We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely an Improvement!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Chicago Joliet - I-55
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Joliet
Joliet
1 review
“Definitely an Improvement!”
Reviewed March 31, 2010

I would recommed this hotel to anyone. It is located next to the mall and any type of food. The staff was friendly and the hotel was quite. I stayed here once before the remodel and I can honestly say that I will be returning. the room includes toiletries, white sinks and oversized shower, wood floors( you can walk barefoot), and a 32" plasma. For just $47.00 above and beyond what I expected!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kynkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    8
    9
    12
See reviews for
15
9
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
soCal
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2010

I was surprised to find a motel 6 that offered refrig/micro - and only for $3 a day. But there's also a micro avail at vending area. Vending area was filled on Thurs or Fri, sandwiches/yogurts, etc. Low on Tues/Wed. Nice location near Joliet mall and all kinds of eateries (fast food to sit-down). Best motel 6 I've ever stayed- I've been to a few in CA. I use them for price-don't have high expectations- but the awesome staff (very kind/friendly and helpful), and the room extras, and remodelling, yes big tv/cable, really put this motel above any other Motel 6 I've ever seen. The service matched higher quality hotels, for sure. I spoke to manager and she said she was new at this location - she has hired excellent people. I made an error on my reservation, she let it go. Also, we used Peoria Bus service for rides to & from O'Hare/Midway airports for $21 and it drops off/picks up across the parking lot from Motel 6. The distance is walk-able (depending on your idea of how far is far) but if you're packed heavy, you might have trouble crossing the lot/streets with luggage in a snowstorm, lol.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mailbox33xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

I got a great price on this hotel, or so i thought. First, to check in, you have to go to the bullet proof window right next to the sign that says "Canine Units regularly patrol premisis", which made me question our choice of quality hotels. Staff was friendly. She gave us a room at the back of the hotel. We pull in and realize that the spot in front of our room is a handicap spot so we moved to the next spot. There are blue tarps covering the rooms above us and we knew we were in for a treat. Expecting to walk into a newly remodled room, as advertised, we tried to keep our hopes up. Well, if it was newly remodled, I would hate to see what it looked like before. There was a hole in the wall by the door. The beds had linens from 1972, which were stained. The bathtub had burns all over it. The toilet paper holder fell out everytime you tried to use it. Carpet was filthy. Walls were paper thin and we could hear every word of the party next door. Drunk people were knocking on our door in the middle of the night. It was a disaster. We woke in the morning to find a parking ticket on my car for $250 for parking in a handicap spot (which, as mentioned before, I moved to get out of a handicap spot...apparently, under the snow in the parking lot were no parking lines) I will be contesting that. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mxmama112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Joliet hotels

Chicago
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2009

This hotel was nice for the most part. It was newly remodeled like was advertised. Nice looking for the most part. Kinda thought that the wood floors in the room were odd but ok. They charged 2.99 for the wireless internet. Which I am using now! lol... Noticed a few odd things. A) At night they had a guarded window like a gas station... (Making you believe it has been robbed before)... B) At Night I got up to get another pillow and a security guard came out and questioned me... and C) if not lastly... Alot of noise at night.... Doors slamming, etc.

There were alot of good things. In the room I was in we had a refrigerator and microwave. It also had a plazma screen tv which I was very suprized of since it was more of a 3 star hotel. Everything seemed to be clean... Oddly I did walk up to two workers which looked somewhat Indian. They were speaking english about someone not cleaning linens like they were supposed to then when I got close... They spoke another language....

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beatingpulse_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

Appearance was decent on the outside, however there was nothing above average indoors. As I went up to find my room on the second floor, I witnessed a dog attacking a maid in the hallway. She somehow got the dog into a room shut the door. This room just happened to be next door to me. The initial room condition was what I expected for paying the 44$ fair-- small, simple with soap and towels. There wasn't any provided shampoo, and the pillows on the bed were quite tiny (actually the smallest I've ever seen at a motel). The carpet had visible stains in the room as well as throughout the hallways. The elevator had trash, including cigarette butts, scattered across the floor next to some unidentifiable puddle (dog urine?). After settling in, I noticed a giant hair attached to the wall in the shower. (The shower as smaller than my shoilet in college) Upon returning from dinner I learned that I was adjacent not only to the kennel, but neighbored on the other side by the honeymoon suite. The TV volume was loud enough the overpower the adulterous drone. Wireless internet access cost me 2.99 for one day. The connection quality was amazing. A memorable stay.

After adding on the premiums for a la carte wifi, breakfast, and basic necessities, it would have worth the extra 10$ to stay at the Hampton Inn another 100 feet away. I believe they have a no-pet policy, and I know they have adult-sized pillows.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ryancopeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

Poor service, overflowing plumbing, broken locks on windows, price gouging. Would never stay at the property or any Motel 6 property again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank arch063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannibal, MO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2007

My husband and I stay here all the time, while we visit friends and family in Naperville and Plainfield. It's newer, clean and cheap. All the rooms are indoors, which probably helps with how quite it is. As a bonus, we get to bring our dog for free. The Joliet mall is right across the street, along with much more. Our favorite restaurant, Texas Roadhouse, is also there.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Trukin_Lady_n_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Joliet hotels
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago Joliet
0.4 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites - Joliet / Plainfield / I-55 North
4.3 mi away
Best Western Joliet Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Joliet I-55
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#12 of 23 in Joliet
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Joliet North/Plainfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Chicago Joliet - I-55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Chicago Joliet - I-55

Property: Motel 6 Chicago Joliet - I-55
Address: 3551 Mall Loop Dr, Joliet, IL 60431-9216
Location: United States > Illinois > Joliet
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Joliet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Chicago Joliet - I-55 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Chicago Joliet is located near Louis Joliet Mall, St Joseph Medical Center, and Illinois State Museum. Chicagoland Speedway is 10.5 Miles away. All rooms have a modern look. Wi-Fi available for $2.99 Per 24 hours and a coin laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Motel-6, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Chicago Joliet - I-55 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Joliet
Motel Six Joliet
Joliet Motel Six
Joliet Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing