We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room Upkeep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Jacksonville
Leavenworth, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room Upkeep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The first issue was that we booked through Expedia approximatley 2 1/2 weeks in advance, reservations were confirmed, on arrival we find out that Expedia has messed up the payment of the reservation and that the possibility of getting the room is in question. The staff was great in that they were able to get everything straightened out with Expedia. We had special request for a handicap unit and it was honored. Our charges were less than the Expedia quote by a significant amount.

There was an issue with the cleanliness of the room, there was absolutely no vacuuming taking place in the room, the carpet was extremely dirty. The shower system in the handicap shower was very difficult to use plus it leaked at the connections. With the rates that are charged for the rooms one would think that replacing the soap and shampoo each day would be a normal occurance. Having worked in the hospitality industry it is my opinion that a little more care could be taken to insure the cleanliness of the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you choosing to stay at our hotel while you were in Jacksonville. We strive to provide the best customer service possible for our guests. I am pleased that you felt we handled your reservation issue promptly with Expedia. I apologize for the issue(s) that you experienced with your guest room. We work very hard to have our hotel be as clean as possible. Our head housekeeper has been informed about this situation. We will take the necessary measures to assure that this does not occur in the future. Hopefully, we will be fortunate to have you stay with us again in the future. We will do our best to exceed your expections during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    30
    13
    0
    4
See reviews for
35
5
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyland, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a nice, friendly, place i call home one night a week every week for the last two years. La Rissa, of guest services is really knowledgable and friendly. Always willing to make your stay the as comfortable as possible.

Room Tip: I have been in a lot of the rooms, they are all very nice. If you are a light sleeper, get a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We appreciate your positive comments. Our goal is to provide excellent hospitality at our hotel. Thanks for choosing to stay with us weekly for over a year! We're glad you are here and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I always stay here when visiting family in the area. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean. Also - I'm not sure what kind of mattresses they have in their rooms, but I always sleep well and wake up refreshed.

Room Tip: Suites are very roomy if staying with a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us each time you return to Jacksonville. We appreciate your loyalty. I will inform our housekeeping staff about how clean you found your room to be! I hope that we will see you again soon in the future. Thanks again for taking the time to write such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I booked a room under a "locked-in rate". I now have to cancel. I called (48 hours in advance of my stay) and was told that while they are more than happy to "cancel" my room, they will still be charging me $130 because of said "locked-in rate". When booking there was no notice/warning that cancellation would result in such an egregious raping, but why would there be? Who in their right mind (with clear advance warning) would book a hotel room that they would be unable to cancel without being charged the entire price of the room?

Clearly this is a profit center meant to bilk money from their would-be customers who mistakenly book one of their already over priced rooms under a locked in rate. This whole policy seems counter-intuitive to good business. For example, I had to cancel a room for this weekend, but I will be making the trip in the next month and at this point I'd rather stay at a Y than give this company another dime.

Way to lose a customer with your fascist policies Holiday Inn. And just for the record the only reason you received even one green dot is because it's required to submit a review.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank freiburg370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear freiburg370,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the confusion on the hotel booking policy on advance purchase rates. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. Thank you again for your comments.


Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a baseball tournament, the location was good, in the outskirts of yhe msin strip which made it convient for my family, the rooms were clean, breakfast was good, good selection fot continental, the service was great, was definatrly happy with my stay

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b_YOU_tiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I appreciate you posting such a positive review about our hotel. Hopefully we will see you again on your next baseball trip to Jacksonville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Recently stayed here for a baseball tournament at Lenz Field. Stayed in a suite which was adequate for my family of five with 3 kids under age 11. Breakfast was good, pool was good and location was about 10-15 minutes away from shopping and restaurants. There is a Quiznos and a convenience store that sells beer and liquor right across the parking lot. Staff was friendly and very accommodating. We were able to use the main lobby and breakfast area until 10pm, and when our meetings ran over, they were nice enough to open up the meeting room for us. They have a policy for the teams, no players allowed roaming the halls or the hotel causing mischief, or their team is reported to the tournament official and possibly ejected. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mutha03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Well first of all we made our resvervations a month in advance knowing we had a travel ball tournament in Jacksonville and this where team staying. We booked a suite that turned out to not be so sweet. Let see, the first night of our 2 night stay, the air conditioner was broken and it was like 90 degrees out this weekend with heat advisories and room was like 85 dgrees, the toilet was broken and running all the time, and 3 of lights burned out in our SUITE. We complained but apparently there was nothing they could do but give us a fan ( yes you read right, a fan, we have pictures of it as our air conditioner) for an adult and 3 kids. They said they fixed toilet and you have to push handle back up after flush, real conducive to 3 kids. The next day after talking to the Manager, Michael Flynn ,who took down the room number and said he would take care of it, he fixed the air conditoner, but the toilet still not fixed right and bulbs still burned out and our room was never service and cleaned to boot. Still had full trash cans, smelled like the trash and no towels. This is in a suite. Apparently, he is not concerned with the customer as they had every opportunity to make it right. We are priority club members as well as AAA members. Believe me when i say just check your room first before you pay and stay .

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank IndyMcFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
We strive to provide the best service possible at our hotel. It distresses me greatly that your recent experience was less than perfect. Please accept my sincere apology. Our guests come first and we make every effort to solve any issue that may arise. We appreciate your patronage. If you have time, I would like to speak with you directly so that I may better assess the situation. My number is 217/245-6500. Your comments have been duly noted and we will make every effort to alleviate such problems in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville
Hampton Inn Jacksonville
#1 of 7 in Jacksonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites - Jacksonville
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 7 in Jacksonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jacksonville Inn
BEST WESTERN Jacksonville Inn
#2 of 7 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Jacksonville
Super 8 Jacksonville
#3 of 7 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.5 mi away
Knights Inn Jacksonville
Knights Inn Jacksonville
#2 of 2 in Jacksonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 2501 Holliday Lane, Jacksonville, IL 62650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacksonville hotel offers comfortable Illinois accommodations! Jacksonville, Illinois is a town with a wealth of history and industry, located midway between Hannibal, Missouri and Springfield, Illinois. Conveniently located off I-72, our Jacksonville hotel offers a premiere location at an affordable price. Several businesses are just a few minutes from our Jacksonville, Illinois hotel, including Pactiv and A.C. Humko, both two miles away. Nestle, as well as the EMI Corporation, have packaging and distribution centers nearby. Jacksonville s historic Eli Bridge Company, which has made fair rides for generations, is also three miles away. Additionally, Hamilton s Catering, which offers a large banquet hall as well as catering services, is just a short drive from our Jacksonville hotel. Jacksonville s history is right at your fingertips when you stay with us. Downtown Jacksonville is just three miles away and features Governor Grierson s Mansion and historic Victorian homes. Woodlawn Farm, which was a stop on the Underground Railroad, is just seven miles from our smoke free hotel in Jacksonville. You can see one of Eli Bridge and Wheel Co.'s famous ferris wheels at Jacksonville Community Park. With an indoor pool and fitness center, our pet friendly Jacksonville, Illinois hotel offers you a great place to stay with a convenient location. Stay Smart with us at the Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Jacksonville
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Jacksonville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing