We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will use this location again.”
Review of Comfort Inn North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn North
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Joliet
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Will use this location again.”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Great value, clean rooms, and friendly staff. Well worrying the price (which is reasonable for any budget)!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thats_My_Milk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at Comfort Inn North, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thank you for your pleasant response. Here at the Comfort Inn North Joliet we take pride in providing great accomadations for a reasonable price. When you're in the area again, we would love to have you back as our guest!

Thanks,

Paul H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
28
11
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My Family and I stayed here for 4 nights as we took in the sites.. The hotel was ok, but what made me mad was when they charged my credit card for HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS over and above what our room charge was. If I hadn't been contacted by my credit union about the extra charges, i never would've known and my available credit was being affected. The hotel tried to blame it on an automatic overnight audit and took no responsibilty until I forced them to talk to my credit union and remove the overcharges.. We will never be back....

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Iowaguy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at Comfort Inn North, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
I am deeply apologize for the inconvenience of overcharging your credit card. It is a rarity that we do over charge anybody, but it is an unfortunate occurance that a lot of hotels go through from time to time with their data systems. We have looked into the problem that occured with your situation and have since corrected the problem. If you would like to talk to me over the phone, feel free to contact me at 815-436-5141, or you can email me at Paul.Heuer@pillarhotels.com. I am the new General Manager, and guests are my number one priority.

Thank you,
Paul H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Joliet hotels

Columbus, o
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We were walked here from the Holiday Inn Express next door. I have never had so many issues with a hotel before. The room was dirty, carpet filthy, wallpaper peeling off of the wall. There was used soap in the shower from the previous guest. When we went to leave the door would not lock, you could push it open. My friend messed with it and got it to lock when we weren't in the room. I called the front desk about the problems and they said they would be up in 15 min but half an hour later they still did not show up. My firend figured out that the door frame was straight, but the door was warped. The breakfast area was dirty and the selection was not what you would expect. At check out I ghad to argue with the clerk about how much I actually owed and what was to be billed to the Hoilday Inn Express. She finally called the Holiday Inn to get the correct answer. next time I am in the area I will not stay at either hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OhioGal59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presho, South Dakota
Level Contributor
193 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Comfort Inn North in Joliet, IL is convenient to I-55, the Joliet Mall and a variety of restaurants. The room was typical Comfort Inn. The pool was a nice temperature however the hot tub was not working the first night we were there.
Breakfast was the usual fare with the addition of sausage and eggs. I don’t know if the eggs were powdered or overcooked, but they were not good. The donuts were stale.
There is an automatic safe charge added to your bill. Be sure to ask for a refund if you don't use it.
We have stayed there before & will probably stay there again because it is convenient and the price is right.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DIVESD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at Comfort Inn North, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thank you very much for you review. I am glad that you had an overall pleasant experience at the Comfort Inn North Joliet. I also appreciate the feedback as well. We strive to provide the best breakfast for our guest and I am sorry that we did not provide that for you. Our new hot breakfast was new at the time, and we are consistently striving to improve it. It is feedback like yours that helps us improve! I also do appologize for the issue with the hot tub. Though we do keep good care of our pool and hot tub, it can have problems time to time. I do appologize that you were not able to have that luxury the first night. Once again, I do appreciate the positive and negative feedback. I am the new General Manager, and comments like these help improve this hotel.

Thank you,

Paul H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This hotel is easily accessible from I-55. We called about 4 hotels from the road about 10 minutes out: Holiday Inn Express($89), Fairfield ($74), and Hampton Inn($109). I didn't check Super 8 or Motel 6. This was the best rate, beating Fairfield by a few dollars; since I am a Choice Rewards member we just decided to stay here. We arrive about 9pm and were leaving the next morning for downtown Chicago to visit colleges, so didn't need to be near attractions or amenities - just a reasonably-priced, safe, clean place to spend the night. Free breakfast and free high speed wi-fi were also important in our choice.

They buzz you in as the lobby is locked, which is fine by me. The rooms are all interior doorways which I prefer for safety reasons. The lobby was small and included the breakfast area. Our room was a bit above average in size and was very clean. It showed some signs of age and wear and tear, but nothing concerning or that detracted from our stay. The receptionist was polite and knowledgeable and honored my AAA discount ($71) even though I couldn't dig out my card.

The TV is an old-school "big box", but I really don't care about that as long as it gets my news channels. Bathroom was clean with plenty of towels, shampoo and lotion. No conditioner, but I always bring my own just in case. Bathroom had a hair dryer.

The beds were of average comfort - a bit 'mushy" for my liking but not uncomfortable. Pillows were comfortable. You can hear people moving around - not sure if it was in the room above (we were on the first floor) or the upstairs hallway. The air conditioner/heater worked great but there is a distinct difference when it switches off and on which was a little jarring when falling asleep - instead of a gentle white noise, it kicked on with a "whoosh" and then things seemed very quiet when it kicked off.

The breakfast was fine - not great, like HIXpress, but fine and more than adequate - everyone should be able to find something to like. English muffins, bagels, bread for toast, 3 cereals, oatmeal, donuts, cream cheese, butter, jam, peanut butter. They have a waffle maker which is a a nice touch, milk, 3 juices, and plenty of coffee. There was also a big basket of apples. Space was a little cramped but most people are in and out, so no big deal to us.

There was a small-ish indoor pool and hot tub, which we did not use. You probably won't swim laps in it, but it would work if the kids need to burn off some energy after a long car ride.

All in all, this was pretty much just what I was looking for: a decent, safe, clean room near Chicago where we could spend the night without paying an arm and a leg. Comfort Inn seems to be pretty consistent: clean, safe, adequate. Would it have been worth the extra $18 to stay at a HIX? Not sure. Their beds/bedding are typically on the above average side, their breakfast offers a bit more hot choices if you like that, and their bath amenities are very good. I like to save a buck where I can, however, and after a fairly leisurely, late afternoon, drive from St Louis (about 4 hours), this fit the bill perfectly.

Comfort Inn/Choice continues the irritating practice of automatically charging you for the safe in the room unless you remember to tell them you don't want it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Due to my husband's job, we have been staying a this Comfort Inn every weekend for over a year. During our year at Comfort Inn North we have been lied to and pushed around, the third time was the last. The first time they told us they were booked, and when we called back and hour later we were told "oh we have a ton of rooms left" by a different person. We complained and got no results. The final straw came when we reserved a suite for my birthday, only to show up and learn that we had been moved to a regular room but still had to pay the bigger price. We were told "that is the price, take it or leave it". The staff is rude. The rooms are ok, but not worth what they charge. I will NEVER go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

There is not an outstanding selection of motels in the Joliet area. This is a nice, yet average facility. The front desk personnel were very helpful. The breakfast buffet leaves a little to be desired.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentucky1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Joliet hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Joliet I-55
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 23 in Joliet
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites - Joliet / Plainfield / I-55 North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Joliet Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Joliet North/Plainfield
5.6 mi away
Harrah's Joliet
Harrah's Joliet
#4 of 23 in Joliet
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn North

Property: Comfort Inn North
Address: 3235 Norman Ave, Joliet, IL 60431-9100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Joliet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Joliet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Hotel Joliet
Comfort Inn Joliet
Joliet Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing