We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brimstone at Langdale
Nearby Hotels
Great Langdale Bunkhouse(Great Langdale)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$150
$134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
$139
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$108
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,147)
Filter reviews
1,148 results
Traveler rating
1,024
87
22
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,024
87
22
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreading roomspa suiteduet suiteboot roommezzanine roomcomplimentary drinks and snacksfireside suitelight settingscheese and biscuitslog firelarge balconywainwrights pubbreakfast in bedlake districtamazing roommood lightingpure luxury
Filter
Updating list...
1,138 - 1,143 of 1,148 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

From the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of the smartly uniformed hosts to the moment you leave you WILL feel very special indeed. The rooms are simply amazing and amongst the very best I have ever encountered, and I have stayed in some top London hotels and luxury hotels in the caribbean, Japan and Europe.

Light switches with 5 or 6 options to control the 'mood' lighting, settings such as 'sexy', 'lazy', 'flattering' and my favourite 'Tinkle' (so that you can find your way to the toilet in the night to tinkle without waking your partner).

Villeroy and Boch sanitary ware, waterfall taps and big chrome shower heads compliment the stylish decor perfectly. Large screen 'smart' TV that you can connect your smartphone or tablet to in order to stream your own media content should you wish. The electrically controlled curtains that open up to reveal the folding doors that open up full width to the balcony. Sheer theatre!

Beautifully comfy king beds and large fluffy pillows and duvet, fluffy bath robes and slippers contribute to the feeling of being cosseted.

Then you notice the attention to detail - ingredients in the mini bar so that you can mix cocktails using the cocktails shaker and utensils provided. GHD hair dryer and straighteners (wife's favourite), filter coffee and cafetiere in the room, snacks and drinks in the reading room, and the wonderful breakfasts delivered in the morning to your room.

Then there's the staff! All bar none were courteous,, professional, attentive and you really do get the feel that if they can do it, they will.....nothing too much trouble.

With wonderful spa facilities and very good restaurants on site, a pub 200 yards away that's part of the estate, serving fine real ales and good food also, you have everything you need for a wonderful and relaxing stay.

I'm already planning another visit!

Room Tip: I have just described a stay in one of their 'Ultimate' rooms. I believe the others are even better!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I like to think I am well travelled, I travel globally with work and am lucky enough to stay (on a client's expense) in some amazing hotels. I have to say Brimstone at Langdale is up there with the best of them. Personal, non intrusive service, fantastic rooms, all state of the art and beautifully decorated. Touches you don't often see in this price range, the lighting, the quality of the linen, the remote control curtains! We stayed there for one night on the recommendation of a friend and we WILL be returning. In 24 hours the tranquillity, the quality, the service and the over all experience made my partner and I feel like we had been away a week!

The detail from the in room breakfast (which was enough for four not two!) with freshly squeezed orange juice, a bag of warm bread, through to eggs benedict (done perfectly). The toiletries, the robes, the fresh coffee not to mention the reading room with complimentary wine, soft drinks, beer and home made scones!

We will return and I would strongly recommend this hotel for a few days away from it all! It really is incredible value for money and an all round memorable experience..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SONIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

From our first arrival, the (staff) Hosts were incredible. Nothing at all was too much trouble for them and their enthusiasm for Brimstone was so infectious.They were grinning, we were grinning, and they were grinning at our grinning!
The Reading Room was a joy to be in - so informal, so low-key and yet so filled with a real touch of class.
And then to our room itself - absolutely incredible! The finest room I've ever stayed in - bar none!
Luxurious, comfortable, relaxing and invigorating - and much much more. WOW!
Brimstone really does need to be experienced. You owe it to yourselves!

Room Tip: Had a good look around - and every room looked great!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikeyb622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A fabulous setting and the rooms are even more impressive. Really nicely designed it will make a fabulous winter hide away with a log fire between the lounge and bathroom suite. Huge french doors also allows you to let the outside in when the weather is warm. Really loved it and well worth a re-visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was fab
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RandGCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We parked under the hotel and from then on the place felt exclusive! We were greeted by a host downstairs in the waiting area with beautiful log fire as there is no reception, and she took us up the stairs past the lounge with complimentary bar and snacks to our room. We were positively surprised at just how unusual and stunning the room was. Our huge bed was at a jaunty angle which made it a real feature, but it had to compete against the huge chrome roll top bath, the 2 huge flat screen TVs, the real log fire, the comfy corner sofa and the wrap-round balcony. We took a complimentary glass of wine back to the room and enjoyed it whilst relaxing on the sofas!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank danihope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews