We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family fun in Joliet”
Review of Harrah's Joliet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harrah's Joliet
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Joliet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Harrah's. Loved the bed - slept like I was at home. The room was clean and loved the size of the bathroom. Also, the view of the river was great. The food in the Reserve was exceptional; in Flavors was above average for buffet-style dining. Staff were friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Had a great time in the casino as everyone in my family left winners playing the $1 slots and blackjack. One recommendation: if you are traveling with children, know that the hotel does not have a pool, which led us to search other parts of the city for swimming accommodations. I would, however, stay at Harrah's again - just not with the children.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a king facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bsloggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, Manager at Harrah's Joliet, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thanks for the review! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,028 - 2,034 of 2,208 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

Below is my summary of our experience:
- casino is very small and crowded
- rooms are nice but are way overpriced for being an hour from Chicago
- charged us a $10 early check-in fee for arriving at 230pm instead of after 4pm
- would not let any Canadians into the casino even if they had government issued ID
- the few Canadians that had their passports and that were allowed in were later asked to leave the casino. the manager on duty actually said "anyone that is Canadian should leave"

Finally, I would never go back and was extremely insulted by the manager on duty. All of this happened while we were there for a local CAN-US wedding. The after party was planned for the casino at which time approx 100 ppl were turned away (40 of us were CAN). We were even there with off-duty members from the local police force and were still treated this way. What a joke of a casino!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank david i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, Manager at Harrah's Joliet, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Hi David. Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear your experience while visiting with us was a bad one. Unfortunately Illinois State Law dictates what forms of ID we can or cannot accept. However we understand the confusion and we are currently looking in to ways to better communicate accepted forms of identification to our guests. We are also looking into the matter with the manager on duty to ensure that the way you and your party was treated does not happen again. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We are seven stars and eat at buffet often Ann Marie Zeld is the best waitress, friendly, kind, caring,. she goes over and beyond to please all customers. THE Best!
Our Casino Host (Rene B.) he is also the best host we have ever had caring and down to earth and treats guest as friends and family. We enjoy going to Harrahs very clean and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Yellow water in the hotel... they were aware of it and didn't seem to care to fix it.

Room service on a Wednesday night took over a hour for 3 things and then when they finally came to the room they forgot one of the items.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, Manager at Harrah's Joliet, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear your experience was not a good one. I am looking into the matter with our facilities manager about the yellow water, that is just not acceptable. I will also be providing your feedback to our Housekeeping team to see how we can improve on matters like this in the future. Thanks again and we hope you are willing to come back and give us another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Breakfast Buffet is good but not great. Since this is the only restaurant on the premises that is open before 11am it would be nice to have a menu option. For example, some mornings I would love to order steak and eggs, other mornings just an english muffin and a cup of tea will do. I wish that choice was available, not just the buffet. The restaurant is clean and the food adequate. However the consistent great service of waitress Ann Marie is what keeps me coming back! She always has a smile and warm greeting. She will bring you a hot cup of coffee when yours is still half full but lukewarm. Her excellent customer service and winning personality makes you feel good and and brings a smile to your face, even if you lost your money in the casino the previous night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank One S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Go somewhere else. The room smelled like sewage and they want to charge $10 extra even if you check in 15 minutes to 4:00pm. Manger Carlos and Darien were not concerned when complained and even caught Carols in a lie. They want to check your gambling card to determine if you "gambled enough" for them to fix issue in which they did not correct my issue. Stay clear away from this place. Food was so so at restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ktownandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The buffet being redone was a great idea. 31.99 for a Friday Adult buffet seems like a lot, but when you have unlimited seafood. ( crab legs were my fav) SO WORTH IT!! Everything tasted fresh and I have no complaint! The gelato is also awesome! ( try the lemon sorbet) I recommend it highly!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Michaela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Joliet hotels
4.4 mi away
Hollywood Casino Hotel
Hollywood Casino Hotel
#9 of 24 in Joliet
171 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Joliet I-55
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Joliet I-80
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Joliet
2.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago Joliet
4.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Joliet South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Joliet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Joliet

Address: 151 N Joliet St, Joliet, IL 60432-4018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Joliet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Joliet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Joliet
#4 Business Hotel in Joliet
Price Range: $91 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Joliet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harrah's Joliet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Joliet Hotel And Joliet
Harrahs Hotel Joliet
Harrahs Joliet Hotel
Harrahs Casino Joliet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing