We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Djerba gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Bibine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Bibine
Ranked #1 of 2 Erriadh B&B and Inns
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Djerba gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Dar Bibine is a little oasis in Djerba, about as opposite from the island's hotels that cater to mass tourism as you can get. Traditionally renovated and run by a couple that are extremely hospitable, it is a peaceful place to get away with cool, beautiful bedrooms, a whitewashed aesthetic and small blue swimming pool to lie next to during the day, or beside with lamps under the stars at night. The location, at the island's center - has the feel of real, country life to it - again, away from the mass tourism scene. I'd recommend you rent a moped to just drive by the ocean, fishing ports (as the fishermen come in early morning) and along the small roads through fields and villages inland.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebeccalmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
76
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

It's hard to find anything to add to the glowing reports of those who stayed at this charming hideaway in Erriadh before us but we would have no compunctions about endorsing everything they say. Our short sojourn, intended as a 60th birthday present for a close friend, proved to be even more of a special treat than we could possibly have imagined. To add to the pleasure of the entrancing atmosphere, superbly tasteful interior décor and fabulous meals, we had the good fortune to have a great Belgian couple, Sophie and Philippe, as our co-guests. Together with owners Isabelle and Gérard, and, last but not least, Nicole and Paul (see later), they were the first Belgians we had ever met (or at least got to know more closely). That opportunity and the highly enjoyable hours we spent on the following day with Sophie, Philippe and Paul at the home of Isabelle's equally entertaining and energetic mother, Nicole, made for a very memorable stay. Through Nicole and Paul, we gained even more insights into life in this rural village, which is basically off the tourist track and normally visited solely by tourists wishing to see the famous El Ghriba synagogue. A walk through the narrow, winding lanes of the village of Erriadh, originally inhabited by Jews, is quite fascinating, as are the views from Dar Bibine's roof over the surrounding sea of roofs. One has the feeling one could take a stroll through Erriadh via its roofs, without ever having to descend to the ground.
We can certainly recommend Dar Bibine to all those interested in learning more about Djerba, its history and people, while spending a delightful holiday with two very interesting, enterprising and charming hosts in a beautiful ambience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toppy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

We spent three wonderful nights at Dar Bibine in early January 2011. The house is beautifully structured and decorated, modern and trendy, yet simple and cozy with a traditional touch. Isabelle and Gérard provided a very warm welcome on arrival, which was followed by three days of continuously great service, and very loving attention to detail, especially in the very delicious breakfasts and dinners we enjoyed. We sincerely highly recommend anyone to stay at Dar Bibine!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anja_and_Carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

If you are into design then you will love this place. Situated in an original old-style Tunisian house in an unspoilt village, this place has been given a loving and very modern make-over to a very high quality. There is great attention to detail and interesting touches all over the place (e.g. nice taps in the bathroom), including serving great breakfasts in different shaped plates/ glasses/ test tubes etc. OK, so it's not cheap, but it feels very private and exclusive and it's a great place to relax (unless you have small children I would imagine, as there are several things for them to fall off/ into). The owners are very friendly and have beers/ wines available if you ask. There's not much in the village and it's inland, but there's a lovely (small) pool in the courtyard and cabs are cheap and plentiful. If you want to go to the beach, we found that the 'La Plage' restaurant in the zone touristique was quite a nice spot.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmy73London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

This Dar was proposed to us by the local touroperator Agence Alyssa in Djerba. Having stayed at Dar Sabri in Nabeul we were ready to try another dar.
Dar Bibine is situated about 15min. from the airport and 10 min. by car from Houmt Souk in a quiet little village where everybody still says hello without wanting something in return (except a return salutation).

We arrived around 17h and were welcomed with a glass of wine or soft drink.
We were given a nice room on the ground floor, bed on one side (traditional bed; elevated concrete slab with good mattress), table and 2 chairs and big bath in tadelakt on the other side.
Clean and well lit bathroom with super soft towels, bathrobes (2 !) and shampoo & soap by Amarante.
I found the room just big enough as not to get claustrophobic - most traditional dars don't have big rooms with outside windows... be warned.

The whole dar is tastefully decorated with European design furniture and objets d'art. The buidling itself is a traditional house, hence the smaller rooms and fact that the patio can get crowded when all guests are in. The owners realise this and have recently bought the house next door to "open up" the space. Looking forward to see it when the work is done.

Breakfast: we had an early breakfast because of our flight at 08h am.
Still the table was nicely set out and we got fried eggs, a choice of cheeses, jams, yoghurt, coffee or tea, fresh orange juice, different kinds of bread. The "glass" in which the orange juice was served and the form of the eggs put a smile on our face, a good beginning of the day I say.

Plunge pool in the small patio. Rooftop terrace with lounge beds.
Free wi-fi.
Use of the kitchen, coffee and tea free of charge.
Mosque in the neighbourhood and prayer call at 04.30h could be faintly heard.
Parking in the street, free of charge.

The only downside is (I find personally) that there is no restaurant in the direct neighbourhood.
We loved the tranquility and easy going atmosphere and found it value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertroseBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

The town of Erriadh is located almost smack-dab in the middle of the island, and by night, it was very hard to see where exactly where we were going. (This place was certainly not part of the "Zone Touristique.”) After asking a few locals in nearby open-air markets, our driver finally dropped us off at the Dar Bibine... I had found the hotel while surfing the Internet randomly one night for places to stay in Tunisia in preparation for the trip. As soon as I saw the photos on the website, I knew this was the place to stay in Djerba!

Entering through the blue door at the Dar Bibine is like going down Alice's rabbit hole into a whole other world. Once inside, we were blown away by just how comfy this whole "Tunisian experience" could be! (Who knew?) Candle-lit lamps shared space with funky modern furniture, all arranged around a small lap pool lined with cacti. This was truly a very welcome oasis, and the first of many we would encounter on the trip.

Tutored in the design school of Philippe Stark, our caretakers Gerard and Isabelle greeted us with a bottle of red wine and comforted us with questions about our journey thus far. The couple, who had purchased the property after visiting a few times from their home country of Belgium, told us that we were fortuitous to arrive on this evening - as it was the only night of the year that the resident cacti were in full bloom! Isabelle took us on a tour of the property and let us choose our room for the stay.

While we were there, we were the only visitors - but their guest log and press kits show that the Dar Bibine is garnering a lot of attention and rightfully so. The grounds of the Dar Bibine are well suited with a modern kitchen, dining area, and living room, which can be shared, by all of the hotel guests. A small hamman (spa) is also available for massage treatments. Gerard and Isabelle have just purchased the house next door and plan to expand their small four-room bed and breakfast by adding a room or two in the coming year.

After Gerard and Isabelle retired for the evening, Doug and I finished off our bottle of red wine, satiated by the calm all around us. Eventually, it was time to turn in as we had much to explore the following morning.

Our guest room was just as impressive as the grounds. The littlest of touches were what really made it so special! Water, beer, fresh fruits and books about Djerbian culture were at our disposal inside the room. A clever little mascot - a mosquito light – was positioned in an alcove, and functioned not only as a source of illumination, but also as a reminder to keep our "electrical mosquito repellent" on to deter the beasts from pestering us during the night. The rest of the lighting inside made it appear as though sunlight was coming through the window even though it was nighttime! Perhaps the most dramatic element of the room was the bathroom, which was separated off of the living quarters by only a beaded curtain. It reminded us a bit of the unexpected extravagance we experienced in Cambodia at the Hotel de la Paix in Siem Reap.

Morning breakfast is perhaps where the Dar Bibine shines its best! No detail is left out! The fried eggs on our plate were shaped in the form of little fish, complete with bubbles made out of onion slices and eyes made out of drops of harissa, a local spice used in a condiment not unlike ketchup. (And where do we get those metal straws that were inside our test tubes of freshly squeezed orange juice?) Everything at the Dar Bibine was styled in blue and white, which as we would soon find out was not just exclusive to the hotel.

Hope to return one day...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Set_of_Drifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruton, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

My husband and I visited Dar Bibine on our honeymoon. From the moment of our arrival (at 2am!) Isabelle and Gerard were wonderful hosts and we could not have asked for better. It was the perfect place to honeymoon; quiet and romantic with gorgeous rooms and secluded areas on the roof terrace to relax together with a glass of wine.

From the delicious smells of jasmine and orange, to the impeccable decoration and design, to the wonderful food, this was an amazing place to stay. The chocolate cous cous and watermelon and prosciutto skewers were our favourites! Our hosts also booked us a trip into the Tunisian countryside and arranged for us to have a private tour of the island with a local (and very enthusiastic) taxi driver.

We ate in the hotel (available by prior arrangement) on two evenings, and on both nights were treated to delicious feasts complete with wine. Isabelle and Gerard's recommendations for restaurants on the other evenings were also very helpful.

It was definitely necessary to bring a map of the hotel's location with us when travelling by taxi (we printed this off the internet for arrival, after that Isabell and Gerard have business cards you can take with you) - even though we knew where we were going, the taxi drivers often weren't convinced we were right as Er Riadh is a small village without many hotels. However, most of the taxi drivers were very friendly and helpful and even with the quieter/grumpier ones we had no problems. A small amount of French was helpful, but ours is very basic and we got along fine.

The location of the hotel is fantastic if you want to get away from the toursity areas of the island. You do need to travel by taxi (or perhaps bike) to go out to eat, but finding a taxi was never a problem and the fares were much cheaper than in the UK. At the end of the week we felt pampered and relaxed and that we'd experienced some of Tunisian life, which was perfect.

Lest this all sound too good to be true, should mention that doorways are low (as they seem to be in all traditional Tunisian buildings), and the rooms are designed to work with the structure, rather than against it. So, the shower and toilet were separated from the main bedroom by a dividing wall rather then in a separate room. This was not a problem, and everything is so sympathic and tastefully designed that it all works together beautifully.

We're definitely hoping to go back (especially once the hamman is built next door!).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMollyCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erriadh
7.7 mi away
Hasdrubal Prestige Thalassa & Spa
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
0.1 mi away
Dar Dhiafa
Dar Dhiafa
#29 of 109 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Les jardins de Toumana
Les jardins de Toumana
#13 of 46 in Midoun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
6.5 mi away
Maison Leila
Maison Leila
#2 of 22 in Midoun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
9.6 mi away
Iberostar Mehari Djerba
Iberostar Mehari Djerba
#3 of 109 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Bibine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Bibine

Property: Dar Bibine
Address: 7 Rue Abdel Wahab | Houmt Souk, Erriadh, Djerba Island 4146, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Erriadh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Erriadh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dar Bibine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing