We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, if you don't need to be downtown!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hillside
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Okay, if you don't need to be downtown!”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

So we stayed here two nights, but was supposed to stay for a week. Hotel is fairly new, and really clean. If you are just using it for O'hare its fine, we were there visiting downtown and found it to be to much hassle going back and forth.
The breakfast is basic. I found the staff to be not very friendly.
The price was good. If you have a car, head over to Oakbrook Center and the Cheesecake factory.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for your feedback! I am glad that you found our hotel very clean during your stay. Our hotel is located west of O’Hare International Airport. We are pleased to offer guests complementary transportation to and from the airport and to any destination within 5 miles of the hotel based on shuttle availability. I can assure you that our staff goes to great lengths to provide our guests with great service. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to provide feedback on what our staff can do next time to make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    75
    23
    12
    15
See reviews for
67
38
17
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I spent one night here for business. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The main complaint I have is that the work area inside the room consisted of a table (not one made for working) and a standard wooden chair (not an executive or computer chair). This made doing any work quite uncomfortable. In addition, there was no mini-fridge, which I am used to seeing to keep drinks cold.

The location was decent. It is very close to O'hare and took no time at all to reach directly from the airport. The hotel was on the edge of a shopping center that includes several fast food places and a target with a starbucks inside. If you wanted a sit-down type restaurant, you had to drive.

I would not recommend this hotel to business travellers due to the reasons outlined above. I am not even sure if I would recommend to families. Collectively, this hotel would only be good for those who will be out and about the entire day and just want a clean, comfortable place to stay with a hot breakfast at a reasonable price.

The staff at the hotel were superb. I arrived quite early and they had a room ready for me. Also, I desperately needed some documents faxed ASAP and they were able to fax right away for me free of charge, so any negatives that I have about this hotel have nothing to do with the staff or service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapkyc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you for your valuable feedback!! I will pass along to our staff your comments about the excellent service you received at our hotel. The room you stayed in is one of our rooms designed for multiple travelers staying in one room. Based on the feedback we have received, we are looking adding executive chairs to our rooms with two queen size beds. We are also looking at adding mini-refrigerators and microwaves to our rooms with two queen size beds in the near future. All of our standard rooms with king size beds and suites with king size beds do come with mini-refrigerators and microwaves along with executive chairs for the work area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I stay at H.I.E. four days a week, and this hotel is now my favorite in the Chicago area. Its a simple five minute drive to Metra or CTA train stations and located right in a shopping center. The woman that checked my wife and I in, was very friendly and helped ease my wife's fears of riding the trains. She even asked us the next day if my wife handled the trip on the train well! The bed was great, and breakfast was...good...buuuuut one complaint. YOU DIDN'T HAVE CINNAMON ROLLS. My wife not having had the cinnamon rolls, was looking forward to giving them a try..we woke up early to go down to eat, get our cereal and rolls, and instead of the cinnamon rolls, you had french toast... Now she has no idea why I love H.I.E. so much... disappointing.

Great hotel though...just feed us cinnamon rolls!!!

Can't rate the room price, as I used points. Free is always good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshNdaVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for your feedback! I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel during your trip to Chicago. I am sorry that there were not any cinnamon rolls on the breakfast buffet during your stay. Sometime demand for our hotel picks up more than expected and we run out of cinnamon rolls before our next order arrives. I can assure you that our breakfast staff works very hard to ensure we have enough food for all of our guests to enjoy their complementary Express Start breakfast. Please keep our hotel in mind next time you are in the Chicagoland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This was our first time visiting Chicago & we were very concerned about finding a hotel, close to Chicago with a decent hotel rate with amenities as well as being in a safe location. We were very pleased that we had chosen this particular Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. We had no reason for worry.

Plenty of free parking available for guests, located next to a small shopping center that includes 24 hr Target and Staples (to mention a few) As well there are dining options (IHOP) as well as others. Everything is within walking distance.

Staff was very helpful upon checkin and through out our stay. Breakfast was served at either between 6-7:00 am and continued to either 9:30 or 10:00 am. Plenty of choices available - met our family's appetities perfectly. However, during the time we were there the breakfast area was extremely busy which made seating rather difficult. At one time, there were no chairs to be found but the staff rectified that matter immediately bringing chairs into the breakfast area from one of their conference rooms for the guests.

The hotel is CLEAN throughout. Our room was no exception. It was clean through out.

Throughout our stay, we chose to drive into Chicago on one of the busier thoroughfares as well as the interstate. Depending on the time of day you are travelling into Chicago, it was a fast drive into the city.

Overall, we were very impressed with this particular Holiday Inn Express and would recommend it to anyone that is visiting the Chicago area, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOJO329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is a fantastic hotel just down the street (about ten minutes) from the main rental car location at O'Hare International. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and the staff were friendly and helpful. About fifteen minutes after checking in one of the housekeepers knocked on our door just to check that we had everything that we needed (towels, soaps, etc). They have a 24 hour convenience "store" with cold drinks and microwavable snacks next to the front desk. The morning buffet had a good selection of the typical cereal, fruit, juices, coffee, and bread stuff along with pancakes, eggs, sausage, and bacon.

This hotel is located in a shopping center with a Super Target. This is very convenient if you need to pick up some items, grab a Starbuck's coffee, groceries, etc. There is also a Chase bank and Panda Express in the shopping center and gas station across the street.

Location, comfort, and price made this a great place to stay. I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysterrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Very new hotel in a safe neighbourhood close to Chicago. The staff was very friendly and helpful the whole time that I was there. The area amenities are good for it is located in a new strip mall development. The location was great since you could just take the Eisenhower expressway downtown. The hotel does offer a shuttle service which is very convenient for getting down to the 'L' light rail station and saves a lot of time if you're going downtown. The room was nice although being on the east side of the hotel there is a lot of truck traffic from the quarry down the road, but was not much of a problem in terms of sleeping. In the mornings the hotel had the best continetal breakfast I've had before. On an overall scale the hotel was great with everything and more you could need for a hotel in it's class, i had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthshoreCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The hotel has recently been 'refreshed' and it was worth every penny! One of the nicest Holiday Inn properties I've stayed at. Everything was clean, the room was surprisingly quiet, amd the location is good. They even have shuttle service to the airport; it also takes you within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. No complaints here!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnigmaticWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillside
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Westchester (Oak Brook)
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Carleton of Oak Park
2.7 mi away
The Drake Hotel - Oak Brook
3.7 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West
Address: 200 S Mannheim Rd, Hillside, IL 60162-1825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Hillside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hillside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from Downtown Chicago along I-290, our new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago Airport West - O Hare is near some of the nation s top companies, including Westbrook Corporate Center, Actuant, SAP, Navistar, Ace Hardware and Loyola Medical Center, and with easy access to Chicago s main highways, including I-88, I-294, and I-355.Situated in suburban Chicago, our hotel is an ideal location for travelers visiting nearby attractions such as Yorktown Mall, Oakbrook Mall, Drury Lane Theatre, Oakbrook Terrace, and downtown Chicago. Chicago s O Hare International Airport is (ORD) 6 miles and Chicago Midway International Airport (MDW) is 15 miles from the hotel.All rates include our daily hot Express Start Breakfast. Our hotel guest rooms include 32' flat panel HDTVs and free wired and wireless HSIA while our suites include microwaves, refrigerators and sofa sleepers. To make your stay more relaxed and comfortable enjoy our state-of-the-art fitness center and indoor heated pool. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center. Families can enjoy the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago Airport West - O Hare s easy access to many Chicago attractions such as Brookfield Zoo, Wrigley Field, U.S. Cellular Field, Soldier Field, United Center, Field Musuem, Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile by car or by Chicago s public transportation system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Chicago Airport West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing