We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant spot fir lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aubergine

Aubergine
Ranked #39 of 95 Restaurants in Dee Why
Cuisines: Australian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant spot fir lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I stopped by for an impromptu late lunch on a weekday. The restaurant is pleasantly located beachfront, si very nice on a sunny autumn day.

The food was nice but not exceptional. Service was fine too, although a little slow.

I gave coffee a miss. Instead I went next door to have better quality Morgans coffee.

I might return for a simple quick lunch, but I wouldn't be rushing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oztripper_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    45
    16
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really nice ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Rib eye steak which was so rich in flavours. The steak was melting on your tongue. We had a nice Cabernet Sauvignon as well and for desert the fabulous creme brûlée

Helpful?
Thank snowflitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“try the profiteroles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Dee why for the past 3 weeks and came regularly to try the cheesecake of the day here. Some were ok but the surprise was when our son ordered profiteroles as well as the sorbet :)
Staff were super friendly and efficient with a ready smile.
Coffee is average as we like our coffee strong but all in all a lovely place to relax near the beach.

Helpful?
1 Thank champneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alfresco dining on the Northern Beaches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Good food, friendly service and a great view down across the beach to Long Reef. It's well worth getting off the beaten path and exploring some of the other beaches north of Manly - they all have good restaurants to choose from....Aubergine being one of them.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank wearmouth2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bad food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I went to Aubergine for breakfast with my partner and ordered a Samon Eggs Benedict...

Lets just say the hollandaise tasted like old off milk.. and to top it all off the smoked salmon also tasted like it had past its best before date.

We complained to the waitress about it and she came back to tell us that, this is how the meal is supposed to taste!!!!!! They didnt even offer a refund for it or for anything.. we both went away feeling sick for the day and couldnt believe the bad service!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahshmerah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aubergine also viewed

Dee Why, Warringah
Dee Why, Warringah
 
 
Dee Why, Warringah
Dee Why, Warringah
 

Been to Aubergine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing