We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend with the Folks at the Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Chicago Northwest
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Itasca
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Weekend with the Folks at the Westin”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have now held our third annual Rotary Club President-Elect training at the Northwest Westin in Itasca, IL We will be back for years to come. The staff is just great, accommodating, courteous and consistent. Food is good, rooms are clean but starting to date. Furnishings and carpet need to be upgraded. Starwood bedding is wonderful. Easy to get to, free parking. The lounge is nice, food good and priced right. Shula's is expensive but the service is top shelf. The breakfast buffet is overpriced at $19.95. All in all, a great choice for our almost 550 attendees.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Interstate side. Get a view of the lakes if possible, higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Itasca, General Manager at The Westin Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your 4 star ranking! We are pleased you enjoyed your convention. It is always great to see familiar faces return again and again. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2015
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    167
    116
    52
    42
See reviews for
125
89
35
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Well, this one is as tricky situation as any I have been in.
Lets start with Hotel itself. Very nicely situated. Very good location. Staff is friendly and show professionalism. Clean through out. Comfy rooms, decent decor to rooms. NO fridge unless you ask for it depending availability. The Bar is located right smack middle of the hotel, so yes, as some guests here mentioned before me, the noise from it can be bothersome at night. Shula's is decent food. Nothing too exciting, but a bit pricey. Good workout area with nice Swimming pool, and jet pool.
Now comes the part which annoyed the heck out of me. This was mentioned by some other guests before, so it was on my mind as I went to check in. 1000 teenage girls screaming on top of their lungs in lobby, atrium, elevators, out of their rooms welcomed me. Apparently they had Vines' meet and greet going on for 2 days. Every time a member of (attention seeking) teenage group came out of their room, the girls would go nuts, as if Jesus Christ himself appeared for them.
We were tortured for 2 days and one night. Hotel folks didnt have capability to stop them. They promised a curfew at 11 on, but nothing. The loud noice went on and on for whole night. The staff kept apologizing on and on too. The parking was over full, so some guests had parked their cars anywhere they thought they can. Cops had a field day.
The reason I am mad at this hotel is, they should have never booked other guests than these teenagers for these two days. OR they should have informed us about possible teenage apocalypse.
And PLEASE stop charging guests extra 15 bucks. You are not a resort of any sort. They didnt even tell me about this charge when I checked in, or checked out. It just appeared on my credit card.
Such a pity......

Room Tip: Go as high as possible to avoid bar noise. AND do check with them before booking the hotel, whether...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PratikA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Itasca hotels

Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I like to take weekend trips with my kids and drive by this hotel quite often. Decided to stay here and I'm so glad I did. We had an awesome room! The hotel was quiet and clean. Loved the open lobby area. Upon check in we were treated wonderfully as for check out. Used the workout room and adjacent gym pool. Both were better that I expected. Overall, I was very pleased and will definitely be coming back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cd942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed several time here over last few years. This is approx 20-25 mins from the Ohare Airport. The location is not that great, however the hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. I find this an average Westin property (overall). I will not stay here for personal trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank New O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

So, Westin allowed some youtube kids to have a HUGE event in this hotel on 3/1/2014. There were hundreds of screaming girls in the lobby. Since the entire hotel is built around an atrium, it echoed all day until 3 a.m. They told me that they would quiet things down at 11, but it kept going until 3, and then it started again at 5 a.m.

They were gracious enough to refund me for my room, but frankly, I would have rather got a good night's sleep!

Room Tip: don't let them give you a room with an adjoining door! You can hear EVERYTHING next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loudlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

worst hotel i've ever been too. tons of screaming girls all day for a event and they weren't even being controlled. then when i was sitting in the lobby at night they threatened to kick me out of the hotel if i left my room. kick me out of the hotel? for walking around? okay. f u all

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettytraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

It's hard to get too excited about this property. The staff certainly do a good job and keep the place very clean. It just feels sterile, which is unusual for a Westin property. The hotel must have been a Hyatt or Embassy Suites before because it has that signature 10 story atrium in the middle. There is lots of open space everywhere, including in the rooms, which can be good, but to me, it doesn't feel warm at all. My room had an adjoining room door in place and I could hear everything going on in the room next door, which made me not want to make a noise in my room.

I will likely stay here again since I stick with Starwood, but the Marriott just up the road is a much more comfortable spot if you are staying in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLT_28211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Itasca, General Manager at The Westin Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear oldskool66,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. We appreciate our loyal Starwood guests. I am glad to hear that you feel the staff do a good job and the hotel was clean. That's important to us. And, we appreciate the feedback regarding the atrium. Your comments have been shared with our management staff and we are beginning to look at ways to create a warmer ambiance throughout the hotel. Thank you for the opportunity to improve and we do hope that you will consider us for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Itasca
2.3 mi away
Eaglewood Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Itasca
Hyatt Place Itasca
#1 of 5 in Itasca
475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Itasca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Itasca (Woodfield Area)
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago Northwest

Property: The Westin Chicago Northwest
Address: 400 Park Blvd, Itasca, IL 60143-1212 (Formerly Wyndham Northwest Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Itasca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Itasca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Chicago Northwest 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An O'Hare perimeter hotel, The Westin Chicago Northwest is located just 12 miles from O'Hare International Airport and 27 miles from downtown Chicago. 50,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Westin Chicago Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Chicago Northwest Hotel Itasca
Westin Itasca
Itasca Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing