We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible service”

Shula's Steak House
Ranked #8 of 34 Restaurants in Itasca
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Shula’s Steak House - Westin Hotel Chicago Northwest has been ranked among the top five steak houses in America since 1991. The atmosphere of the restaurant is a virtual museum of the 1972 PERFECT season of the Miami Dolphins. Our restaurant is built on serving the "best beef money can buy" and serves only Premium Black Angus Beef. All of our steaks feature the SHULA CUT which is center cut, aged to perfection premium black angus beef.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The service here is absolutely horrible. I have never seen rude staff like this. The food is ok approaching mediocre. I would skip this and go to Schaumburg for better food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samswildworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    33
    27
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
winfield il
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Great service with quality food. Clubby venue with SINATRA playing in the background. French onion soup and Caesar
Salad very good. Tender filet and 16oz tasty ribeye. Large porterhouse cooked perfectly. sides of mushrooms, baked
Potato and asparagus delicious. Deserts incl creme brûlée, apple pie and carrot cake were a fine ending to our
Evening meal.
Prices in line with other steakhouses of equal stature.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank raceaveal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Steak and Unique Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Pretty good steakhouse, I love football so I thought the decor was pretty cool. If you go there an just order a steak and you'll be fine! The Cowboy is a very very good steak however at 42$ it is not cheap, the filet was pretty good too. The sides were below average and the steak could have used a risotto or a truffle butter. Overall it is a pretty good restaurant I would return in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Oversized Steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Everything on the menu is a la carte, with no alcohol, the bill for two was $149 with tip. However the steaks looks fantasic, but I am not certain how anyone can eat a 48 ounce Porthouse. Thoe that finsh one, get their name on the company web site. Instead I opted for the smaller prime rib. which was flavorful and cooked as I requested. My dinner guest has the salmon and we shared the grilled asparagus, which were one of the highlights of the meal. Salads were unique and more unusual than what I had expected, it was somewhat overdressed and spicer than I would ahve liked. wait staff was fairly attentive and service was only sufficent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great place (overpriced}”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

its great to just sit down and watch the finals of any sports game there but really $45 for a small 18oz steak.
the service was amazing!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sennay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shula's Steak House also viewed

Schaumburg, IL
Itasca, DuPage County
 
Elk Grove Village, IL
Itasca, DuPage County
 

Been to Shula's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing