We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Terrible, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. The rooms are not cleaned everyday.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hillside
St. Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. The rooms are not cleaned everyday.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We are very unhappy with our stay at the hotel from May 31-June 2 in room 336. We reserved a non smoking room with a queen bed. The first room that we were given smelled like marijuana. We were told they didnt have anymore non smoking rooms. We were then given the second room, 336 that had a full bed and towels that didn't look clean. We left for the day and came back and our room wasn't cleaned and we didn't receive clean towels. When we spoke to the receptionist,  she was nonchalant and said that there was nothing she could do, do to we booked through booking.com.  We are very disappointed. 

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    6
    6
    15
See reviews for
12
13
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I have been staying at ESA in Hillside since mid-April, waiting for the completion of my home rehab. With a 60 lbs German Shepherd, it sur4ely was not easy to find a place! From the very first contact, the staffers at ESA here were most friendly, professional, and accommodating. Believe me, at first I thought, "oh my, these young folks may be difficult to deal with.." WHY? Because most of this last generation communicates differently with the baby boomers than we are accustomed to... The ease of getting service, the speed of how requests are accommodated, the patience and kindness with which all communication occur (mine and those I observed around me) were simply heart warming. Especially for an extended stay, when one is somewhat dependent on those around you.

The simple basic room I had at a reasonable cost was sufficiently spacious and the kitchen and WIFI worked very satisfactorily. Shopping of all short is within a reasonable walking distance and a cinch to drive to; there are plenty of malls nearby, too, and the City (except during rush hours) is accessible by car within 20 minutes --- there is playground nearby (about a city block way) and plenty of places for sniffing dogs to wander on the leash with you. The neighborhood is friendly if you are - greet you and engage in a chat if needed. Housekeeping is responsive and friendly - the janitor and "help me fix this" man has the patience of a saint - and the young staff is well-trained and organized.

Security is responsive should guests become loud - which actually has not happened during my long stay but I noticed security walk the premises as did the Hillside Police patrol several times each day and night in their patrol cars. The hotel is near an expressway (I290) ramp, so normal caution is advised. The convenience of the expressway and a Metra Station with parking for a small fee is within 1.5 miles and adds to the convenience. There are plenty of restaurants which will deliver and while here you MUST try DiLeos - some of the best Italian food in these parts of Chicagoland.

So, between the staff and the location and the conveniences I can only highly recommend choosing Hillside ESA for short term or long term accommodations.

My gratitude for your welcoming attitude!

Gabriele

PS headquarters: add a few benches outside and think about extending the gran-n-go br4akfast with some healthy alternatives.. although fresh fruit was good!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed our friendly staff, your spacious room and your fully equipped kitchen. As well, it's great to hear that you were pleased with our free Wi-Fi and our location. I will be sure to share your kind remarks with our team.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel was very dirty. There were food on the ground when I first walked into my room. They do NOT clean your room everyday, which ALL hotels are supposed to do. In order to get new towels you have to walk to the front desk with your old towels. Hairdryer was not provided in the room, you have to walk to the front desk to grab one and return it within an hour. The hallway smells really bad and is super dirty. I felt very disgusted and uncomfortable and I will NEVER go back. I recommend people to not even bother going here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the odors and level of cleanliness in your room. Please know, I am working with our entire staff to improve our cleaning procedures to ensure that your experience is not repeated. Our housekeeping service is provided once a week for guests staying 8 or more nights. For those who are staying for shorter periods of time, services can be purchased for a minimal fee. Also, while we do not offer toiletries in our guest rooms, we do have an amenity basket available at the front desk for guests to enjoy upon request.

If you would like to provide any additional feedback, please contact me directly at hil@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hillside hotels

Elgin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I love this place, one of the cleanest I've been to. The kitchen in room is fabulous. Was overall nice. Will book again. My third time staying there and satisfied each time. I highly recommend this one here

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1357924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for writing a glowing review of your stay. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel including our clean rooms with fully equipped kitchens. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to providing you with another comfortable stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked this hotel because it had a nice rate and a good location to Fitzgerald's nightclub in Berwyn, IL. Newly remodeled rooms were a nice surprise and the grab-and-go breakfast was just right. If you have time, hit Q's Pizzeria - it's about 2 minutes away from the hotel. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Brian – Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our location and our new renovations. As well, it’s great to hear that our grab-and-go breakfast met your needs. We really appreciate your comments, as they will help us in continuing to provide enjoyable stays to all of our guests. We hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calumet Park, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I purchased this room via Hotwire w/out reading the reviews (terrible mistake). Young people hollering in the hallways after 1:30am and at 7:30am someone in the next room was hammering on the walls. Bad experience overall.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize for the noise disturbances you experienced during your stay with us. Your comments will be considered as we continue to improve our guest experience. If you would like to further discuss this with me, please do not hesitate to contact me at hil@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie du Sac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We just stayed there one night, but it was worth the money. The room was clean, and there were no burns/stains on the bedding, or in the room. Only thing I did not like was there were NO staff there 24/7 in case ya needed something after 11 P.M.

The WIFI was good with decent speeds...

We felt safe and comfortable at the hotel....We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerhenderson2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Roger – I appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It is great to hear that your room was clean and that you felt safe and comfortable during your stay with us. Guest safety is one of our top priorities, so I am glad we were able to meet this goal. As well, I’m glad that our free Wi-Fi met your needs. Still, we apologize that you were unable to locate our staff after 11pm. Our front desk is staffed between 7am and 11pm; however, members of our staff are always present and can be reached at any time by using the lobby phone.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillside
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Hillside
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Westchester (Oak Brook)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Carleton of Oak Park
2.6 mi away
The Drake Hotel - Oak Brook
3.2 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside

Property: Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside
Address: 4575 Frontage Rd, Hillside, IL 60162-1700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Hillside
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hillside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Hillside
Extended Stay Hillside
Hillside Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing