We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hickory Grove Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hickory Grove Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Description: Probably the most popular restaurant in all of Jersey County, and most of the surrounding area as well!
Jerseyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

If your just looking for a place to eat and don't want to spend much then this is a good place. There's nothing special, the foods mediocre, the atmosphere is ok. Huge menu, but I'd go somewhere else. Good gyro.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HaleyLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

"Hi, have a seat and I'll be right over" was what we heard as soon as we walked in, and after we chose our seat, our friendly waitress came right over to take our drink order - great first impression. The inside of the restaurant is basic but it's clean and the booths are comfortable. We ordered breakfast and the prices were really low so we were surprised when our orders came and the portions were huge! Hot and delicious food. I had the 3 egg omlette with hasbrowns, and toast (comes with 4 slices). My husband had the ribeye and eggs with american potatoes (may have been homestyle potatoes) with onions which he also loved. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thedunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We found this gem on a fall afternoon drive; they have it all great food, great service and great prices. We have gone back twice in two weeks.

Helpful?
Thank HappydogQuilting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
486 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Went out with some family for a relaxed dinner and had a great time! The employees are very friendly and the service is great! The food is delicious (especially the ribs) and plentiful for a great price! What else could you ask for?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best in Jerseyville!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My son and I meet in Jerseyville every year for hunting. The Hickory Grove Restaurant is ALWAYS our first choice in dining. I can't imagine anyone finding fault with this well run, clean, and always friendly, restaurant! Even with the recent change in ownership/management they have maintained their excellent service and menu. They always fix my pork tenderloin sandwich just the way I like it!

Thanks Hickory Grove for loads of pleasant memories through the years!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory Grove Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing