We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thin walls, poor soundproofing ruin this stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Itasca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Place Itasca
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Itasca
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Thin walls, poor soundproofing ruin this stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Not the best hotel I've stayed at and not the worst. The breakfast is great (among the best I've had) the parking is good, staff is few in number but nice. Rooms are great - clean and modern with a good amount of space. The only negative is the management doesn't care to tell people to be quiet. This includes their own cleaning staff and overly loud guests. I take conference calls from hotels and the last thing I want to have in the background when clients are on the phone is the sound of doors slamming or kids playing. You can see and hear more at this clip I shot http://youtu.be/tWEKqwgyd-8



http://youtu.be/tWEKqwgyd-8

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHIFT_username
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    142
    30
    16
    8
See reviews for
169
53
25
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed two nights for the weekend on Feb. 19 & 20 for a short getaway. The hotel was still very clean and the beds very comfortable. Still a very good place to stay if you want to stay out in the suburbs rather than in the downtown area of Chicago. It is about a 20 mile drive from the city upto Itasca. Rooms are spacious clean, and well maintained. They do have an indoor pool that my daughter loved as well although to me it was a little bit on the cold side, but that is being picky. My only complaint about the hotel compared to the 5 star rating I give it last year was just the overall noise of the hotel. From our room we could hear the noisy guests down the hallway. Honestly in my opinion that is the guests fault not the hotel, but all I am saying is that it wasn't very soundproof. The other thing I will say is that they had adverstised a new breakfast for guests that was suppossed to be much better than standard continental breakfast fare and I did not care for it at all. Still a good place but not quite what I remember.

Room Tip: Request a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writerguy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed here overnight with my family. We had stayed at another Hyatt Place location several times in the past, and have had generally positive experiences. Unfortunately, we didn't this time.

First, the pros: the rate was affordable, and the rooms are quite nice. They are furnished in a contemporary style, with a large LCD TV, a large bed, and a sofa that converts into a bed. The bed and sofa are in two different parts of the room that are partially divided by a partial wall, giving a bit of privacy and separation between the two "halves". With the furnishings, the room size, and the fridge (great for kids snacks), the room was quite comfortable for a family of two adults and two small children. Plenty of pillows and towels rounded it off. Although the hotel is designed as somewhat "self-serve" (you check in and out at a kiosk using your credit card, for instance), there is always someone around, and when we needed help, for instance when the pool area was almost out of towels, the staff were very responsive.

Now, the cons: the fridge in the room was loud. So loud, in fact, that I couldn't sleep once it started making noise. So, I shut it off, which of course eliminated the benefit of having it in the first place. The bathroom was quite cramped, and the water in the shower took forever to warm up. By the time we got down to breakfast the food looked a bit old, as well -- the fruit had been out too long, acquiring an odd taste, and some of the other parts were uninspiring. The coffee was good, though, and there was a good selection of breads, yogurts, etc.

Overall, we would probably stay here again, especially since we've had good luck at other Hyatt Place hotels before, but would definitely like the cons to be addressed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Went here for a place to stay on a drive to Chicago, free parking and a good online rate were what got me to the hotel, once there, the staff were friendly and the room was large, with a comfortable bed and a large tv, all very clean.

The only downside was that I got the room right across from the elevator doors and could hear them starting very early in the morning.

I would stay in this hotel again, but would request a quieter room.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tfran88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

I generally stay at a Hyatt Place when I travel. This one is especially nice because the staff go out of their way to make sure you are happy and comfortable. The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. They offer a bus service to pick you up and drop you off with a pleasant attitude at your choice of destinations (train, dining etc). The food is good and not over priced. Will continue to stay at this location during my travels. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamilynn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

The hotel looks like a brand new hotel with contemporary furniture and excellent maintenance. The breakfast was good and lots of options. We had a problem with AC at midnight and the support staff came and tried but couldnt fix the AC. Next day we called the hotel manager but she didnt offer anything other than a callous apology. Other than the hotel manager, we would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BK-AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed only one night here and would come back here in a minute!
The staff are extremely accomodating and helpful! The rooms are clean and spacious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tafferdills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Itasca
0.7 mi away
Westin Chicago Northwest
2.4 mi away
Eaglewood Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Addison
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Elk Grove Village
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#2 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Itasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Itasca

Property: Hyatt Place Itasca
Address: 1150 N Arlington Heights Rd, Itasca, IL 60143-3104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Itasca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Itasca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Itasca 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the convenience of home at our modern hotel just 30 minutes west of downtown Chicago and 15 minutes from O'Hare International Airport. Less than minutes from Woodfield Mall in Schaumburg. Hyatt Place Chicago/Itasca features innovative rooms and friendly services that make your stay with us easy and comfortable. Our guests will enjoy a warm environment and a host of modern travel amenities at an exceptional value. Complimentary Hot Breakfast, WiFi and Shuttle within a 5-mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place Itasca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Itasca Hotel Itasca
Hyatt Itasca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing