We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Langdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brimstone at Langdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a lovely stay in a mezzanine suite here. The room was so comfortable and clean and we loved the privacy.

Breakfast was average I'm afraid to say, and we couldn't always park in the car park - it rained loads whilst we stayed.

This is a lovely base in the Lakes. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

971 - 977 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

Brimstone is a stunning new boutique hotel within the grounds of the fantastic Langdale estate. We stayed in one of the mezzanine suites, which had a wood-burner in the lounge, a separate double bath downstairs, a large en-suite upstairs and an enormous super-king-sized bed. The large balcony was a bonus. Breakfast is delivered to the room at no extra charge and is superbly cooked and presented. If you prefer, you can take breakfast in the 2 AA rosette Purdey's restaurant, which also serves great food in the evenings. In the reading lounge of Brimstone, complimentary drinks and and snacks are available all day. This includes wine, local beers, lager, coffee and tea. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly, highly efficient staff. In the public area. there is an excellent spa with swimming pool and another restaurant, called the Terrace, which overlooks the pool and serves top-quality Mediterranean-style food. This restaurant also has a delightful large conservatory attached. In addition there is a cosy bar( alongside a small pool with a wooden waterwheel) called Hobson's, which has a log fire and serves lighter meals but you can just go in for a drink if you wish. There is no need to book a table here and service was quick and friendly. We enjoyed fish and chips here and the fish was the freshest we have had. As if this wasn't enough, the hotel also runs a fabulous traditional pub, outside the grounds in the village of Chapel Stile.This is a short walk from the hotel and serves excellent local beers and ever-changing guest beers in addition to top-quality food. Add to this the stunning scenery with some of the best walking anywhere and you begin to see why the holiday press are hailing Brimstone as the top hotel destination in Europe. We have already booked to return in the Spring!

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb but vary in size........check them out on the website. We have now stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leoNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband treated me to a 2 night stay at the Brimstone to celebrate my bitrthday and I was wowed!
Our room was luxurious, relaxed and extremely comfortable: the log fire, private terrace and huge double baths made this so and the delicious breakfast in bed and complimentary wine and snacks made me not want to step outside. Staff were attentive but not in your face, very friendly and helpful.
The facilities on the estate gave us plenty of choice for eating out: we ate in perdys, the terrace restaurant and indeed the homely pub which is a short walk up the road... all lovely.
The spa facilties were also great and I took advantage of the reasonably priced treatments available.
This was a much welcomed, peaceful break in beautiful surroundings.
If you don't mind forking out for a way above average, extremely relaxing stay this is definitely worth a try. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lozzamac11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great surroundings in the middle of the most beautiful area in the world. The design of the rooms is absolutely incredible. On site spa also good. The restraunt in the adjacent hotel was okay but after the rooms it seemed quite ordinary.

Room Tip: All different but all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billster_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Where do you stop to praise this place ? First the staff are the back bone, without them working so hard brimstone you wouldn't get these excellent reviews. . The room we had was amazing 'not revealing which one as I've booked a couple more times .if brimstone keep to every thing they do now almost every body will return , one last thing you're breakfast in the room ho my god l love this place. .

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank furrow69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Such an amazing hotel in a glorious location. The room, food, staff, everything exceeded our expectations. Our host, Jenny, went our of her way to make sure our trip was perfect. Complete luxury! We'll be back.

Room Tip: The Duet Suite is perfect if you're planning a romantic getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HannahRoberts84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed in the Spa Suite for 4 nights during half term. The interior is luxurious and modern in design. We were unsure of which room to take but thought we may as well go for the best and were not disappointed. The suite had a hall way which served little purpose, the bedroom and seating area were both large enough and comfortable. The real winner was the bathroom which was huge and the jacuzzi bath itself enormous. The jacuzzi jets had no power, we had two smaller baths at home which could create considerably more water turbulence. The size, however, meant we coud both comforatbly use it and with the bathroom folding door wide open listen to the brids or rain depending on which hour of the day. The shower room was ample in size with two rain showers and body jets so of course we had to shower together.
The balcony was large but the weather meant limited use although we were able to take breakfast on it.
There are a couple of moans about the staff but since they are the minority you can be sure they have to be from professional complainers who are probably unable to enjoy anything in life. The staff were fantastic. If there was anything we needed we knocked on their door or telephoned and someone appeared instantly with what we wanted. They were very helpful and friendly at all times. Well done to the staff for not letting passers by in for a nose thus protecting the privacy of the paying Brimstone guests - shame on that 1* reviewer.

The food/nibbles - we were happy with the food offering, the timing of the sandwiches was a bit hit and miss but if you can afford these rooms you can afford to eat out and not rely on freebies. I saw one guest take a large stack of sandwiches back to their room which contributed to them running out quickly, some people are just like that. If any drinks had run out we asked and they were replenished instantly. We didnt go to the hotel for breakfast but had it in the room, too much food if anything and the hot options were always delivered hot. we did eat in Wainwrights in the evening which we have done before and as ever the food is excellent. One night in Purdy's was good too.

We used the spa 3 times, not as tired as people suggest - get the timeing right though, if during school holidays you could have to queue to get in (only once), the rest of the time it was quiet.

Other guests were a 50/50 combination of people who are friendly or those who find themselves unable to respond if you say hello to them - probably the sort who are foot tapping and clock watching if they asked the staff for anything. Ignore anything less than 5* reviews - they are not justified. Overall a good stay - so quiet at night and such a comfortable bed.

We will return and probably take the spa suite again as I cant imagine how anything else compares.

Our thanks to Brimstone

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonny5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Langdale
0 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,435 reviews
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,962 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brimstone at Langdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brimstone at Langdale

Address: The Langdale Estate | Ambleside, Great Langdale LA22 9JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Great Langdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Langdale
Price Range: $301 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brimstone is the first development of its kind in the Lake District offering boutique luxury hotel suites and rooms. The contemporary and innovative design blends seamlessly with the stunning Lakeland landscape and extensive spa and restaurant facilities on the Langdale Estate. The Brimstone experience includes outdoor equipment from Berghaus and a reading room with complimentary refreshments, beer, wind and snacks all day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing