We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still on the decline”
Review of Dover Straits - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dover Straits
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Still on the decline”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This used to be a very nice restaurant, with an upscale menu and clientele and well prepared meals and white table cloth level servers. A few years ago, the decline started, and it continues today. Now they mostly get their patrons by offering specials and early birds, which draws upon the senior housing nearby. Our family went in to treat ourselves to their Lobster special. Three of us got the lobster, my wife went filet mignon. This is a seafood restaurant, and yet, by far the best choice was the steak. The lobster was rubbery in parts and had been overcooked into a solid state in the claws. How can a seafood restaurant not know how to cook a whole lobster? And run it on special? That's like saying "come on in and see how lousy our chef is." The service was very slow. On the plus side, the salads were very fresh and the clam chowder was flavorful. Oh, and my wife's filet was cooked as she ordered and was very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    1
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Fishy taste, awful service”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This place used to be good. The server was awful. No bread plates. If it wasn't for the bus boys we would have probably left. Asked waiter for a glass of wine twice and never got it. My husband had sole, it was ok. I had whitefish. It was from the fresh fish menu. It tasted like algae. The crabcakes were good. Otherwise completely disappointed. $100 worth of regret. You'd be better off at applebees.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atothek80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All across the U.S.
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Dover Sole in the Midwest”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

It is often difficult to find a restaurant that serves Dover Sole and prepares it correctly. Dover Straits in Hoffman Estates does itself proud. Portions are ample, seasoned to perfection, and comes with an almondine sauce that is a wonder accompaniment. Includes an ample selection of veggies (carrots, brussel sprouts, broccoli, etc.) and roasted potatoes to die for. Includes choice of soup or house salad. Only reason I gave it 4 stars is that we ordered Oysters Rockefeller and they weren't up to our usual expectations. Should have gone with the blue point oysters. Dessert was a luscious piece of red velvet cheesecake. Waitress was fun, attentive, and kept the pace. Don't be put off by the "older crowd" at the bar or dining. They know good seafood and restaurants that still keep to a nice leisurely pace to dine... not hurried. Their menu is varied enough so that those of you who don't like seafood can chose from many many choices. Since the only other restaurant, the Cape Cod room in the Drake Hotel serves Dover Sole, this restaurant holds it own without downtown Chicago prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelJewels45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview
1 review
“Great seafood!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Had another wonderful meal at Dover Straits! Food was excellent! Nice relaxing atmosphere and always friendly staff. Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed after a good track record”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I ate at this location last Friday. Despite previous good experiences, our latest meal was very disappointing. It took a while for the server to attend to our table despite it not being that busy. I ordered their prime rib promotional special and it was terrible. When I discussed it with the server, he was not very understanding and did not offer an alternative. My husband unhappy with his entree also. In the past, Dover was one of our go to places. Unfortunately, this latest experience has changed that entirely. Overall, both the service and food were a big let down.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dover Straits also viewed

Hoffman Estates, IL
Hoffman Estates, IL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing