We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough with the Smooth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brimstone at Langdale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Langdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brimstone at Langdale
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Rough with the Smooth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

After a day walking in beautiful Langdale, what better reward can there be but to walk through the doors of Brimstone, leave wet gear in the "Boot Room" and enter a sumptuous suite complete with roaring log fire. This is by far the best Hotel we have ever stayed in the UK. yes it doesn't come cheap, but the place oozes quality and the staff are attentive and very helpful. The room/suite is everything that Brimstones website shows, and the addition of the "Reading Room" is a refreshing change to the norm of other hotels, allowing us a place to relax, read, take a drink,(complimentary) and if you're feeling peckish plenty of cakes and pastries through the day and a great selection of cheese and crackers for supper. A true 5* experience, you will want to return.

Room Tip: Choose from the websites excellent gallery photos and be reassured that the rooms/suite are as pictu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    53
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
21
703
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

This fantastic hotel combines luxury with some fantastic, original ideas that I have never found elsewhere! The host met us and brought us to our room, explaining the automatic light settings(I loved tinkle!), curtains, complimentary food and drink in the reading room (including wine and beer) and that we were welcome to bring it back to the room. So nice to be able to relax and not feel like you have to break some rules to have a good time. We settled down to a competitive board game or two accompanied by refreshments from said room. Early evening was spent in the on site gym and jacuzzi/pool and the only complaint here was the oppressive heat! The gym and changing rooms left me feeling drained and with a sheen of sweat even after a shower-not a good look! We returned to the room, showered again and then headed out for a meal at the Terrace. The risotto was a fantastic choice, and my partner was happy with his pizza. We turned back to the room, tempted by the thought of more competition and the fact we could take a bottle of wine and some glasses with us and chill out. All without additional charge!
The next day, after deciding to opt for buffet breakfast at Purdey's which was plentiful and relaxed, we went out for a walk in the Lakes and for this the Berghaus boot room was a really great touch. I used walking boots, gloves and a jacket, my partner some waterproof trousers and a jacket. The weather was wet and windy but it was still beautiful and thoroughly enjoyable -especially the well-earned stop at nearby Chester's for cake and coffee :)
The room was just too tempting to leave and after a long day walking the delightfully deep bath was just what we needed. We could watch the sun go down from the bath through our netted curtains, and then decided to have a short walk uphill to the Wainwright's Inn to check out the route, since our attempt the previous evening had failed due to the lack of lighting or torch! Once we arrived the inn was already bustling, and our tummies were rumbling, so we decided to eat there and then. It was fabulous food and reasonably priced. We had been away from the room for too long, though, and returned to listen to some music (adapters for older iPods were available on request) and for the decider of the Trivial Pursuit marathon ;)
On our final morning we decided to order breakfast in the room, and this was preceded by a courtesy call to let us know it was about to be delivered. Porridge and maple syrup, bacon sandwich, fresh fruit salad, toast and coffee kick started our morning before a final walk after check out at 10.30. I have very few things that I can fault about this hotel -did I mention the fabulous GHD hair dryer and straighteners!!??- and we are already planning our return. Well done to everyone involved in the team!

Room Tip: I suspect they are all fabulous!! Some are mezzanine and ours was not top of the range, but gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cleoc4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was our second stay at Brimstone. As we knew what to expect we were very excited to be staying here again! But this time, it was even better then the last (5 months ago) we didn't think that was possible!
Our host met us at the car in the covered car park (just for Brimstone guests, as parking on the Langdale estate can be a bit tight). There isn't a reception, some might find this a bit weird, but it takes the faff out of standing around and there isn't a check in process. We went straight to our room and luggage followed shortly afterwards.
A couple of days before our arrival we were called by the hotel, all we asked was for the fire to be lit in our room for our arrival. The fire was roaring which was very welcome after a wet and windy journey. My husband had mentioned that it was my birthday and also in our room was a chilled bottle of Prosecco & a birthday card!
The room was stunning, and without fault. The building and interiors are stunning.
The mirror behind the roll top bath tub turning into a smart TV was great fun, I could go on and on about the special features, GHD hair styling appliances to Elemis sleep spray for your pillow.
We had breakfast in Purdy's which was very nice, although you can order breakfast to the room, included in the price (there is more choice in Purdy's)
The rooms are quiet and apart from bumping into the occasional person, you would think you had the place to ourselves, even though the car park was busy.
We enjoyed the facilities of the Reading room including wine, beer, ale, juice, tea and coffee also cakes, scones and cheese and biscuits for the evening!
Our only suggestions would be, flannels in the bathroom like the other rooms at Langdale and for the balcony to be swept of the debris for our arrival (although we didn't use it because of the awful weather). The floor around the pool on the same site was a little dirty, I had to rinse my feet off as they had all sorts stuck to the bottom! The sauna had a pile of dirty towels but the basket for clean towels remained empty, bit disappointing as we had the same problem last time, and the seats were wet in the sauna from other people's sweat.
However we will be heading back to Brimstone as soon as possible! Check our previous review of Brimstone for further opinions!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlasalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Wonderful weekend spent here for my boyfriends 30th.
Brilliant room, wonderful hosts and fantastic through and through.
Rm B04, plush room, everything and more.
Breakfast in room, great choice.
Reading room + complimentary food and drinks, such a nice touch.
Hosts, can't praise enough!
One of highlights, playing with the light settings :-) (sexy, tinkle, lazy, perky, blackout)
I am not really wanting to write too much more, as you should all just experience this for yourselves, just once!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pink_wierdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed the night in one of the amazing mezzanine rooms. What an amazing experience. We found all staff members to be very friendly and sitting chilling in the reading room with a nice cold glass of wine certainly added to the experience. The facilities and surroundings were first class. Special thanks to Gavin the manger who made us feel very welcome. Would definitely recommend staying here and hope to return again soon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SheonaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stopped at this hotel which was a treat for my wifes 40th birthday. We stopped in the fireside suite which was fantastic. All the rooms in Brimstone look special. There is a reading room which has complimentary drinks and nibbles for its guests. Our room had a roll top bath behind the bed and a separate wet room. The fire by the bed makes it extra cosy especially on a winters night. There is also mood lighting with different pre programmed settings. The spa which is part of the main hotel (not in the Brimstone hotel) it is nice with a twenty metre pool, jacuzzi a sauna and steam room. It is situated opposite the Brimstone accomodation. We went to the nearby Wainwright pub for food which was excellant, it is about five minutes along the road. There is no path but you can get a torch from the hotel. Breakfast can be delivered to your room as part of the service. There is also a boot room where you can borrow waterproof jackets, trousers and boots should you wish to go walking. The staff are really friendly and happy to help, overall this is a great stay for that special treat

Room Tip: They are all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chazhoolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed two wonderful nights here.
Our room was a two tiered large, mezzanine room with roaring fire, a hidden bath downstairs, downstairs loo, upstairs ensuite with wet room-style shower, large raised superking bed and a large balcony on the lower floor (on which we enjoyed breakfast).
Breakfast was delicious and substantial and was delivered to our room at our set time that we had picked the night before - I can highly recommend the eggs florentine and the full English.
We ate in Purdey's Restaurant on the first night which was delicious and on the second night we had mussels, chips and a bottle of champers delivered to our room which we enjoyed in front of the roaring fire - so we had the best of both.
We made use of the free drinks, and snacks in the Reading Room and also used some of the walking equipment to enjoy a nice waterfall walk from the Boot Room.
While the service wasn't perfect it was good overall and we would return again. We felt very relaxed by the time we had left.
We were disappointed with the spa in the main hotel as it could do with some TLC as it's not at quite the same standard at the Brimstone Hotel but that said we did go for a swim there.
But Brimstone Hotel itself is luxurious and I'd definitely recommend for a luxurious treat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Langdale
0.1 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
8.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
18.6 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
11.4 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brimstone at Langdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brimstone at Langdale

Property: Brimstone at Langdale
Address: The Langdale Estate | Ambleside, Great Langdale LA22 9JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Great Langdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Langdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brimstone is the first development of its kind in the Lake District offering boutique luxury hotel suites and rooms. The contemporary and innovative design blends seamlessly with the stunning Lakeland landscape and extensive spa and restaurant facilities on the Langdale Estate. The Brimstone experience includes outdoor equipment from Berghaus and a reading room with complimentary refreshments, beer, wind and snacks all day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing