We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth reviewing again!”

muggsy's fine dining
Ranked #9 of 64 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Winchester, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Worth reviewing again!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We returned to this restaurant for dinner just me and my hubby. The new food items are quite interesting and not like the other places in town! I LOVED the selection and cant wait to try more dinners! I would say this place is definitely stepping up their game!! GREAT JOB! Loved what we had and will definitely return for more!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ltldxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ok dining”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Food was fine and the service great; it just wasn't anything that would qualify as out of the usual dining.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2812ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Plains, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Renovated and new items on menu”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I always go to Muggsy's with my co-workers for lunch and they have added some new items to the menu. The Quesadillas are huge but look tasty. Haven't tried them yet but everything I have tried has been great.
The renovation was very tastefully done..they did a good job. Much better use of space.
They have also recently raised their prices too...so now I would say it is a little pricey but it is really great food. So I think its worth it for a splurge every now and then.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit with friends”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is more of a bar and grill type place to eat. We got appetizers and beer (of course) The food was good but nothing spectacular. They have lots of tvs so you can watch whatever game you like. Jacksonville has really fixed up the town square this place is located on. I would definitely recommend this place for catching up with friends!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ltldxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines via Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Gone WAY Downhill”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

They redesigned the bar so it seats about 3 people. The prices have been raised. We ordered 4 different wines; they were out of all of them. We were celebrating a birthday party and wanted dessert. The manager told us the table was reserved for another group and we could take our dessert to go. We still had full glasses of wine to drink. The manager just stormed off. WILL NOT BE GOING BACK! Used to be a favorite stop in JAX.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank trainerstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed muggsy's fine dining also viewed

 
Jacksonville, IL
 

Been to muggsy's fine dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing