigg Tarn – A 5 minute walk from Tarn House.
Kitchen
1st floor double bedroom
1st floor twin / double bedroom
1st floor bathroom, cast iron bath, power shower
2nd floor double bedroom
2nd floor double bedroom
2nd floor bathroom, cast iron bath, power shower
Snug / games room
The Tarn House garden – a haven for birds and wildlife.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Skelwith Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
n0la23
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wonderful cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a great say at this cottage, the kitchen is very well equipped and the bedrooms are all lovely. We especially liked the large living/dining area where everyone could gather, relax and have our meals. The cottage is located about a mile or two outside of Ambleside and we really liked how beautiful walks were just on our doorstep, no need to drive. Would definitely come again!

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2014
Thanks for the review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Tarn House :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulF744
Jeju Island, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great Cottage - family of 8”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our party of 8 stayed here in July and very much enjoyed ourselves.

The property is spacious and well equipped and well located to get to some great sites in the Lake District.

The views from the "garden on the Hill" were stunning.

Booking was very easy and efficient - the owners being very responsive to our emails.

Key collection was as planned.

Sleep quality was not great - no-one really claimed to have 'slept well' all week.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paula m
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“great for 2 families!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Loved Tarn House. The large living cum dining room and excellent facilities provided in the kitchen, made our holiday perfect for 2 families of 8 people. And having 2 bathrooms both with baths and separate electric showers was great too. Large TVs and good functioning Wifi was useful. The outside front patio tables and chairs had plenty of morning to lunch time sun, and the upper garden had a long evening of sunshine where we had a barbecue one evening. We were blessed with the best weeks weather especially for the Lake District, which was not expected by us! Finally, Tarn House is perfectly located to all main locations of the Lake District. Thanks, would love to go there again.

Date of stay: July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thahera20...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Girls weekend gettaway!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Came here for a weekend getaway with the girls, the house was beautifully kept, very cosy, and had really nice touches all around the house, loved the rustic furniture. The fire was well stocked with fire wood for us and we even found milk in the fridge ready and waiting!

The beds were really comfortable and I especially enjoyed having a bath in the deep tubs!

It would be good if there were some more signs on the way to the house as it turned out to be rather difficult to find :)

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: bed and baths
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youngfami...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

A wonderful house in a fantastic location. All the "home from home" touches you would expect plus more. We found everything as described and the pre arrival instructions were detailed and useful. Would love to stay longer next time!

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Difficult to find fault
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilCr0
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Stunning comfortable house.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

A really lovely house well presented and very well equipped. 6 adults made up our group and we were all comfortable and pleased by the house. I would definitely recommend staying at Tarn House.

Date of stay: October 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley19...
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great space for family and good base for exploring the Lake District.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We loved our stay at Tarn House and would recommend it. It is 2 miles out of Ambleside with lots of walks and local pubs to enjoy.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and very homely.
Liked least: Central heating required owners help due to thermostat damaged but soon rectified.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing