We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home on an interesting street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blessings on State Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, ON
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Lovely home on an interesting street”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed here after visiting Springfield, IL. It was a great place. Nice character, great amenities. We enjoyed the town as well. The street that the house is located on has many interesting old mansions. Our hosts were helpful and kind. The only "downside" was that the AC was turned too cold for our taste but everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chileice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
50
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 3rd anniversary at Blessings on State. We were treated like royalty and our suite was lovely. Breakfast each morning was delicious as were our nightly snacks. Gwenn and Glenn were wonderful host .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LoverofBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BENSON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We enjoyed a night of luxury at an affordable price. The room was spacious and filled with amenities that pampered both the body and palate. We slept well on a large comfortable bed and enjoyed a delicious breakfast the following morning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BFT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Wonderful B&B. Graet atmosphere and great food. Pampered by the hostess. Nice relaxing experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rader5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We booked this b and b for a one night retreat to get away and relax. When making the reservation Gwen was extremely accommodating offering to make reservations at popular local restaurants. Once we arrived we were welcomed with a grand piano playing and the hosts gave an excellent tour. We stayed in the Tranquility Suite and it had a fireplace in the room, huge bathroom with his and her sinks, and a very nice sitting room.

The breakfast served in the morning was excellent! We would definitely come back to this b and b for a great getaway.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank moriii2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Very nice place. We stayed in the Serenity suite. The bedroom and sitting room were both nice sized and had a lot of character. It is located in the historic district with lots of historic homes. The food and hostess were very nice. If I find myself in Jacksonville again, this would be the first place I'd try to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JAGinSunnyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville
Hampton Inn Jacksonville
#1 of 7 in Jacksonville
255 reviews
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites - Jacksonville
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Jacksonville Inn
Best Western Jacksonville Inn
#3 of 7 in Jacksonville
121 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 7 in Jacksonville
58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Jacksonville
Super 8 Jacksonville
#2 of 7 in Jacksonville
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blessings on State Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blessings on State Bed & Breakfast

Property: Blessings on State Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1109 W State St, Jacksonville, IL 62650-1846
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blessings on State Bed & Breakfast is located in the prestigious Duncan Park/West State Street historic district in Jacksonville, Illinois. One block from Illinois College, the Governor Duncan Mansion and the Illinois School for the Deaf, this beautiful 120-year-old mansion shines with the ambiance of the past. Strong architectural details include a stunning carved staircase, five distinctly different tiled fireplaces, pocket doors, natural wood floors and stunning chandeliers in every room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing