We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ITALIAN DELIGHT”

Franco & Paolo Ristorante
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Please be aware that Franco & Paolo Ristorante will be closed for Bank holidays and Easter Dates. Now Open 7 days a week Lunch and dinner... lunch specials Pizza and Pasta starting at £6.50 pp...Also offering A la carte lunch specials from £8.95 inc Steak,chicken Pork belly and lots more ...
Southampton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“ITALIAN DELIGHT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Tried this restaurant with a Groupon deal on 23rd April.The pizza was excellent and very tasty and the risotto was wonderfully flavoursome and to die for. The staff were very welcoming and the ambience was great. Nice stylish décor. Had a great evening. Will definitely return. Thank you Franco and Paolo.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    48
    20
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

My partner & I have just had a beautiful meal this evening. Greeted by friendly staff, the atmosphere & music was lovely and then the starter, main & dessert, best Italian we have ever tasted. Thank you so much for a lovely evening. We will be back very soon.

Helpful?
Thank ShellPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Local Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Been here a few times for lunch and been to a couple of tribute nights too. Tom Jones and Michael Buble - brilliant night out in my opinion. Very nice food and lovely atmosphere. Will be back very soon, keep up the good work.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank praggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I've eaten Italian food in Rome, Florence, Bergamo, Venice, Amalfi, The Italian lakes etc. but I can honestly say that I haven't had Italian food better than here. Yes, it would be nice to have views of Stomboli or Lake Como rather than Locks Heath centre but we can walk here.
We've eaten here before and found the found to be very good but when we've tried to visit on the spur of the moment they've always been booked up, frustrating but a good sign i suppose. So suggest that you book especially in the evenings.
Staff are attentive and friendly but not subservient or going through the motions. The atmosphere is pretty good, mainly because the place is always busy.
The food cannot be faulted in my opinion. It is typical Italian fare, simple, unfussy ingredients, put together with skill and attention to detail. There's always some specials of the day. Take a look at the kitchen, it could be in Calabria.
I won't go through the menu, it is what you'd expect to see in an authentic Italian restaurant but for example the antipasto italiano is just what you'd expect but the meats and cheese are top quality, served at the right temperature and in generous proportions. All the servings are good sized portions (don't know how many desserts they sell).
The pricing is good and honest making this an affordable mid-week option (only slightly more than a chain restaurant) and easy parking too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TKPUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Consistent, large servings and excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We go every couple of weeks to Franco and Paolo because it is consistently good with excellent value. Try the Pizza Calzone for the biggest ever Italian "cornish" pasty. Monday to Thursday they have a set menu with 3 or 4 choices of each course for only £9.99 2 course or £12.99 three course. You might expect small portions - but no. The Devilled Whitebait starter would not disgrace as a main course. The 7oz Rump Steak comes with plenty of potato and veg. Tremendous value for less than £10. The A la carte has plenty of choice and the wine is not expensive, around £15 for the house wine and £20 for Gavi de Gavi. It is quite small so you need to book Friday and Saturday. Closed on Sundays.
If you come to the Locks Heath shopping centre or live near here, try it. PS Waitrose is opening just opposite last week of March.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank icehorsestud52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franco & Paolo Ristorante also viewed

Fareham, Hampshire
Warsash, Hampshire
 
Titchfield, Fareham
 

Been to Franco & Paolo Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing